We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon House to your Saves list
Avalon House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   55 Aungier St, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
A TripAdvisor Member
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

We had many of the same experiences as the three Americans, when our church youth group stayed here last summer. When we stood in line to complain about the broken elevator, the girl at the counter laughed and suggested that the stairs were good for our health. This made us angry, because one of our church members has severe pulsy, which makes it difficult for her to climb the stairs. We had to carry her up and down the stairs, until the elevator was fixed. The food service area was not very big, and made worse because they don't clean the tables after use. So you have to eat with someone else's crumbs and mess in front of you. The breakfast food was meager, and even less plentiful than our mission back home. The second night of our stay, some drunken youth, after a night of screaming and partying in the hallway, vomited outside our room near our door, where it smelled for two days before it was cleaned. The bugs, however, were fresh, not under the bed, but coming in from the open window. Our Youth Pastor was not happy that he had to hold down a button all the time to get hot water, as he has arthritis in his hands Our cabbie told us that the hostel had once been a mortuary, so apparently the cabbies in town know something that the manager doesn't. If the manager here would spend more of her time fixing the many problems at this hostel, rather than critisizing or questioning customers who complain, this place might improve. Until then, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    149
    103
    63
    38
See reviews for
29
67
89
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2005

We stayed here in Aug, 04. This place is a dump. It cost the three of us over $100 US a night to stay here. When we arrived, we found out it was a converted funeral home. The lines checking in were long. When we checked in at last, the front desk (without telling us) added a surcharge to our room billl for converting our room rate from Euros to US Dollars (so they could allegedly save us money by putting it on our charge card - what a scam). When we found out and complained, they told us it was too late, as they had already sent the charge in. The room they gave us was on the third floor (the elevator was broken when we were there), so we had to walk up the stairs with our luggage. The room smelled like urine. It had no furnture, except beds, so the luggage and everything else had to be put on the dirty floor. The carpet in the room appeared to have not been cleaned in years. Last year's bugs were still under the bed. The shower required you to hold down a button for hot water, which then only left one hand to wash with (or you had to wash without hot water flowing). We had to ask them to bring us a waste basket, which took two days to accomplish. because they were busy. So for the first two days, all the trash had to be placed in the corner on the floor. There were no ledges near the washbasin to place anything on, so all the toiletries had to be placed either on the floor or inside the sink. The coffee machine was broken, so the so-called breakfast consisted of instant coffee, a pre-packaged week old sweet roll, dry cereal or a banana. There was no room to sit in the small breakfast-nook, so half the mornings we had to stand or take our food back to our room. They had an internet connection, but you had to feed it euros to get time on-line. We had to take the bus to the Temple Bar area, because it was too far to easily walk. This hostel is frequented mostly by under 30 backpackers. So unless you're young and without money, or don't learn by reading reviews, avoid this place like the plague. Signed - Three Americans from Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review, May 24, 2005
I have a few points I would like to make to the "Three Americans from Michigan"
I was sorry to read that your stay was so unsatisfactory, if you had brought these problems to our attention during your stay I am sure we could have rectified some of your problems.

I would ask you to double check that it was in fact Avalon House that you stayed in last August. Please check our website (commercial URL) if you are unsure as it really sounds like you are talking about another hostel.

Avalon House is not a converted funeral home.
We do not charge a surcharge for credit card transactions.
We have never served prepacked sweet rolls or cereal for breakfast. Our self service breakfast is served in a large dining area that seats 100 people approx as opposed to a breakfast-nook.
We do have coin operated internet access which is 1 euro for 15 minutes, I would have thought this was a standard feature in a hostel.
Temple Bar is a five minute walk from Avalon House - if you took a bus you would only be on the bus for one stop?(1 minutes journey?)
Our lift does breakdown and our showers are push button.
We employ a full time housekeeping manager to ensure that our rooms do not smell of urine and that we are not storing year old bugs under our beds. If we had been made aware of these complaints during your stay we could moved you to a different rooms
Please email me as I would like to find out more details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2005

It seems to me that the folks who raved about this place must be young adults who all shared a love of partying with the staff. I have never stayed at a dirtier place with more hostile staff. Accommodations were botched - no ensuite room available. The only toilet was shared by the entire floor. When we asked for toilet paper we were told to fend for ourselves and find some on another floor! If you are over 30 years old don't even think of staying here! Breakfast was a dry muffin, a container of yogurt and a packet of juice - hardly edible. No heat in March, and a broken window blowing cold air in all night .

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2005

the hostel itself is very clean and well looked after. we had booked the rooms in january as there was 14 of us but on arrival we were 6 beds short as these had been double booked. some of the party had to sleep on the floor and a re-found wasnt even offered, as we had already paid.
the resectionist wasnt very helpfull with giving advice on were to go either

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: 55 Aungier St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avalon House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.