We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting; 5 stars is an understatement!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enchanting; 5 stars is an understatement!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Where do I begin! This is the finest hotel in Dublin because your greeted with nice scents and kind doorman and staff, the sophistication of the architecture, the pleasantry of positive energy, amazing staff, non-discriminatory and diverse staff, appearance of a team building atmosphere, kindness of the hotel to invite guests to sit down, have a fresh cup of lemonade and cookies, the size and quality of the hotel rooms (deluxe on 8th fl), water bottles in room and just fine finishing touches made this a EXCELLENT vacation for us. I mean the staff from the bellhop, the concierge DENIS, front desk staff, Lezlo, housekeeping (am and pm), the SADDLE ROOM restaurant kitchen and wait staff, management, and so on! We loved this place so much and the location is a given. It was safe, centrally located, near shopping area, great direction and advice, near all the museums and GREAT restaurant outside hotel like Dawson Brasserie, Bang and Hugo....I can go on and on but I am a typical high stressed American who works a lot and this gave me a change to rest. YOU PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET and it worth every penny for a peace of mind and comfort. They also have an amazing buffet breakfast at the Saddle Room (oh did I mention the bread pudding....gosh). ENJOY and we might see you there sooner than later.

Room Tip: Let go of all your worries because they will create an environment of peace and wellness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team of associates could make your experience more enjoyable. Lazlo and Denis will be thrilled with the special mention you have given.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    478
    213
    81
    45
See reviews for
422
979
74
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Shelbourne was a great place to stay, easy access to the whole city by, bus, taxi, or walking. The service and attention to detail here were wonderful, the staff warm, friendly and so helpful!
We loved our stay in this grand city and the Shelbourne was a great part of it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that it has made a positive impact on your experience of Dublin.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Ireland. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great location, good night life close by, residence bar open till late , great bar in the hotel ,
food is pretty good , rooms good , service ; its a busy hotel and easy to loose the personal touch you might get elsewhere , business like ,

Room Tip: not the front as its a bit noisey from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the personal touch created by our team.

It was a pleasure to host you during your stay. Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel as your home away from home.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in this beautiful hotel. The standard of housekeeping was the first thing that caught my eye. Everything has sparkling, no dust to be seen anywhere. Everything was just lovely from the welcome at reception to the service at breakfast and in the bar. The shelbourne know how to provide great service. The room was lovely, lots of space and a huge bathroom, all overlooking the park. Perfect location, just a few minutes from Grafton Street. We are looking forward to staying again during our next trip to Ireland

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read of your kind comments and we were delighted to host you for your stay.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

If you want pampering, ambiance , old world Irish charm, this is the place. The rooms are decorated beautifully, and typical European size, the beds are comfy and it's easy to fall asleep.The staff is wonderful, friendly,and very helpful. The restaurants, high noon teas, and bar areas are splendid. The spa/gym is a nice size with an indoor salt pool and spa treatments. The gym equipment is modern and plentiful. The hotel location is prime location across from St. Stephens Green. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you got to enjoy many of the hotels facilities.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

In many ways the hotel lived up to our expectations – particularly in relation to its location and general ambience. However the check-in procedure was extremely long-winded and, despite the fact that I emphasised that I was to be responsible for payment for several rooms, was extremely embarrassed to find that on the day of our departure separate accounts were put under the doors of each room.

We had been attracted by the a la carte menu displayed on the hotel's website and had reserved a table for a celebratory dinner in the Saddle Room for the 8 of us. It was therefore a major disappointment to be presented with restricted menus and be told that for parties of more than 7 people the a la carte version was not available. When we suggested that the waiter should perhaps treat us as two parties of 4, his response was to the effect that “he could do that if we didn’t mind being served 45 minutes apart”!! The quality of the food, when it eventually came (after a lengthy wait and without any aperitifs being suggested), was excellent.

In summary, a very uneven experience became the subject of a letter of complaint - to which a prompt but somewhat perfunctory reply was received. I think they may have to write quite a lot when the expectations that go along with 5 star status are not satisfied.

Room Tip: They all appear to be different - Gold status in the Marriott Rewards seemed to be a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you and your party have experienced. We have noted your experience on your profile and the issues you have raised have been discussed at our weekly meeting and new procedures have been introduced.

I was however delighted to read that you enjoyed the food you received. We have received your letter about your experience and should you wish to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me at rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

It would be my pleasure to discuss your stay in more detail at your convenience.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.


We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights to explore Dublin after spending a week at the Grand Hotel in Malahide for a conference. The hotel is located fairly close to must see attractions, such as Trinity College. The room was spacious and comfortable. There are three restaurants, but if you simple want casual, your only option is No. 27 Bar and Lounge, which has great sandwiches (try the steak sandwich or the Shelbourne burger). The Saddle Room is nice, but there is a dress code (shirt/slacks) and it is quite expensive; pretty good, but not sure it was worth the cost. I would stay here again next time I find myself in Dublin. After all, if it is good enough for First lady Michelle Obama, it is good enough for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to host you during your stay. We have many options for dining in the hotel including the aforementioned Saddle Room restaurant. The Lord Mayors Lounge offers an evening supper along with No.27 serving bar food into the evening.

The location of the hotel is extremely helpful when visiting sites around Dublin as most are within walking distance.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.