We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Stewart Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added The Charles Stewart Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charles Stewart Guesthouse
5 / 6 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Charles Stewart and we are really satisfied about our stay. Hotel is located in a great position; good irish and/or continental breakfast in the morning. The staff was really kind, gave us suggestions for guided tours and places to visit. The hotel has a luggage room, which is great if you have your flight in the afternoon/evevning and you want to enjoy the last walk through Dublin streets. Our room was clean and was tidied up every morning. Highly recommended if you wanna have a weekend or week staying in Dubin and have a really good price with a good confort accomodation.
Didn't like the separated skin tabs for cold and hot water. There was no soap in the soap machine. A soap would have worked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    176
    131
    53
    38
See reviews for
49
139
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florence
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed just one night at Charles Stewart guesthouse on my arrival in Dublin. The place is fair value and has a good location at the end of O' Connolly street. My room was at the end of a long corridor, very tiny but with all necessary facilities and seemed reasonably clean. I think this place is acceptable just for a short stopover as I did, I was happy not to stay longer. It lacked of good maintenance as well as of personality.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place is a classic case of you get what you pay for. It was the cheapest room we could get at two weeks notice, and we were a bit worried as some of the other reviews were less than favourable. We spent two nights in room 103 on the ground floor. Pros: Clean and tidy room. All advertised features were present. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Good cooked breakfast. 10 min walk to the centre of Dublin, 5 mins to airport bus. Cons: paper thin walls, we could hear what everyone else around was doing, including their toilet routines. On the first night our radiator seemed to be stuck on maximum all night. The left luggage room was in the basement, and was the dingiest room imaginable surrounded by piles of dirty laundry. This was the first place we went when we got the hotel, and wasn't exactly a great first impression.

Overall, this could be a really lovely basic guesthouse if they smartened it up a bit, as it was it did us fine for a couple of nights.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was clean and quiet, with towels and sheets changed every day.
The crew really amazing, everyone kind and smart.
Good breakfast also. It was a wonderful experience, i reccomend this place to all.
I will come back soon!
Thanks for all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaosie
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were in Dublin for a brief overnight and stayed here. It is a good basic guest house in a good location. the room we clean and the staff were pleasant. we went to bed early and there was some noise as guests arrived in later, but nothing overbearing and we were close to reception, so I could not complain. i would certainly stay again if the need arose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed here for a few days break with 2 adults and 2 children 10 and 17.the hotel is ideal for all attractions in dublin .the rooms were very warm which was very welcoming as the weather was baltic outside.the rooms were clean as was bathroom,good shower.all the staff were very friendly except one foreign lady who was quite rude to my daughter who was having a problem opening her door .the breakfast was very good with choice of cereals ,tea, coffee,orange juice,fresh fruit salad,and as much as you wanted,the cooked breakfast sausage rashers eggs (cooked any way you wanted) beans tomatoes and toast.the breakast staff were excellent very friendly and helpfull as was the reception staff.the room rate was excellent 198 for 2 rooms for 2 nights 4 people.would i stay here again..without a doubt YES.

Room Tip: was in room 200 facing the road but it didnt bother us to much.the heating in the room was just a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night with two friends for a night out in Dublin. We got room 502 which was a triple room with two single beds and one double. For 59 euro for the room we got what we expected, very basic. The room was massive and very clean, which was all that mattered to me. The door on the bathroom didn't lock properly, but we just excepted that. It's the type of hotel that you can spend the whole time dwelling on the little things that are wrong with it or get on with it. The only thing that really annoyed me was that we were given a ground floor room, right outside reception and vending machines. It was very nosy the next morning and you could hear every time someone walked past the door and people checking out. Make sure that you get a room upstairs!

Room Tip: Avoid room 502 if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charles Stewart Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Stewart Guesthouse

Address: 5 / 6 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your The Charles Stewart Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Stewart Hotel Dublin
Charles Stewart Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Stewart Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.