We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel to your Saves list
Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   58/59 Fleet Street, cnr Anglesea | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hostel of my holiday I had stayed in, so I was unsure what to expect.
All in all was pretty good. There were just a few things that I would change.
They only have one room key per room. So if you're by yourself in a 6 bed dorm and you're out drinking or dancing and you get home late then you'd have to wake someone in the room up to come and open the door. I can understand not wanting there to be a million room keys to keep track of. But there surely has to be a better way.
The bathrooms were nice with lots of hot water.
The staff member who was at the main reception the two days I was there was really helpful, was able to help with any questions and advice in where to travel.
The included breakfast was pretty amazing and for 14€ was a great deal.
I could get the wifi up in the room on the 4th floor (they have a elevator to help get your bags up to your floor).
The only problem I had was with the bed. It was really hard and I had to steal another pillow from and empty bed because they are so flat. Also the beds are really short. Probably only 5'5ft long. So it was a good 6-7 inches too short for me. But let's be honest, you make do.

Would recommend staying here - great price and fantastic location. Right in the middle of temple bar. Easy to find late at night too :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    135
    59
    27
    21
See reviews for
49
36
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We only visited the pub and didn't stop here. The pub itself was always very popular as it plays live traditional music throughout the day. Definately the best pub for a good night with great live music. Food was average, and staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

the location is perfect, however there were dirty rooms, rude room mates, the staff were not too helpful and un-coordinated. Also they do not provide a baggage room when you have to check out. we stayed in a 12 bedroom door on the second floor, it was a saturday, there was apple juice and tea for free in the morning after breakfast

Room Tip: choose a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed in the 4 bed apartment at Gogarty's. Fabulous place. Clean with 2 separate bedrooms both with twin beds, one room also has it's own ensuite. It has a dining area, kitchen, lounge, bathroom and a balcony.
It's an ideal location right in the heart of Temple bar.
Kitchen had all the basics, even some coffee and sugar that someone had left! Came equipped with a kettle, toaster, dishwasher, fridge freezer and cooker.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place has beds and bathrooms what more do you need for the price is amazing spent a lot of time in the bar down stairs and just chilling with other guest the Roof top has some nice veiws,

our room was right above the bar was a little worried about the noise but after 2 it was fine happy Hosteling

also location is Gr8

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved this place! Very friendly and good accomodation! The breakfast was very nice with good service! Also good situated in the center of the temple bar area (if you wanna go out) and also for other visits! We loved it and will come again!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Although there are several options for food, drink and entertainment in Temple Bar area I always choose Oliver St. John Gogarty's! The staff are friendly, the Guinness great and the atmosphere tough to beat. On the ground floor there is often live music and on the upper floor either live music or special performances for guests. Prices are fair for the area and it a lovely social environment to meet both travelers and local Dubliners.
Note: I have not stayed in the hostel so cannot advise on that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel

Address: 58/59 Fleet Street, cnr Anglesea | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver St. John Gogarty`s Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.