We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Collection of Irish and European Painting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Ireland

National Gallery of Ireland
Merrion Square West, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+ 353 1 661 5133
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Gallery of Ireland like an insider
Top Rated
$70*
and up
The Dublin Pass
Ranked #86 of 611 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Gallery of Ireland holds the national collection of European and Irish fine art. Admission is free to the permanent and temporary collections. The gallery is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment plan and remains partly open to the public during the works. Please note that entrance to the gallery is via the Clare Street entrance.Masterpieces from the Collection is a special presentation of some of the finest works in the Gallery's collection, now open in the Beit Wing and Millennium Wing (rooms 1 - 10). It includes both Irish and European masterpieces.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Stellar Collection of Irish and European Painting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Irish collection is comprehensive, with a selection of works by William John Leech, John Lavery, Jack B. Yeats, and others. The European collection is small in quantity but spectacular in quality, with usually only one work per painter. My favorites included Fra Angelico, Velazquez, Vermeer, Titian, Caravaggio, Goya, the Brueghels, Rembrandt, Van Gogh, and Picasso. There is a cafe and giftshop with many art books. Two or three hours here will provide great enjoyment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    189
    60
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlighted works on display during renovations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It free & the current display makes for a quick visit. Free is a great price to see masterpieces from the likes of Fra Angelico, Titian, Rembrandt, Vermeer & Carravagio!! Unfortunately the larger gallery spaces are under renovation but by all mean go and see the two "highlight" galleries. Each features stellar works from the gallery's European & Irish Collections. Well worth the time like the previous reviewer said. We ate in the cafe, it was fine, service was friendly. The Gift Shop primarily sells books & cards, there is a limited selection of gift items & jewelry. Again, its free! How awesome it that?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I spent a couple of hours here on my final morning in Dublin ad did not get to see all it, even with the renovations.
There is an excellent selection of European Masters and on the day I visited there were two lecture on some of the paintings. I only got to sit in on the Masters lecture and throught it was absolutely fascinating. Have seen the picture before the lecture, I had to go back and look at them again afterwards.
The lecutre was well presented and interesting, and I would loved for it to have been longer.

Next time I am back in Dublin I will definatly be back

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

as the gallery isnt too big you can get around it quite easily, a good way to spend some time, didnt try cafe so cant comment if it is any good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I visited whilst the gallery was being renovated. The gallery is free and quite small. It has a cafe and a shop. There are only a small selections of paintings which didn't seems to be particularly well organised. There are a few Jack Yeats paintings so if you have a [articualr interest in his work it might be worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Gallery of Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Ireland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.