We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent staff, super clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Albany House to your Saves list
Albany House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84 Harcourt St, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent staff, super clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights just after Christmas and stayed New Years Eve. After arriving tired from the US, we were allowed to check in early - 9:00 a.m.! That alone was worth the stay. We had a twin room. Very reasonable rate! Room was a bit cold, but did warm up eventually. Cleanest, shiniest bathroom I've ever seen. Room was on the street side so we did hear street sounds at night.
New Year's Eve stay was more than double our stay in Dec. Placed in the newest section of the hotel. Beautiful room. And, again, clean shiny bathroom. Room was away from the street this time. Quieter. Front desk staff could not have been nicer. Booked early morning cab to the airport (they work with reputable drivers with set rate), helped us get our boarding passes printed, really made us feel welcome. When I return to Dublin, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    194
    71
    31
    11
See reviews for
57
160
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the centre. The staff was kind, the room
clean and confortable. Good breakfast.
Unfortunately it's close to a disco club so during the weekend it's quite loud down in the street during the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location of Albany House was great, it wasnt a far walk to St. Stephen 's Green or Grafton Street and even when I arrived late, I never felt unsafe walking to the hotel. The area was well lit and that helped since I was traveling alone. The people at the front desk were very helpful and the wifi worked great. The staff in the kitchen were AMAZING and went out of their way. Just be careful with the locks because sometimes they stick and even when you hear your door closed, it may not be locked. I was cold one night.

Room Tip: Top floor, you can hear people walking upstairs starting at like 5 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Location of the b&b was excellent, walking distance to most of the city and close by to bus stops. The room was good- had a box tv, comfy bed and covers, however our room was in the lower floors which when connected to Wifi it seemed to not always have a high strength/signal. The bathroom was very nice and seemed updated. The breakfast room was open and the staff were very friendly- the breakfast menu was okay. We stayed in other b&bs and the Albany house did not have the traditional eggs, bacon, beans (hot menu items) which was fine, a nice selection of fruit, toast, bread, cheeses (yum!). The price of the house was affordable and overall it was a lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at Albany House for five days and it was excellent. I needed to make a last minute trip to Dublin, wanted to stay in the city but did not want to spend a lot of money. Albany House was perfect. I booked a single room but was given a double. The room was large, bright and modern - flat screen TV, small, clean, en suite bathroom, comfortable bed.

The location is perfect. It is a stone's throw from Stephens Green and Grafton Street, on a safe street. I was not nervous walking around by myself.

There are a number of night clubs on the street and I was concerned that there may be a lot of noise. My room was overlooking the street and I had no issues.

Free wifi - always good.

Continental breakfast every morning. Very warm and welcoming staff. The quality of the food was great. It would have been nice to have the option of a hot breakfast but this is a small complaint.

For the money, the quality of the room, the location and the wonderful staff can't be beat. This is a B&B so don't expect a bar, gym or any frills. I liked it and would stay there again. The bed would be too small for two adults, FYI

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good Location Guest House a few minutes walk to shopping area's. Good continental style breakfast. Staff really friendly and helpful. Would stay again and recommend. Front desk 24 hrs
with security front door. No worries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is nice,cozy and warm :) A bit old furnishing,but renowed bathroom... Old style gives this place a special charm :) I think lightning in rooms are bad, because at night you have only two side bed darker lamps, we stayed in here for 6 nights, beds are comfortable, only thing that some guests might find a bit annoying is night club across the street because it's quite loud

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Address: 84 Harcourt St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.