We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Brazen Head

The Brazen Head
20 Bridge Street, Dublin, Ireland
+ 353 (0) 1 677 9549
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,822 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Based on reviews, I thought this would be a great place. Atmosphere was very good. Service decent but not great. Food was very disappointing. Soup was pretty good but both chicken curry and burger were far below what I expected. Go for a pint, skip the food

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    400
    126
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A should do...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had lunch while visiting Dublin. It was good pub food and the price was reasonable. Totally worth seeing one of James Joyce's favourite places in Dublin. Very small, and difficult to find a place to park around the block near the petrol station seemed to be the best option.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The smallest Pub in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It might be the smallest Pub but huge atmosphere the food is great and the Guinness is one of the best you will get in Dublin

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome pub with great food, music and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Everything on the menu is awesome- brazen bangers, brazen chicken, stew, fish! The music is very good and so is the service. Only downfall is how busy and packed it gets. A must visit when in Dublin! Hint, seat yourself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Brazen Head on a Friday at lunchtime. Food was fantastic but we expected a bit more livery. Music was very subdued and the sports news was playing on the TV.

The food was very expensive. I ordered a guinness stew and received a guinness pie instead. Same food really but with the pie lid. It wasn't as flavoursome as others i've had but was still tasty.

Guinness was lovely at 5 euros a pint (pretty standard pricing), and perfectly poured.

I'd visit again when they have music on sundays at 3 onwards or evenings from 9.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Brazen Head also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Brazen Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brazen Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.