We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well earned break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aberdeen Lodge to your Saves list
Aberdeen Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“well earned break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

I booked to stay at aberdeen lodge, as myself and two friends had stayed in its sister hotel, merrion hall last summer and were suitably impressed. I booked aberdeen lodge for two nights from the 21st december as a surprise for one of my friends, who had a birthday on the 22nd. we were welcomed with coffee and biscuits in the lounge and then shown to our triple room, which is what i had requested, we each had bath robes and slippers supplied for us. the room was comfortable and clean, with supplied soaps and shower gels and shampoos, we had an excellent three day stay, my friend enjoyed his surprise immensely and we discovered on the last day that we had been the only guests for those three days as the hotel closed over xmas. we were shocked , as the breakfast room was layed up for a full hotel and had an array of cereals, pastries juices and fruit. we also enjoyed the full irish breakfast perfectly cooked with the option of seconds and served with a smile. the staff made us feel so very welcome and treated us like royalty. we will definately be returning

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    59
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
75
156
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

My mom, aunt and I spent two nights at the Aberdeen Lodge, and it was absolutely delightful. The breakfasts were lovely, the staff was kind and attentive, and the location was excellent.

There were a few problems, however. First, I had requested a triple room (which was an option when booking; three single beds), but the room had only two beds when we arrived. I spoke with the manager on duty, and by the time we returned from tea, there were three beds in the room! It was a very quick resolution, and the beds were all great (the extra bed was a REAL bed, not a cot).

Secondly, when I got our bill at checkout, I found almost 200 Euro in additional costs! (Fortunately, I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor warning guests to review their bill at the end of the stay, so I caught them immediately). There were bar fees and room service fees, none of which we had used. After a discussion (which almost made us late to the airport), the manager resolved the matter and we were charged the amount that appeared on my initial reservation invoice.

So, heed this advice:
1) Take a copy of your online reservation, which clearly shows the cost that you expect to pay.
2) Keep careful track of what amenities you use. (Even request receipts at the bar or at breakfast if you order anything not included in the B&B fee)
3) Review your bill at checkout to ensure that all charges are legitimate. Do not leave until you resolve any issues.

Do not let this keep you from staying at this wonderful B&B. It is a wonderful place that you will fondly remember - - - Just watch out for yourself!

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs! Not accessible for disabled and not ideal for elderly travelers. In fact, I, a fit 25-years-old, had a hard time lugging my luggage up the 4 flights of stairs!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horley surrey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

We have just returned from two nights at this outstanding guest house, which gives the feel of a small luxurious hotel. It is situated 15 mins outside the city centre, in a quiet residential part of Dublin within easy reach of all the main sights. Excellent staff, who cannot do enough to help and make your stay comfortable. Hotel was spotless and the breakfasts first class. It is so easy to get to the city centre, with the choice of buses or the dart, which run frequently within 5 mins walk of Aberdeen Lodge. There are excellent eating places within 10 mins walk, we enjoyed a lovely Italian meal at Marios. Five mins walk to the sea, this is just a perfect place to stay. If you are looking for a first class place to stay and explore Dublin than look no further than The Aberdeen Lodge. We have travelled a lot and this is one of the best places that we have ever stayed in. We cannot wait to return. It may be that you cannot book via the website, they are looking into this, so do phone and book direct: [--].

  • Liked — Spotless, location.
  • Disliked — it was all first class
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Beautifully furnished room, lavish breakfast. Great surrounds in an elegant leafy suburb just a 7-minute train ride into the city centre (trains leave every 10 - 15 minutes) and close to a stop for the excellent Aircoach service from the airport.

Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful - though sometimes there was a language barrier: none were speakers of English as a first language. Sometimes hard to get attention of staff - they were squirreled away in the kitchen - but neither of this issues is insignificant given the comfort and value of the stay in such a beautifully kept home.

I travelled with my nine-year-old and we stayed in a good sized twin room.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

We loved our stay at the Aberdeen Lodge. We wanted somewhere quiet and didn't mind taking the DART just 4 stops into Dublin. The Lodge is in a beautiful neighborhood with no traffic but with restaurants and other necessities just a 5-10 minute walk. The rooms were nice, the facilities updated to be comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want the noise and traffic of staying right in the city.

  • Liked — Appearance, quiet and location
  • Disliked — the breakfast breads/scones were dried out
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

I have stayed at the Aberdeen Lodge twice now and have already made plans to return. The neighborhood is safe and quiet - the perfect anticdote for the busy streets of Dublin. Breakfast is superb and the beds were very, very comfortable. The staff was helpful in planning a day out in the city and greated me upon my return. When you stay here, be sure to take a stroll on the nearby beach. All around, the Aberdeen Lodge is delightful!

  • Liked — The staff and the tea
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

Very pleasant stay. Really friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Based in a quiet and upmarket suburb, and central Dublin accessible by the DART. No problem parking if you have a hire car.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Sound proofing between rooms not brilliant.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdeen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.