We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aberdeen Lodge 14th-16th June” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Aberdeen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Aberdeen Lodge 14th-16th June”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here as we were going to a concert at the RDS. We found it very well situated for this and within easy walking distance. Very friendly staff, excellent service and the location was superb close to Sandymount and the DART!

Room Tip: Our Room was located on the top floor. The hotel is a converted Georgian house and there doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    50
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
68
138
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The friendly service at this hotel was equal to or the best we have ever found. When we arrived, we were offered a cup of tea or coffee served in the sitting room, using silverware. We didn't realise that this would be offered every time we arrived back after a day of sight seeing. It was a warm and welcome end to a cold and rainy day, although the locals call this summer in June.

The rooms were clean and traditional. The owner, Dan Halpin, told us that this was once two adjoining residences that he carefully restored in a very quiet area just outside Dublin Centre. Apart from the wonderful service, a great highlight was the tasty breakfasts. The freshly cooked local berries, rhubarb, prunes, apples and other fruit were delicious as was the muesli and home-made yoghurt. We had the same 'a la carte' service for tea and coffee with silverware as well as a range of delicious cooked meals such as scrambled eggs with chives and smoked salmon, pancakes cooked with buttermilk and traditional Irish meals.

We were a little concerned to observe stairs with no lifts when we arrived but had our bags taken to our rooms. This friendly service occurred when we left as well.

The staff could not have been more helpful in printing out itineraries, providing directions, and other local information. Our only problem was not to do with this delightful residence, itself. It was more that it was so hard to find, especially late at night. One evening we became lost on our return from Belfast by car and we were so worried about not meeting the time that reception was to close (my husband thought it was 11.00pm but we were relieved to discover afterwards that it was 1.00am), that we hired a cab to lead us to the lodge. Even he had difficulties finding Aberdeen Lodge. The lodge is actually in Sandymount and the street names are very small and difficult to read. This is the case in many areas of Dublin.

Overall, this hotel is exceptional for its courteous and helpful staff, quiet location and excellent breakfasts. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay. The hotel was in a very select area & well positioned for the local DART train service for Dublin and the coast and we would rate our stay very highly.

The staff were a delight being very friendly & efficient and Pat, mine host, was very professional and helpfull and attended to our every need. Irish or continental breakfasts were of the highest order......................but the Irish one was best!!

Our rooms were of good size, clean & comfortable with free wifi and the rear garden was very pleasant with large lawn & plenty of trees/shrubs. There are a number of pubs & restaurants within a 10 minute walk and the sea was about 5 mins stroll away.

Would definitely stay here if we pass this way again.

Room Tip: We were at the rear, overlooking the garden and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this wonderful hotel more highly. My gosh, such a smiling, hospitable welcome, from Pat Helpin to the charming young ladies, who all do everything to make you feel pampered. "private hotel" really is the proper nomenclature, because it is so much more private than many inns or certainly b&b's. it's a very pretty, generally quiet neighborhood, and I enjoyed (albeit with perfect weather) the less- tha-ten-minute walk to Sydney Palace DART station for the short ride (again 10 minutes maybe, 4 quick stops) to Pearce Street station, near Trinity College/city center (€3.50 round trip). Breakfast was superb (several choices, including full Irish, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and chives, poached eggs, and more, together with cereals, breads, fruit). Each evening, when I returned home late after exploring the city and rang the doorbell, the door was promptly answered by one of the smiling young ladies (I'm afraid heir names are forgotten) and offered tea or coffee:wonderful. Rooms are amply sized, though they are walk- ups (mine was on the 3rd -4th to Americans- floor), with complimentary shampoo, lotion, etc, terry cloth robes and slippers). The mattress was just the right firmness for me, though I would have preferred something other than the foam pillows. I loved staying here- far preferable for me at least to noisier and less peaceful surroundings in the central part of Dublin. There are some restaurants in nearby Sandy Mount, supposedly only a ten minute walk, but I took a wrong turn trying to find them and never got there. All in all, a wonderful spot, which I feel blessed to have found!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustin de Desmaures, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice and quiet place. Easy access by DART and not too far from Dublin's city center. Restaurants nearby for lunch and dinner. Breakfast served at the hotel and is just great with many choices and a nice buffet with lots of fruits and cereals. The host is very nice and everybody is polite and always happy to help if needed. Great place to go if you are looking for a quiet neighborhood in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A short ride on DART to Sydney Parade and a 5 minute walk take you to this elegant hotel away from the city center. Exceptional hosts, tea & coffee always offered and beautifully served. Lovely breakfast. Blocks from the beach & walking distance to Sandymount & Ballsbridge. Very special place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our family of 4 (parents and two college aged daughters) spent 2 nights in 2 rooms here. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, a short train ride from central Dublin, we found the rooms very comfortable, the breakfasts wonderful, and the reception and service exceeding expectations. We were given great advise about restaurants and activities in Dublin. When we accidentally left our passports in our room, they contacted us to assure that they were safe then went on to forward them overnight to us via another inn we planned to be staying in before returning to the States. Top notch lodging in Dublin!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdeen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.