We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmainham Gaol

Kilmainham Gaol
Inchicore Road | Kilmainham, Dublin 8, Ireland
01 453 5984
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$76*
and up
Ranked #6 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bleak old jail was notorious in the 19th century for its harsh treatment of prisoners.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My second visit, was here 12 years ago. Very emotive, guides excellent and knowledgeable, all staff friendly. Entrance price very reasonable and fair. If you enjoy history, especially modern history and want to know a little more about Irish History, especially of the early 20th century then its a must. Take your time and read the exhibits as there is a lot to understand and it can be confusing. Would highly recommend. From town catch bus 40, 16 are best or 79 maybe. I would say best value paying attraction in Dubs

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,772
    1,658
    264
    45
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were in Dublin for 3 days and did the Kilmainham Goal tour. While the Guinness brewery, Jameson distillery, and Temple Bar area get all attention this tour was by far the most interesting in terms of learning about the Irish people, history, and culture. Do yourself a favor and do this short but very informative tour. It is located fairly close to the Guinness brewery so you can do both tours in one day easily.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our visit to Kilmainham Gaol taught us a lot about the history of the jail through a guided tour, which lasted about a hour, so didn't take up too much of our short stay in Dublin but was still full of information. The jail museum gave us the opportunity to learn even more about the jail as it wasn't just a repeat of the guided tour. Access to the jail and the guided tour was one of the cheaper aspects of our trip costing under 10 euros for a student and adult together.

Would definitely recommend to anyone in Dublin for any length of stay!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We visited today with kids aged 10 & 13. Get there early as it was quite busy by lunchtime. The entry is by guided tour only and the guide was very thorough. It gives you a brief overview of Ireland's political history and kept us all interested. The tour lasts about an hour and a bit, there is a museum included in the very reasonable entry fee. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“History couldn't come any cheaper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Absolutely fantastic value! Only €2.50 for a student, by far one of the cheapest tourist attractions in Dublin. The tour guide we had was fantastic, he was a local who had been involved in much of the research into Kilmainham jail. The jail in a whole is very cold, miserable and eery but then again what more would you expect from a place where some of the best of our nation were unfortunately shot. A great look back into Irish history and the astounding conditions our poor 'rebels' had to live in right up to the famous panaroma view in the main hall of the jail.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilmainham Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Kilmainham Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmainham Gaol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.