We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Shelbourne in June, and the hotel, staff, and location was fantastic! Our original flight was cancelled so we were one-day late arriving in Dublin and the hotel cancelled and refunded the first night of our reservation with no hassle. The lobby, restaurant, and rooms are impeccably clean and decorated. The breakfast was included in our stay and the variety and quality of food was great. Our room was spacious, clean, and showcased the heritage of the hotel while at the same time being upgraded with modern expectations like a super comfortable mattress, fluffy towels, and large bathroom with new fixtures. I would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Dublin!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. It was a pleasure to take care of you during your stay and that you had an enjoyable experience.

It was a delight to read such great comments about the hotel and our dedicated team, in particular our rooms and the extensive Irish Buffet Breakfast.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you require any assistance for any future reservations, I would be delighted to personally take care of this for you.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    429
    198
    70
    37
See reviews for
363
868
68
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Shelbourne in late June. The food was excellent and the accommodations were just fine. The concierge Denis O'Brien was exceptional - he moved heaven and earth to help us with a package delivery and coordinating our time there. Our disappointment came when we were asked to move rooms (away from the room next door to our minor daughter) to "an upgraded room" in order to accommodate a family with young children who needed adjoining rooms. We agreed, but the room was anything but an upgrade and all the promised extras to entice us to move (bottle of wine, etc.) conveniently never appeared. We will never voluntarily move rooms again! We felt put upon by the front desk. Because of Denis we rate the stay a 4 - without him, it was a 2 or 3.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I have passed on your excellent comments to Denis O'Brien, who was delighted to read that he was able make what could have been a very disappointing stay, one that you will remember.

I have noted your comments regarding the room allocation, and sincerely apologise the inconvenience the room change caused you.

I hope that on any future visits to Dublin, The Shelbourne will be your first choice of hotel. I would be delighted to personally look after any booking requirements you have. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

At St. Stephens Green area, the Shelbourne Hotel has long stood for excellence and it did not disappoint. Our accommodations were first rate and the staff very attentive. We enjoyed a great breakfast before touring for the day around Dublin. Returning for the evening, we were again met with a warm welcome back. Anyone visiting Dublin would do well to stay at the Shelbourne as have many famous people over the last 190 years the hotel has been serving. This is a high quality luxury hotel that has earned a reputation as the best tradition of Irish hospitality for any traveler.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. It was a pleasure to take care of you during your stay and I am so pleased that we were able to create a memorable and enjoyable experience.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne, in the very near future.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I didnt stay in the hotel but I did attend a Christmas party with a group of friends, in one of the hotels reception rooms and also visited the main hotel bar. As I had heard this hotel was a 5 star hotel, I felt assured almost everything would be to a very high standard, I was mistaken. We were told by staff that any pre party drinks bought within the main hotel bar, could be taken into the reception room where the party was being held however we found out this was not the case. We had to leave our drinks and the HOTEL itself, walk outside, in the cold winter rain and wind, down the road to the entrance to the reception room. The only 5 star hotel I have ever been to that has no link hallway and is happy to allow their guest to be rained on. When we entered the reception room, it was packed full of tables. It looked more like a cheep bingo hall then a "luxury" hotel. No one could move and my back was constantly being knocked by fellow guests and passers by. Added to that, my table was right next to an exit used by staff and the doors were constantly left open, with freezing cold air hitting us every few minutes. To top it all off, there were cracks in the crowded dance floor, which a number of female friends caught their high heels in. Unhelpful staff, bad planning and poor surrounding. It has the location and the name, no doubt its standards are not that of a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Shelbourne Hotel last year. I am disappointed to read of your experience and that you were not happy with your evening. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this.

Please email me at your earliest convenience so that I may attempt to restore your faith in The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager

eamonn.casey@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited for afternoon tea service that was recommended for out visit to Dublin, booked in advance which is highly recommended. The quality and service was second to none in a wonderful luxury hotel. Served a selection of sandwiches first in different breads and even got a second tray as they were amazing! Next was very fresh scones/ginger loaf and individual deserts. All served with as much tea as wanted and we were even able to take away a couple of cakes that we couldn't finish.
A truly luxury experience throughout!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience in the Lord Mayors Lounge. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Shelbourne is a hotel steeped in tradition located within easy walking distance of most center-city attractions. The National Museums are in adjacent blocks, St Stephen's Green is directly across the street, Grafton Street is just a few blocks down as is Trinity College. Christ Church at St Patrick's Cathedral are each about 15 minute walk away.
We began and ended or trip to Ireland at the Shelbourne, and it was perfect for both. In arranging the trip - which was a slightly belated celebration of our 40th anniversary - I communicated with Dana at the hotel via email regarding some specific requests. Everything was handled beyond my expectation and was in place on arrival. I give her most special thanks for making our stay there so memorable.
The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well kept. The rooms are stocked with amenities.
Our room included breakfast which was beyond ample. The breakfast is served buffet style, but eggs and such can be prepared to order.
We enjoyed afternoon libations in the No 27 Lounge at the hotel where the bar staff was delightful.
While I'm certain the staff is child-friendly, the hotel itself has formal areas that architecturally suggest the character of one of those places children under 12 might not be so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at The Shelbourne. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Shelbourne is well situated right across the street from St. Stephen's Green and a 5-minute walk from Grafton St. The property itself is an older, elegant building that has been modernized. The rooms are nice -- nothing spectacular, but a good size and well appointed. The bed and bedding were not that comfortable for me (e.g. the pillows were too high), but at least the room was nice and quiet so I slept ok.

Breakfast at the hotel is really excellent (included in our rate). There's a buffet with hot and cold selections, though I especially liked the option to order off the menu. There were many tasty options, including omelettes and pancakes made to order, though this also took quite some time. The espresso drinks made to order were very good as well.

I had the chance to use the gym once, and it was well equipped to get in a good workout on the road. There's also an indoor swimming pool for those who want to swim laps. It's definitely nice to be able to stay active on the road.

Service at the hotel was friendly and helpful -- polite, professional and efficient.

I usually don't comment on the bars at hotels, but it's worth noting that the hotel bar doesn't have TVs (during the world cup, this was an issue). Also the bar is on the small side and seating is not very plentiful or comfortable. It also got very stuffy and hot in there. Good thing this is Dublin so it's easy to find a pub, but would be nice to have a better bar option in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your experience at The Shelbourne. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed celebrating your special occasion with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.