We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aberdeen Lodge to your Saves list
Aberdeen Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for 5 nights on our visit to Dublin. The location in Ballsbridge is excellent, being a pleasant district with an easy walk to the DART (for central Dublin) or to the nearby village. Anne and Pat made us most welcome, and had arranged all of our requested trips in advance for us. The house and our room were very pleasant and comfortable, and the breakfast is superb. All in all a very high standard which we would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wickford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. The room was lovely, clean,warm and comfy. Breakfast was really good, lots of choice and cooked fresh. With a short walk to the dart station (5 mins to central dublin or beyond ) a great location. Walking distance to some good restaurants too. The owner and his staff all made us very welcome and gave us some great tips on places to visit and how to get around. Yes we did occasionally hear the person upstairs moving around but it really didn't bother us. If you fancy a trip out of town ask the owner to put you in touch with the wicked Wicklow tour its a great day out and pick you up at the door.
There is free parking at the hotel but the dart train is so reliable, cheap and frequent leave the car behind.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Tessie0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Getting off the airport bus at the wrong stop meant a wonderful walk past many of the Embassies in Dublin which were very impressive, and Aberdeen Lodge is literally just around the corner from these magnificent buildings. On arrival, the welcome was outstanding! Coffee and a slice of chocolate whilst the room was being finished was a welcome treat. The room was very comfortable and warm with no complaints whatsoever. After a day in Dublin City centre (Dart train is only about 5 mins walk) and a fantastic pub meal in nearby Sandy Mount (10 min walk) a good nights sleep was had. To set us up for the day, an Irish breakfast awaited! To say the food is delicious is an understatement and worthy of their many awards proudly displayed at the entrance. All in all, a fantastic short break with absolutely no complaints. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location is perfect in a quiet, leafy upmarket Dublin 4 road just a few minutes walk from Sydney Parade station, a short ride by train to Dublin city centre. For a pleasant stroll Sandymount strand seafront is only a few hundred yards away. The large Edwardian house is full of character with high ceilings and is beautifully furnished. A wonderful lawn of vibrant emerald green graces the rear of the house where Paws the cat prowls like the Lord of the Manor. The proprietors and staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the pot of tea and cake served in the drawing room on arrival, and the use of their internet and printer to print our boarding pass for return home to Scotland. There was a very good choice of cereals and fruits at breakfast plus the traditional full Irish breakfast and several other choices. The traditional Irish breakfast was so good we had it it on both mornings. Unfortunately we were only in Dublin for two nights and we hope to return soon when Aberdeen Lodge will, without doubt, be our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DANDCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very friendly, family run hotel in Ballsbridge, Dublin 4. Lovely furnishings and lots of interesting antiques and a wealth of books. A warm welcome awaits with open fire and tea and home made scones. Whilst tucked away the hotel is near the Dart station giving easy access to the city centre (10mins) and the suburb of Ballsbridge has many restaurants and bars as well as the lovely Herbert Park if you fancy a stroll. The room was very comfortable if a little small. Breakfast was delicious and the hotel is gluten free friendly (advise when booking).

Room Tip: our room was a little small but perfectly formed! You might ask about the rooms if you need more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquachic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel & from the moment you arrive the service, attention, atmosphere & food is second to none! We were given a very comprehensive meet & greet on arrival where all the key attractions that were a must on your visit to Dublin were explained in detail. The location is fantastic as it's close enough to the city centre and at the same time you really do get the best of both worlds with a walk along the beech only minutes away.

Looking forward to the next trip already.......

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at Aberdeen Lodge a couple of times, both experiences have been lovely. Friendly, stylish, clean, warm, beautifully cooked fresh breakfasts, walking distances to restaurants & beach, large garden for the kids to play, great recommendations on restaurants etc, and tea & slices on arrival. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Just ask the owner, he is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br0n25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#9 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#16 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,200 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 171 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#69 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing