We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #13 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at The Shelbourne on a very hectic Sunday afternoon (the hotel was busy and hosting the Irish Rugby Team) and yet the reception from all of the staff was very warm, friendly and personable. The grandeur of the hotel was very impressive and our room and bathroom were sumptuous. While we did not have time to avail ourselves of the restaurants at the hotel (we were at the game and some of the lovely old pubs in between) breakfast was a veritable feast and easily catered for every taste. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough and while a little exorbitant, we are looking forward to treating ourselves again in the not too distant future. Can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write your fantastic comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that your stay with the Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like assistance with future reservations.

Sincerely,

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,068
    379
    174
    58
    31
See reviews for
305
755
61
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wonderful hotel with attentive staff and beautifully appointed rooms. On a Friday night the lounge had a nice vibe with great food and drinks. Finding our room from the elevator was a little tricky - 2 or 3 steps up to our wing - but that is the charm of an old, historic hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting Dublin for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We were delighted to have you with us over your trip. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in The Lord Mayors Lounge also.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel for your latest trip to Dublin and for recommending us to future guests. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I usually travel for business but we stayed for a special occasion and I can honestly say it was the best hotel experience I have ever had in Ireland .
Great food,great service great room and a amazing building.
Next time we have a special occasion we know where to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform me of your experience. I am thrilled to read that you both enjoyed your stay and that you intend to return. It was our pleasure to host you.

Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We booked early bird in the Shelbourne for 4 persons as it was my birthday - it was not explained to us on booking that all three courses come together and on the same platter - chips and onion rings are extra - no veg provided - when starters, dinner and desert arrived the starter was cold - all had to sent back - therefore dinner was cold and extras had to be sent back until all three courses arrived again - back they did come but luke warm ..... At this stage we were to embarrassed to send back again - the atmosphere and surroundings were second to none but really one just could not recommend the early bird - such a pity very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Lord Mayors lounge. I was dissapointed to read of your experinece and would like to discuss your meal with you in further detail. I would be remiss if I did not mention our Shelbourne Supper is distinctive from our Early Bird menu.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the surroundings and atmosphere.

My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Where do I begin! This is the finest hotel in Dublin because your greeted with nice scents and kind doorman and staff, the sophistication of the architecture, the pleasantry of positive energy, amazing staff, non-discriminatory and diverse staff, appearance of a team building atmosphere, kindness of the hotel to invite guests to sit down, have a fresh cup of lemonade and cookies, the size and quality of the hotel rooms (deluxe on 8th fl), water bottles in room and just fine finishing touches made this a EXCELLENT vacation for us. I mean the staff from the bellhop, the concierge DENIS, front desk staff, Lezlo, housekeeping (am and pm), the SADDLE ROOM restaurant kitchen and wait staff, management, and so on! We loved this place so much and the location is a given. It was safe, centrally located, near shopping area, great direction and advice, near all the museums and GREAT restaurant outside hotel like Dawson Brasserie, Bang and Hugo....I can go on and on but I am a typical high stressed American who works a lot and this gave me a change to rest. YOU PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET and it worth every penny for a peace of mind and comfort. They also have an amazing buffet breakfast at the Saddle Room (oh did I mention the bread pudding....gosh). ENJOY and we might see you there sooner than later.

Room Tip: Let go of all your worries because they will create an environment of peace and wellness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team of associates could make your experience more enjoyable. Lazlo and Denis will be thrilled with the special mention you have given.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Shelbourne was a great place to stay, easy access to the whole city by, bus, taxi, or walking. The service and attention to detail here were wonderful, the staff warm, friendly and so helpful!
We loved our stay in this grand city and the Shelbourne was a great part of it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that it has made a positive impact on your experience of Dublin.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Ireland. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great location, good night life close by, residence bar open till late , great bar in the hotel ,
food is pretty good , rooms good , service ; its a busy hotel and easy to loose the personal touch you might get elsewhere , business like ,

Room Tip: not the front as its a bit noisey from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the personal touch created by our team.

It was a pleasure to host you during your stay. Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel as your home away from home.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Family Hotel in Dublin
#8 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.