We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brazen Head

The Brazen Head
20 Bridge Street, Dublin, Ireland
+ 353 (0) 1 677 9549
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,889 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

You've come all the way to Dublin, so you can walk a little further and visit The Brazen Head pub. It's the atmosphere, the structure, the interesting wall decorations, the old fireplace. It's a destination worth seeking out even if you don't like the beer/ale/stout on offer. There's always whiskey, right? There will be some form of refreshment for you here. It is over on the side of town on your way up a bit to get to the Jameson Experience but rather a stretch of the legs to make it. History of this location worthwhile to soak in. I have to say here that I was in the "other oldest pub in Ireland" as well...that being Sean's Bar in Athlone. So there are claims from both sides. Visit both bars, I say! Then you can brag that you have been in Ireland's oldest pub in all truthfulness.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    338
    115
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a group tour, everyone enjoyed the food, though the soup was a bit on the cool side but tasted nice, the rest of the meal was good beef stew wounderful, but didn't hear any stories or lectures, maybe we were a bit early so don't go befor 8? Average service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well you've got to visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This really is a must see place for anyone visiting Dublin. The food, drink and staff were all great.

Tip: it is a massive venue so do have a bit of a wander round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huntington Station, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner, Drinks and Stories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Philip the Story Teller was wonderful...It was our last night there and it was awesome. We listened to Irish music as well, but the stories are what we came for.
The food was excellant. I have celiac and I have to eat Gluten Free. They helped me choose what I could have and IT WAS DELICIOUS..! We were a party of 6 and everyone of us enjoyed the whole experience.
If you're in Dublin....DON'T MISS THIS STOP !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“historic pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited this early on our trip to Dublin and went back - the history is amazing. Bartenders were very friendly, and it was a nice touch imprinting a shamrock on the head of a pint of Guinness.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brazen Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Brazen Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brazen Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.