We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star all the way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #15 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Five Star all the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed at The Shelbourne several times over the last 25 years & have never been disappointed. I have stayed at most of Dublin's five star hotels but nothing comes near this. The location is perfect & there is always a buzz about the place. On a 3 day visit this week we were upgraded (without asking) to a Heritage Suite. It was amazing with beautiful views over St. Stephens Green & the Dublin Mountains. If you want to treat yourself to a little bit of old style luxury this is the place! The food is fabulous. We had breakfast in our suite each morning & had supper each evening in the Lord Mayors Lounge where there is a wonderful light supper menu. Don't be put off by negative reviews this place is still No.1 in Dublin. Looking forward to my next visit at Easter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    429
    201
    73
    37
See reviews for
365
871
68
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived at this hotel only to find they did not have a room for us their excuse was the air conditioning was broken in our rooms ,so they had booked us into the Four Season for the night and that they would pay for our taxi as this hotel was about 15 mins out of town the next day we were booked on a tour so we couldn't come back in the morning so they paid for a taxi to bring our bags back to the hotel, we arrived back there about 6.30pm and checked into our room the bags were there after waiting about 20mins my husband had to go down and show them which ones were ours we were told on the first day we would be looked after as far as an upgrade but that never happened no other compensation was given as the hotel has ducted air I think they were just over booked

Room Tip: The hotel carpet on the floor we were on was in disrepair
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Shelbourne Hotel and for your feedback. I would like to investigate your comment further and to go through the issues you had experienced in detail. I would be delighted if you would contact me at your earliest convenience. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was built in the early 1800s and has been brought up to modern standards within the physical limits possible. The entrance is small and difficult to negotiate with suitcases and you cannot escape the smokers crowded around the place and making it smaller. The entrance lobby is also usually crowded and awkward but after that everything gets better. The registration area is more open, though usually very busy and the concierge is knowledgeable and helpful, as were all the staff we met. Rooms are well appointed and spacious, though some have unexciting views (but who goes to a city hotel for the view?). Breakfast buffet is enormous and extensive, with full fat, healthy and cold options. Service is good. The tearoom is very relaxing and enjoyable with good, gracious and helpful staff. All in all the experience is very good, though it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel and thank you for your feedback. I have taken your feedback on board and will make every effort to improve the areas mentioned. Our concierge team will be delighted with your comments as these will serve as a great motivator.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our breakfast and our extensive range of buffet items. Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second stay at The Shelbourne and once again it did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived early in the morning and travel weary, the quintessential service impressed. We had requested an early check-in yet given the very early time the room was not ready, understandable. Mirta really took care of us, we had breakfast in the restaurant and complimentary drinks while we waited on the room.

If you like a larger room, request an upgrade to premium room. We stayed in room 550 and it was large enough to accommodate our five suitcases. The bathroom is very large, clean, elegant with marble and has plenty of storage. Carpet is a little worn in the hallways. The first night there was an issue with the air conditioning but we opened the window and adjusted. Of the four hotels we stayed at in Ireland, The Shelbourne was the only one with air conditioning.

The Saddle Room Restaurant is beautiful and the food quality. We had breakfast here most mornings and there is a buffet that has a wide array of fresh fruits and typical Irish breakfast fare. The No. 27 Bar and Lounge is a hip place to share a cocktail and is popular with Dubliners. I love the atmosphere, old world decor and ambience.

Denis and Keith are the concierges and they provided excellent service, recommendations and reservations. They set us up with a rental car and their contact Tim delivered and picked up the car.

Fitness center is large and has all the essential equipment. Machines overlook the indoor pool and has multiple areas with cardio & weight machines. We used it everyday and typically had the place to ourselves.

The location on St. Stephen's Green places it within minutes of all the key attractions, shopping on Grafton street, restaurants and pubs. We will always choose this hotel when in Dublin.

Room Tip: Request upgrade to premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Shelbourne Hotel. It is a pleasure to read of your experience and that our team, especially Mirta and Keith looked after you. They will be delighted to read your comments. It will serve as a great motivator for them and the team. The new Health Club and Spa are a great new addition to the hotel and the atmosphere in No.27 cannot be beat.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin, we look forward to welcoming you back in hopefully the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed for four nights with my husband and two children in a jr. suite at the Shelbourne. First of all, the location is outstanding. You can walk to all the tourist attractions in Dublin, there are ample hotels within blocks, shopping is just a few blocks away and the park is across the street. There are three several on site options for food and drink so it's a great place to meet friends or unwind. The morning breakfast is outstanding and there is plenty of variety for everyone. The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. Overall, this is an excellent hotel with everything you would expect from a 5 star and you get Marriott points too.

Room Tip: The jr. suites have room for two small children and the staff will remove the roll away bed when not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The location is great for its proximity to the local attractions.

I look forward to welcoming you and the family back to The Shelbourne Hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel as your home away from home and for awarding us top marks, we are very proud to be held in your high regard.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a marvellous hotel. Wonderful historical significance if you're interested in Irish history. Gracious public areas staffed by courteous attentive staff. We had dinner in the Saddle Room, and it was a lovely experience. Delectible food, served by trained serving staff who offered helpful advice re wines and menu selections.

After dinner, a stroll through Stephen's Green, just opposite the hotel is a delightful experience. It's great to think that this kind of hotel with its exemplary staff still exists to pamper guests with such lovely aplomb.

Room Tip: We just dined in the hotel, but that was such a terrific experience, that next time, we'll be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for choosing to The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. It is with great pleasure that I read of your experience at dinner and that you found the team and the food to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for awarding the hotel top Tripadvisor marks. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Shelbourne while in Dublin and the first thing I noticed was the attentive service by all the staff. We didn't need to lift a finger. Check in was easy and they accommodated our odd check in times. It's an old hotel and has some quirks but very clean and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.