We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved Michelin Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locks Brasserie

Locks Brasserie
1 Windsor Terrace | Portobello, Dublin Dublin 8, Ireland
+353 1 420 0555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $84
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Scenic view, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant offering superlative standards of modern Irish and French cuisine.Locks also offers several choices of private fine dining rooms from an intimate single oval table in our Green Room for private corporate or family events to groups up to 20 people in our Silver Room and larger groups and celebrations for up to forty in one room or 75 in several rooms. Locks Brasserie is licensed to host civil wedding ceremonies, intimate weddings, receptions, lunches and dinners. Intimate weddings are a wonderful celebration shared with a select group of friends and close family, they seek a more exclusive and intimate feel. We believe that Locks Brasserie is an ideal venue to celebrate a stylish, understated, quirky, intimate wedding. Locks is blessed with several dining rooms which can cater for family parties or larger groups. The maximum number of people the restaurant can cater for in one room is 40 people. In separate rooms we can cater for up to 75 people.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well deserved Michelin Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had yet another great evening a few weeks ago-not surprised that they received a Michelin star -
Please don't change your winning formula guys
Trevor Mac

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    88
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Happy Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I live a 2 minute stroll from Locks and have eaten here 6/7 times. I have never returned so much as a crumb to the kitchen when they take my plate. I live the surprise of the food and the flavours. The service is very professional and unobtrusive, and it is consistently good. I think it is peerless in Dublin.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a very poor experience unfortunately”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I took my girlfriend for her bday with high expectations. Arrived and the staff had my incorrect name. Music hadn't been turned on in the restaurant and it crackled very loudly before dining. The waiter appeared dozy and didn't educate us on the starters. Or drinks. Tried the foie gras and glazed pear the best part. It was the first steak I ever ordered that I couldn't even eat. The rib eye was as tough as teak. The hake was better but no great shakes. We ordered prosecco which they duly charged e40 for (rrp e11)!! The dessert eton mess was good esp the lemon sorbet. The manager didn't charge for the rib eye. Staff remembered the bday part & decorated the plate of eton mess. Nice touch. Well done her. Overall a hugely disappointing and dissatisfying experience on an important occassion when I wanted to treat my girlfriend to treat to something special. Pity. Sure restaurant might be able to fix and didnt reflect on me :(

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“A Michelin star must be in the wings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Cooking of a very high order, with warmly efficient service. Very few of Dublin's restaurants have any kind of dress code, nor does this one. A quartet of business men were seated next to us, and two of them were in jeans and sweaters.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Everything perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We loved this restaurant. A cheerful small place, nice, but casual in that we-emphasize-the-food way of newer upscale restaurants. We were quite late after grossly miscalculating the walking time from our hotel in Ballsbridge, but the staff was welcoming and got us settled pretty quickly. We first rewarded ourselves with two glasses of good champagne with the great homemade bread, which set the tone for the rest of the meal. The menu was beautiful enough that we had trouble making our choices, and everything we got was delicious. Yes, we had that excellent pea soup and the beetroot salad and then some lamb and duck and enjoyed everything about our experience, including the wine. Obviously, they have been discovered; everyone seemed happy to be there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locks Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Locks Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locks Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.