We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to experience Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aberdeen Lodge to your Saves list
Aberdeen Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect way to experience Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Everything was just perfect! Aberdeen Lodge's staff make great efforts to help every guest feel comfortable and happy. It was my not only the first trip in Ireland, but also the first trip by myself so hotel choice was very important. Aberdeen Lodge has justified all my expectations. The lounge was very elegant and cozy, and due to the fireplace and free tea every evening all days of my joyrney I felt healthy and relaxed. I felt in love with the family who runs the hotel - I felt like one of the family! When you open the door, staff always interested in how was your day, suggest to joice one of several types of great tea and ready to help with any question. At breakfast one always have menu, all ingredients of every dish are high quality. Every morning I woke up with birds' singing and after great sleep in clean and elegant room it was the best beginning of a day! It was my best rest ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    59
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
75
156
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in early March - this was a workplace long service award, so cant comment on cost. The location is great, in that very peaceful at night, and only 5 minutes walk to the Dart which takes you to the centre of Dublin in less than 10 mins. Or a 10 minsute leisurely stroll to the local village which has some great restaurants.
The hosts couldnt couldnt be more helpful, moving our bags, arranging tickets for the Dart and a bus tour for us. We loved the dining room at breakfast time which had a nice garden view in the morning, which I bet will look fantastic on a summer morning. We just loved a cuppa in front of the fire at night after a long day out.
Overall a wonderful stay and would definately be tempted to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were in Dublin for a short 2-night break. The owner and the staff of the Aberdeen Lodge couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - helping us find out what was on, where to go and giving us whatever help we needed. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was really superb, with very friendly staff.

The place is a 10 euro taxi ride away from the centre, or a 2 euro, 15-minute trip on the local train, so that needs to be taken into account. But it does benefit from a quiet, tree-lined surrounding, and a 5-minute walk to the coast (although it was cold and windy when we were there).

Lots to do in Dublin too - although avoid Good Friday as everything's closed and no alcohol is served! But all in all, a lovely break and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here just last week over St. Patrick's Day for 3 nights. We were on the top floor of the hotel, there is no lift, and the Wi-Fi wasn't the best. As soon as we arrived, the owner showed us into the lounge and gave us a map and details of how to get around while our bags were taken up to our room. One thing kind of irked me a little in that all of us are early 20's and directly after us an older couple came in and were offered drinks and snacks, but we were not. It didn't detract from the overall experience though and the staff were all very friendly and helpful that it was easy to overlook that one small detail. I did find a cobweb in the bathroom, and what they call the drinking water looks like a very old, rusty sink that I would never in a million years drink out of. The price was about average what you would expect from another hotel or B&B in Dublin. There is a bus stop right outside the front of the hotel that stops right in the city center, and is very easy to navigate. I already want to go back to Dublin. If and when that happens I will stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no lift and if you are on the top floor will have to walk up 4 flights of stairs. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just back from celebrating St Patricks Days in Dublin last weekend and we had a great time, all because of the hotel we were in. Aberdeen Lodge is an excellent hotel for a reasonable price away from the city center and the noise.
A nice place to relax after a busy day of sight seeing, friendly staff and excellent service. The breakfast has had a reward, as the hotel mentioned on their own website, but to us it was just a breakfast as you could find everywhere, with the exception that the warm dishes are made fresh at the moment you order them.
We would surely consider to go back to this hotel when we would revisit Dublin.

Room Tip: At the upper floor WI-FI does not work, in the rest of the hotel free WI-FI is working without a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for 5 nights on our visit to Dublin. The location in Ballsbridge is excellent, being a pleasant district with an easy walk to the DART (for central Dublin) or to the nearby village. Anne and Pat made us most welcome, and had arranged all of our requested trips in advance for us. The house and our room were very pleasant and comfortable, and the breakfast is superb. All in all a very high standard which we would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. The room was lovely, clean,warm and comfy. Breakfast was really good, lots of choice and cooked fresh. With a short walk to the dart station (5 mins to central dublin or beyond ) a great location. Walking distance to some good restaurants too. The owner and his staff all made us very welcome and gave us some great tips on places to visit and how to get around. Yes we did occasionally hear the person upstairs moving around but it really didn't bother us. If you fancy a trip out of town ask the owner to put you in touch with the wicked Wicklow tour its a great day out and pick you up at the door.
There is free parking at the hotel but the dart train is so reliable, cheap and frequent leave the car behind.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#16 Family Hotel in Dublin
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdeen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.