We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and unique.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locks Brasserie

Locks Brasserie
1 Windsor Terrace | Portobello, Dublin Dublin 8, Ireland
01 420 0555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely and unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Locks Brasserie is situated on the southern side of Dublin, nestled in a private neighbourhood and adjacent to a lovely, tree-lined canal. It's location is entirely unique and has a local but elegant feel to it. Most visitors to Dublin will need to take a taxi to reach this restaurant but the ride is brief and therefore economical. The restaurant is also happy to call you a cab at your departure as well. The restaurant itself has an open, bright, and welcoming ambiance with lovely views of the canal. It is modern but retains a cozy atmosphere and you feel as though you have happened upon a local secret. Service is wonderful: attentive, polite, timely. The menu holds sufficient diversity without being overwhelming and portions are the perfect balance between not too filling but not too sparse. I dined with a party of four, each of us ordering a different plate, and none were disappointed with the quality, presentation, or flavour. The wine selection was varied in flavour and price and the staff was well-versed in making recommendations. There is even a small bar area for sitting for a drink before dinner or waiting for a cab afterwards. Overall, a beautiful evening at this brasserie and certainly special enough to return to on our next visit to Dublin.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    206
    81
    26
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great place for that special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Friendly atmosphere, great service - and lovely food. Everyone in our group of 4 was delighted with their mea from the early bird menul. A good choice for a celebratory get-together and well-located by the canal. The seats can be rather close together, and the woman at the next table was drenched in perfume, which I found distracting from the meal - wish there was something restaurants could do about this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Dined here last night and it was a very special evening. Everything was perfect, from the setting of the table to the excellent service and the food, of course! The tasting menu was an absolute treat with the matching selection of wine. Beautiful decor of plates. The restaurant has a great atmosphere with its wonderful location, kind of laid-back simplicity and attention to the smallest details. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Dined here last Friday evening, having often driven by it and wondered what it was like!

I was not disappointed. It was perfect. I honestly couldn't fault anything. Myself and my partner went with the early bird menu, which was two courses for €25 and was very good value. We ordered wine, sides, a dessert and coffee at an extra cost.

The atmosphere in the restaurant was really relaxed and welcoming with a mix of families, groups of friends and couples dining that evening. The service is attentive but not overly so. I would highly recommend it, especially for a group of people to celebrate an occasion.

We will certainly be back. Thank you for a lovely evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful experience all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Went here for a dinner with family after a relatives graduation. We were greeted by lovely staff members and shown to our table. The service was just amazing, the wine was beautiful, and of course the food was gorgeous. Was not sure how I felt about the french cuisine at first but I fell in love after dining here. Would definitely recommend to everyone. It is one of my favourite restaurants in dublin and I will be back very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locks Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Locks Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locks Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.