We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and very quiet hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Elegant and very quiet hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We arrived at 10 in the morning from an overnight flight and the front desk had a room available for us immediately. The location was great and everything about the hotel was first class. We had the quietest room in a back wing but still had a view of the Wicklow Mts. Loved the comfortable beds and pillows. Using room service for the complimentary delivery of a bucket of ice was different from the hotels in the states, but they were fast and pleasant. All our questions for directions were answered politely and one with a little humor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    478
    214
    81
    45
See reviews for
422
981
74
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Spent a weekend here and loved it.
Location is superb and staff very helpful.
Rooms are comfortable and elegant.
Breakfast is not to be missed!
Bar must be one of the busiest around St Stephens Green!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed here on a Saturday night for a special occasion. We were greeted by Michal whom must have been one the most professional front desk staff we have ever been met. His warmth and friendly manner set the tone for our stay. We were allocated a truly beautiful room which was an upgrade from the room we had reserved. It was wonderfully spacious with every accessory...even a bathroom scales!!! Every member of staff that we encountered during our time there were both friendly and professional. I would recommend The Shelbourne to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed here recently with my husband and teenage daughter - we loved it. Fantastic, grand building located a couple of minutes from grafton street. The bedrooms are gorgeous - bathroom was so roomy - a pleasure to get ready in. The beds (2 double) comfy!! Had one drink each in the hotel lounge - it was lovely to soak up atmosphere and relax here before our quick walk to Thunder Road Cafe ( which our 15yr old loved - not recommended for those who want a quiet meal tho). We had breakfast delivered to the room the next morning - table on wheels which was opened out - food was yum!) This is by far one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Def stay again - If I had to pick one thing however it was the not so nice receptionist we met when checking in (unfriendly and snooty - I would def recommend this hotel but I would also warn people to beware that some of the staff might be a little off if you don't appear to be flashing the cash!!! But only for that it is a plush hotel that I can't wait to stay in again when in Dublin!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We normally stay in the Fitzwilliam Hotel which is so handy right beside Grafton Street and with great views of the Green. I decided to book the Shelbourne for a change. It's just a very beautiful Hotel. We got a great room with 2 Queen Beds on the 6th floor overlooking the Green and more. I must say the breakfast that was included in the room price was just superb and sustained us for the day. Compliments to the chef! The staff was very friendly. We will definetly be back. If you want to spoil yourself go and stay in the Shebourne. Make sure you are hungry in the morning and go to the Saddle Room for breakfast. The location was brilliant too. We walked to the Concert Hall, the museum around the corner, shops, O'Donohues pub etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

A national treasure built in 1824, The Shelbourne Hotel has been magnificently restored while keeping its historic charm. The Shelbourne is a luxury 5 star hotel in Dublin city centre overlooking St. Stephen's Green, Europe's grandest garden square. Ideally situated close to Dublin's cultural and historic buildings, The Shelbourne offers a great location, from where you can visit the majestic St. Patrick's Cathedral and Trinity College. Explore shops on Grafton Street or visit the Guinness Storehouse. The Shelbourne offers spacious accommodations with luxurious Egyptian cotton bedding, flat- screen TV, laptop-size safe, and marble bathroom. Enjoy a cocktail or Ireland's own Guinness at our renowned Horseshoe Bar. Celebrate life at our Oyster Bar or a prime- cut steak at The Saddle Room Restaurant. When planning a wedding or business affair, you'll find perfection at The Shelbourne Hotel - with 13 banqueting and meeting suites, event planning and on-site catering.

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Our four night stay was business for my husband, leisure for me. The perfect location at the top of St. Stephen's Green suited us both. The public spaces are very attractive and always bustling with suits.

Our room was certainly not large, especially given that it was one grade up from the very smallest category offered. However, the king bed and linens were extremely comfortable; marble bathroom nicely appointed (slightly weak water pressure, though); large flatscreen tv, armchair and work desk made for a really cozy and functional stay. Also the room was absolutely silent at all hours--a really nice advantage when my husband had to make work calls during the day, and of course it helped us sleep very well at night.

We didn't need much in the way of service, but were happy with the cheerful arrangement of an early-morning taxi to the airport and with housekeeping's willingness to accommodate an unusual schedule (they never bothered us when we stayed in the room all morning or even into the afternoon; yet the room was always made up even if we only left for a few hours in the p.m.--it was sooo nice not to be harassed to get out of the room!) I'd also like to make a special mention of Helen Killian who checked us in at the front desk with SUCH charm and warmth. What a great ambassador for the hotel and for Irish hospitality!

Since we got a great rate, we were really pleased with the value-for-money, but I'm sure those who pay full price would be disappointed with the room size.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.