We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #13 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short Break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Shelbourne for two nights,as we were attending the theatre.Check in was very quick,all staff are extremely friendly and helpful.Anything we requested we got within minutes.The restuarant is delightful,tastefully decorated with a very relaxed atmosphere and the food is superb.The bedrooms are well equipped and very comfortable.The only thing I would make potiential guests aware of is,the hotel does not have a carpark,therefore it costs 25 Euro per night to have your car secured in a valet park.The hotel do provide staff to drive your car there and have it taken back for you,but it could turn out quite costly if you were staying any length of time.Apart from that,I would highly recommend this hotel.And we both shall return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,068
    379
    174
    58
    31
See reviews for
305
755
61
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in the Shelbourne last night 14 March for 1 night with my mother for her 85th birthday. I told them it was her birthday and we got an upgrade to a heritage de luxe room which was about 500 sq. ft. It was furnished to a very high standard and there were 2, 4 ft bes which is an un usual size for a bed these days. The bathroom was furnished to a very high standard with seperate shower, bath and a toilet with a door for privacy within the bathroom. From the moment we arrived the doormen, reception staff, conccierges could not have been more friendly or helpful. They would not let us carry our bags. They kept on asking us and my mam particularly were we having a great time for her birthday. The dinner in the restaurant was great and there service excellent. The wine waitress knew all about her wines and got us to taste some wines before we made our choice. I had the French onion soup and the sirlloin steak from the table d'hote menu. The soup is the best French onion soup I have ever tasted. The steak was so tender. The beds are very very comfortable and the duvets are heaven. They must be duck down. The biggest surprise of all was the spa. It is brand new and furnished to the highest standard. We each had an hour massage. The relaxation room looks onto stephens Green which is amazing. The towels, bathrobes and slippers are to a very high standard. The steam room was lovely and hot, as was the sauna. The pool was lovely also. This was the best hotel stay I ever had. I cannot wait to go back to the shelbourne again. One down side is the bars are sometimes so busy that there are no tables available for residents to have a re dinner drink or aafter dinner drink.

Room Tip: Look for room with view, get de luxe room, basic rooms are very small and have no bath only shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at The Shelbourne on the 3rd & 7th March. Our welcome was fantastic from the moment we arrived. Saema on the front desk was very helpful. She assisted my husband with our Afternoon Tea reservation and gave us a tour of the Constitution Suite and the musuem. We had Afternoon Tea, my very first, and it was such an experience from being in The Lord Mayor's Lounge to the gorgeous food. After indulging in the tea, we strolled the short distance to Grafton Street, the main shopping area, and then around the surrounding area. The room was perfect and well decorated.

Our second night was even more exceptional and the hotel made us feel very special by putting us in the original part of the hotel where we could see St Stephen's Green. The room was gorgeous and huge! The bathroom was amazing with a lovely deep tub perfect for soaking and powerful shower. We spent our second evening in The Lord Mayor's Lounge as we became too comfortable to leave! We also spent some time in The Horseshoe Bar and soaked up some of the history there.

The hotel is very beautiful and overflowing with history. The bed was so comfortable that I did not want to leave it in the morning! I think this hotel is the whole package and I certainly intend to stay there next time we are in Dublin in a few months time! A completely amazing experience all round. A massive thanks to The Shelbourne staff who made us feel welcome and special.

Room Tip: If you like history, ask to stay in the original part of the building. The hotel is quite large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I know I will sound like I'm gushing, but we can't say enough good things about the staff at the Shelbourne. they are well-trained, efficient, warm and completely helpful at every step. Just made our third visit and we felt like we were back with old friends. Concierge Denis and Jane on the front desk took extra good care of us. This is definitely our home in Dublin.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Check in was an absolute delight which is a rare experience these days. Check in staff were friendly, helpful and informative and just wanted to please.

That intro really set the tone for my stay. A lasting memory is spending a few minutes in the museum reading the correspondence regarding damage caused by the South African Rugby tourists in 1952.

Room Tip: try and get a room looking over the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although a Dubliner I had never stayed in the Shelbourne Hotel. No reason, always assumed it was too expensive but I was pleasantly surprised considering the outrageous prices I have paid in other city centre hotels. Valet parking is handy. The rooms maintain an historice feel but also very luxurious. Great atmosphere and the food at the dinner was excellent and what a breakfast you are set for the day. Next time in Dublin you have to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business. It's centrally located - close to a park and the town, plus many attractions.

The room - nice size, good 4 or 5 star amenities such as robe, slippers etc. TV had lots of channels and bed was comfortable, plus a safe and plenty of electric points.

Staff - always helpful and good service

Reception/common areas - a big bonus here, as it was lovely and a great place to meet people.

Bars and restaurants - really nice too. 6 of us ate here on a set menu for lunch, was very nice and reasonable, for Dublin.

Overall would stay again. They also organised some early morning coffee (4.30am) which was good.

Room Tip: Try and get a park view. Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Family Hotel in Dublin
#8 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.