We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Patrick's Day Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Temple Bar Pub

The Temple Bar Pub
47/48 Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
(1)6725286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 610 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cool and quirky pub, popular among artists and poets.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“St Patrick's Day Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Fantastic! A must visit while in Dublin. Also had lunch at the Temple Bar......outstanding! Their sandwiches are amazing (recommend the Christmas Day sandwich).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    230
    67
    23
    38
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnitogorsk, Russia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We returned there for every night after dinner to have some drinks and listen to music. Sometimes this place was overcrowded, but nevertheless we spent unforgettable time here. Such a wonderful music, atmosphere, drinks!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mush-a ring dum-a do dum-a da”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Sláinte!!
Nice place to be in this area of Dublin. Lot's of music, food, nice and very musical people, rain, Guiness, Guiness and Guiness of course!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Trad music!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I absolutely fell in love with Dublin. This bar was one of my favorites in the city. The place is always packed. The traditional Irish music was great. Exactly what I would expect in an Irish pub. Very iconic and I can see why! I didn't eat any food so I cannot speak for it. But the atmosphere was killer!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Music was nice, very crowded, hard to see band, hear the band or find a seat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Be prepared to stand until you can spy someone leaving a chair. The bar where we finally sat was very dirty (since there is no time to clean between customers) and not good for watching the music. You take what you can get though when you are tired. We did not eat, but the Guinness was good when we finally got one. People kept packing in more and more and blocked our entire view of the band.

If you don’t like crowds you should stay away.

Very touristy, loud, and would recommend staying long enough for one drink. Would prefer a quieter pub where the locals hang out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Temple Bar Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Temple Bar Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Temple Bar Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.