We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, hotel for your Dublin visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, hotel for your Dublin visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Shelbourne and enjoyed the hotel. The room was comfortable, clean and cozy. If you can get a room overlooking the park, would recommend asking for it. The hotel seems to be the place to stay for celebrities - - got to see US President Clinton at the hotel during our stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of St Stephens Green go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    446
    206
    76
    41
See reviews for
383
905
71
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights at The Shelbourne in Dublin .
The staff were very kind and helpful
Breakfast was fantastic ,just the best .
Afternoon tea was a wondrous experience .
The main bar on a Friday evening saw Dublin's great and good in all their finery .
We had room 446 ( we paid €60 extra on arrival for an upgrade) the room was very tired, ceilings and wall scuffed and scruffy .bathroom was very nice indeed but their was a bizarre ramp to the bathroom and as the bed was so close it caused a trip hazard !
As an old and famous historic venue it was just great .
Thanks for a good time

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the friendly service, Breakfast and Traditional Afternoon Tea in our Lord Mayors Lounge. I am surprised that the room had these issues. I will notify our Director of Engineering and our Executive Housekeeper to investigate and attend these items you have raised.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your most recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in May 2013 - We stopped for 2 nights and could not have asked for anything more. Staff very pleasant & helpful, rooms and hotel facilities were beautiful. This hotel is in a fantastic location and is only a few minutes walk to the main shopping areas and pubs. We would return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is a pleasure to note that we made a lasting impression on you and your partner. It was our pleasure to have you with us on your trip to Ireland.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the hope fully not too distant future. Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I choose to stay here because I used my Rewards points. My expectations were not that high. I often find that "elite" hotels offer lots of superficial perks to justify their pricing but are just as dirty and unkempt as any other hotel. Not this one. From the moment I got out of the cab until I left, it was a great experience. Friendly and extremely helpful staff (I never carried my luggage), ideal location and my room (and the entire hotel) was immaculate. Close to Grafton Street, across from St. Stephen's and a short walk to Temple Bar and the river. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We were delighted to have you with us on your recent trip to Dublin.

Our bell team and housekeeping team will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed their services and that they were able to exceed your expectations. It was our pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for recommending us to our future guests. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

In all my wife's and I traveling in Europe this is one of the best hotels that we love. The hotel is fantastic and the rooms are not that big but very nice. The hotel is within 10 minutes from the Temple Bar Area. It is also walking distance to Jameson and Guinness factory tours. Also if you are looking for a day trip you can go to Belfast which is about 2 hours by car and 1.5 hours by train. The Hop On Hop Off bus tour is well worth the money to see all the sights.

Room Tip: I know that you hear this often BUT it is worth the extra money to upgrade so that you have access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I am delighted to note that we were your favourite stop in Europe.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved The Shelbourne Dublin! Beautiful rooms and the location is perfect - just a few blocks in one direction there are fun pubs and great restaurants and in the other direction more great restaurants and tons of great shopping. Plus, right across the street on St. Stephen's Green is a stop for the hop on/hop off bus which gets you all over the city. Our reservation included a full Irish breakfast each morning. The entire staff was great as well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and its proximity to great pubs and great shops.
The Hop-on, Hop-off located across the road from the hotel makes navigating the city that much easier. One can purchase tickets from the concierge or on the bus.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. It is a beautiful historic property in a central location. Their high rating is also no doubt due to the service which we found to be truly exceptional, except for the concierge who seemed a bit overwhelmed and abrupt. Despite this issue, we found everyone else to be very friendly and offering to help even if they may not have been as knowledgable as the concierge. I should note that we were first put in a room that smelled of smoke (I don't think the TV worked either?). The porter who brought in our luggage noticed the smoke right away too. He left to tell the front desk that we wanted to move, but I decided to also call them. Within a short time, we were moved to another room and upgraded (the new room looked the same except it had larger bathroom and better TV). The front desk apologized that the housekeeping staff should have made them aware of the smoke problem before they let the room. In any case, they handled it very well so I would have no concern in staying there again. We do enjoy having a cocktail at the end of the evening and found no room in the bar on both nights (Friday and Saturday), but they have a lovely lounge just for guests where you can get a drink and listen to a pianist. There were some guests playing cards at one of the tables too. There is also another small bar that we thought would be fun for meeting some people, but it was too hot to stay even for one drink...this was a disppointment. We also ordered a light breakfast (fruit, bagels, smoked salmon) in the lounge one morning which was fine, but if you have time, I do recommend you walk the few blocks to Bewley's...another historic landmark.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that we could rectify the issue you experienced straight away. It is our pleasure to assist you with this and I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We have noted this for future stays to ensure that this does not re-occur. Thank you for providing us with this feedback and for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address on your recent trip to Ireland.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.