We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but satisfying” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abrahams Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abrahams Hostel to your Saves list
Abrahams Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   82 - 83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland (Formerly Abraham House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Basic but satisfying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with 7 other girls. We were on the top floor and the heat was almost unbearable, it was 18c outside. We had bunk beds which we had to make ourselves (not the actual beds, but the linen) and an en-suite which was convenient and it was not as dirty as other reviewers have made it out to be. There wasn't much choice at breakfast, most of it is basic toast or cereal and maybe some eggs with juice. The majority of the girls hadn't stayed at a hostel before and they all agreed that they would consider staying in a hostel again so it did make a good impression. The staff were friendly and the reception is open 24 hours so I did feel safe and secure and I didn't worry about any of my belongings being stolen. The people who were staying there weren't as friendly as I thought they would have been but the majority of them didn't speak English as a first language so this may have been a reason for lack of communication. The hostel is situated in a convenient place, close to the famous O'Connell Street and near Temple Bar and if you wanted to explore other places, there is always the hop on and hop off Dublin Bus Tour which is well worth the price. Overall, I would recommend this hostel to people who are travelling solo, backpacking or as a cheap weekend away with your friends. I don't know how much I payed for two nights stay but I do know that it cost us £50 overall for flights and accommodation so I'd say we got a fantastic deal. Thanks for your service Abraham House.

Room Tip: Top floors become very hot when the weather is warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    86
    77
    31
    21
See reviews for
11
30
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleroi, Belgique
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Was there for a conference in february. I arrived late evening. The place is clean and cosy. Room was good; i was supposed to have a single room but they gave me a family room so there was a lot of free space. Breakfast was very disappointed: just toast, butter, jam, milk and cereals some boiled eggs and nescafé coffé (really bad, at least some natural coffee would be a good idea). You get free wifi but in my room i had just some problems with the network (bad reception). They gave me a free towel at the reception. I didn't use the luggage room but they have safety lockers that you have to pay extra. Very secure place. there are a lot a cosy commun area places with sofas and small tables in all the building.

Room Tip: i didn't book by myself but i think you can have better value for the money somewhere else (it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and two of our friends stayed in a four person room with private bathroom for one night. It was so disgusting we never took our shoes off and slept on the towels we had brought with us. The linen was never unfolded and no one dared take a shower in the dirt encrusted bathroom. The room smelled of urine and there was gum stuck to the bed frame that should have clearly been seen by housekeeping. Absolutely disgusting and would not recommend this to anyone. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Walking into this hostel I was surprised it had not been condemned. The stairs and floors felt like they would fall out beneath you at any moment. The hallways smelled like sweaty old socks. The entire building was loud and creeky. The worst part about it was our room was super hot and smelled like pee and the bathroom smelled like sewer gas. The shower and bathroom were covered in discussing black mold. The shower door was broken so water covered the bathroom floor after every shower. I felt like I was getting even more dirty when I took a shower here. The carpets and mattresses were stained and smelly. The breakfast isn't much unless you like warm yogurt and milk for some cereal. The staff however was friendly but I would never dream of coming back here since I was so discusted by everything about this place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great location, clean room, polite and kind stuff, free and good Wi-Fi, free breakfast (cereal, toast with butter and jam, coffee and juice - enough for start of the day!)

I don't have big dislikes but few things could be better: low pressure of water in toilet,there were only two plug sockets in 4bed dorm

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A nice friendly hostel. Is in a great location, 5 min walk to all the major downtown sights. There is someone at reception 24/7, so there is always someone to answer questions. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cheap price that includes breakfast (cereals, toast, yogurt and fruit).

Room Tip: The dorms are the cheapest option but are located on the top floor. If you want dorms but don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I was booked to stay here on the 23/5/14 but had to cancel due to a family death while on the phone explaining my situation the staff member went ahead and canceled my booking taking the money out of my account without permission. When I contacted them threw email the said they had rebooked the rooms which is a total lie. I would not recommend this dive to anyone for being a hostel it's a dump so beware if you ever book and you have a death they will take the money without any concern what so ever

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abrahams Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrahams Hostel

Address: 82 - 83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland (Formerly Abraham House)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abrahams Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Georgian townhouse in Dublin city centre, Abraham House enjoys a reputation as one of Ireland's premier hostels. We are just a five minute walk from Dublin's main bus terminal and Connolly train station. All of our guest rooms are ensuite (with bathroom) and the reception is staffed 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abrahams Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham House Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abrahams Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.