We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aberdeen Lodge to your Saves list
Aberdeen Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On a recent visit to Dublin, we were so pleased that we chose to stay at Aberdeen Lodge. As we walked into the hotel, the first question we were asked was "Would you like a cup of tea or coffee?" In over 40 years of staying in hotels all over the world, this was a first! The owners and staff went out of their way to ensure a perfect stay. The Dunne & Crescenzi restaurant in nearby Sandymount, which was one of their suggestions, was also superb! Our room was well furnished, very comfotable and very quiet, despite being at the front of the building. The bus into the City centre, has its terminus about 100m from the front door and saves the hassle of drivng in and parking. All things considered,we would have no hesitation in recommending it as the best place to stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    58
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
73
153
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived on a flight from the US at 8 am. The Aberdeen offers early checkin and provided us with a very nice breakfast before we went upstairs for a nap. The service could not be more friendly, engaging and attentive. The room was wonderfully appointed. It was slightly large by European standards and thus about average by North American standards. Free wireless with decent speed. The hotel is located in an upscale Dublin suburb. The nearby village offers a number of dining choices (well known by the staff, none gourmet but several are quite pleasant) as well as pharmacy, grocery store, hardware store, etc. for those odds and ends. If you like a calm and comfortable day after crossing the Atlantic, this is great choice, and a great hotel overall. It is in a beautiful old house, with four stories (no elevator). Some guests have noted no inroom fridge or coffee maker (they will happily bring you ice or coffee or tea).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto escondido
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently took my mother on a trip to Ireland and our flight arrived around 8am. Aberdeen offers a wonderful early check in (8AM) with breakfast which was fabulous after a long overnight flight. The staff are very sweet and welcoming and will help you with anything you need. The rooms were very nicely decorated, understated but everything you need. Comfy bedding! The tea service was very good and fabulous breakfasts... The location is fantastic as it's in a very lovely neighborhood and you can walk to various restaurants and the DART station is just a couple of blocks away for a very quick ride into central Dublin. But it was really nice to stay outside of the city center. Overall I would say the staff really make this place a gem!!

Room Tip: My only tip would be a top floor room as the ceiling in my room was a bit creaky - I could hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our first visit to Dublin and what a wonderful 5 night stay.The hotel was lovely and the staff just made it-they did every thing to make it perfect.The hotel is in quiet and very safe part on the outskirts of Dublin but within 15 minutes walk of Sandymount and a varied selection of very fine restaraunts.Hop on the Dart and in 10 minutes you are in the city centre.The rooms are of a very high standard and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates high standards and good service from all their staff-Thank you-Julian and Judith Palmer STAYED 19-24 Oct 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here for 5 nights on our visit to Dublin. The location in Ballsbridge is excellent, being a pleasant district with an easy walk to the DART (for central Dublin) or to the nearby village. Anne and Pat made us most welcome, and had arranged all of our requested trips in advance for us. The house and our room were very pleasant and comfortable, and the breakfast is superb. All in all a very high standard which we would recommend unreservedly.

Room Tip: We overlooked the large garden at the back which was a very nice aspect. The road is not very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

THe hotel is lovely with great bedding. We drove in and it would have been very difficult to find without our GPS. On the other handm the neighborhood is lovely, We love the sitting room space and it was great meeting other guests there. Having a cup of tea in that room with their cat, Paws, laying beside the fireplace was quite relaxing, The breakfast was very good too (try the pancakes!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a fabulous experience at this hotel. The location really was perfect. We were able to park our car and easily walk to the DART. The owners were full of great restaurant suggestions both in the city and in their neighborhood.

We stayed there on our first night and wanted to stay our last night after we traveled around the country for a week. Unfortunately they were booked for our last night, but Anne took my email address and promised to find another hotel if they didn't have a cancellation. Thankfully, they had a cancellation and we were able to finish our trip at this hotel.

They even got up early for us to have breakfast before we left on our flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdeen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.