We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thrill for Readers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Writers Museum

Dublin Writers Museum
18-19 Parnell Square North, Dublin 1, Ireland
353 1 872 2077
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Dublin Writers Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$70*
and up
The Dublin Pass
Ranked #181 of 611 things to do in Dublin
Activities: Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housing memorabilia of Ireland's most influential writers, the museum has a recording of James Joyce reading from "Anna Livia Plurabelle."
New Hartford, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Thrill for Readers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you love books and reading, the Dublin Writer's Museum is a must see. Many first edition books by Irish writers are on display as are personal items such as typewriters, eyeglasses, letters, and some items of clothing.
The display follows an historical timeline and so is easily put into context. there are also some very nice drawings and pictures of the featured writers on the walls.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    72
    40
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I studied here for a while - it's truly a great asset to the city. One can pop in and read a book and have a cuppa. A beautiful old building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, New York
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Fascinating Stories, Disappointing Gift Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ireland has many great writers and such a great tradition of storytelling that stopping here makes sense for anyone with an interest in literature, Irish or otherwise. The audio worked well, the displays helped tell the story, and I learned a lot, particularly about several obscure writers who were quite influential. Joyce loomed large, of course, but the display helped answer questions about Ulysses I've had for years. Other writers are given their due. I had no idea about Bram Stoker's Dublin roots or the earlier Irish writers who influenced him in perfecting the vampire trope. Beckett is a favorite of mine and I also appreciated the Oscar Wilde display.

OK, so who goes to museums for gift shops? I usually don't, but I had a special request from a friend who is an English professor and is full-blooded Irish on both sides. What she asked for wasn't there. The selection here was pretty sparse, and some of the stock items you would find in tourist traps were not there. I wouldn't mind paying a little more to benefit the museum. It isn't like they don't compete at all with the tourist trap shops, they have a few kitschy items. Several book titles that I wanted to purchase were not on the shelves and were apparently out of stock. Postcards of individual writers were limited. The cafe was closed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Informative Overview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very much enjoyed learning about the literary history of Ireland especially those writers I had never heard of before. The museum rooms were filled with information and an audio guide provides you with further details beyond those provided by the exhibits. Although there were none going on at the time of my visit, the museum features speakers and programs. A very nice diversion for the literary minded visitor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

a small but very informative museum with free audio phones with admission. had lunch at chapter one and this was next door.
they have a cafe in the museum but it was closed on our visit.
if you dont know much about the dublins contribution to literature this was a great quick read. it is on the city hop tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Writers Museum also viewed

 

Been to Dublin Writers Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Writers Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.