We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very old traditional pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Pub

Cobblestone Pub
77 King Street North | Smithfield, Dublin, Ireland
01 872 1799
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,811 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Cobblestone is a Local Dublin Pub with Traditional Irish Music & the Backroom Venue. NOT A RESTAURANT. Crisps & Peanuts are our fare and some say the Guinness is like soup.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very old traditional pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

we went there after we visit peppe restaurant close there and the inner athmosphere was so irish with nice live music very good pub the classic old irish.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    71
    30
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Guinness and traditional music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the outside this looks like a bit of a grim boozer. However, it's a friendly pub with great Guinness (not a surprise in Dublin, I know) and traditional music. The night I went was a jam session with some very skilled musicians. Apparently there is music every night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful way to experience traditional Irish music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've only good things to say about my night here. There was a wonderful mix of Irish and international visitors, and the music was amazing. The beverages were great too! Of course the Guinness was great, and there were other lovely Irish beers as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

lovely atmosphere, live music and my husband said the guinness was the best he had ever tasted! a number of people we met in dublin commented this was the place to go for an authentic dublin experience

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doolin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dublin and Cobbelstone Pub for the folk music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I asked à taxidriver in Dublin if he knew à place where they played live Irish folkmusic.
The driver drove me to the Cobbelstone pub. My first impression when I saw it from the outside was scary but when I stepped inside I felt at home immediately. Great evening with good beer and great folkmusic in two places, one in the front where they sit round à table and play and one stage at the back where I saw à guy singing and playing nice tunes. Don't miss it if you like real Irish folkmusic.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobblestone Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin

Been to Cobblestone Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.