We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bit of Irish History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brazen Head

The Brazen Head
20 Bridge Street, Dublin, Ireland
+ 353 (0) 1 677 9549
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice bit of Irish History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This magic pub in Dublin is a must. The food was spectacular the drink is good. The only thing that lets you down a little is the service. Not that it is bad but it seems like no one really know who is looking after which table and they seem so busy. The live music was good. But the place started filling up quickly almost the minute the band started.

I do recommend this 1198 pub. The oldest pub in Ireland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    381
    266
    96
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the oldest pub in Dublin- we like to visit the oldest pub or restaurant wherever we go. The food was great and the atmosphere fun. Plus it was easy to find, easily accessible from the hop on and off bus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglet, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited the pub because it is in every guide and were very surprised to discover that the food was very good and the music pleasant. A place to recommend on top of the fact that it is "the" historic pub in Dublin.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oldest bar in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Impressive history and great live Irish music. There are 3 different bars on the site, which allows for better flow.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Story Telling and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went here on my last night in Dublin with a group. We had a lovely meal (food was very good) and in between courses we had songs and story telling from Ollie. The staff was pleasant and efficient and we all had a fabulous time. I especially enjoyed the story telling in such a historic pub setting. Great time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brazen Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Brazen Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brazen Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.