We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashfield Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ashfield Hostel to your Saves list
Ashfield Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   19/20 D'Olier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Ashfield House) (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Mantua, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Ashfield house is perfect if your looking for an inexpensive stay in the Temple Bar area. Not the nicest hostel in the area, but certainly a good value for the money spent! Free breakfast, and wifi available in the lobby as well!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    38
    25
    26
See reviews for
7
31
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First, a disclaimer: this is 4/5 stars on the hostel scale... which, I obviously look at differently than a hotel scale. Hostels are for backpackers/budget travelers and so you can't expect much. With that being said.... Booked a private room for two nights in July:

Pros
1) Location - right next to Trinity College and Temple Bar - the whole city is easily walkable don't waste money on a Hop On Hop Off bus, save it for a bigger city! Had room over the street but noise is not bad

2) Price - paying for a private room is always more than a typical hostel price, but overall not bad

3) Staff- friendly and helpful. Free maps, lots of tour info

4) Ensuite bathroom

5) Large common area with free breakfast

Cons:
1) 4th floor room during an incredibly hot and sunny stretch - very hot with no fan/AC making sleep difficult. But, that's not really typical Dublin weather.

2) wifi only in lounge area

3) Building overall slightly outdated, could use some sprucing up

Overall, a good find for backpackers in Dublin!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stated for two nights (one at either end of a tour) and this is a cheap but well located hostel. The staff were very helpful and the wifi worked fine. There are no fans or AC so if you don't sleep well when it's warm you may want to reconsider. Ensuite bathrooms are a plus but all the bathrooms could really use new tiles and paint. Oh and make use of the free ear plugs!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Well located but wifi is terrible. I couldn't even send an email or use Viber to call home.
6 bed female ensure was right next to the kitchen and was extremely noisy. We also had the water pressure cyclinder in our room that was so loud and offensive from 7am when everyone was having showers.

Common area was far too hot and no fans or cooling provided.

Breakfast was good. However overall for the price and noise and wifi issues I would never recommend this hostel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here during the summer holidays for 2 nights.

Pros:
1. Excellent centralised location. Just about 5 minutes walk to Temple Bar, Trinity College.
2. Our room is just right above the streets, but it's not that noisy as expected and even though it's near to Temple Bar area.
3. The staff at the reception, they are very nice, friendly and sweet. The whole atmosphere is jovial.
4. Price is very affordable, though it's supposed to be a peak season - summer holidays.
5. The complimentary breakfast is simple but nice, just like at home.

Note that you have to leave your room key before going out, as requested by the hostel. And we have to provide our check-in ticket to prove that we are staying there before we can get our room key back to enter our room. This is for security purpose.

A note to the hostel, the en-suite bathroom in our room - Room 20, the door is faulty, we have to 'lift' the door up before we can properly close and lock it. But we find it okay since we didn't really mind that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff are really friendly and always happy to help. About a 5 minute walk to the main street and sights of Dublin! The free breakfast and wifi was a definite bonus! I recommend it to people of all ages, it's a great place for families, backpackers and anyone visiting Dublin really!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a double private room which was very quaint and nice. It had a private bathroom which was a great bonus! The water pressure in the shower was amazing.

Breakfast, clean linens and luggage storage available.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We appreciated all their help and hospitality very much.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashfield Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Hostel

Address: 19/20 D'Olier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Ashfield House)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ashfield Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashfield House is Dublin's most centrally located Budget Accommodation centre. Located beside Trinity College and only 2 minutes from Dublin's trendy Temple Bar, it is an ideal location to discover Dublin's many attractions and sample the best of Irish culture and night life. Ashfield house offers accommodation in twin, family and 4/6 bedded rooms and all rooms are en-suite. A light continental breakfast of Cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee is included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Ashfield Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashfield Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.