We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but breakfast and wifi prices are a rip off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #16 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but breakfast and wifi prices are a rip off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We love this hotel. It's at the heart of Dublin and always has a lively buzz - even when it's not the 6 nations weekend. You always feel special staying here and this is a grand hotel that's maintained its standards and status. The rooms are lovely and the service from all the staff is delightful.

But, why charge €20 a day for wifi, when budget hotels chuck it in for free? There's something so grasping about charging obscene rates for what is today a utility that is as basic as hot water. Some five star hotels just haven't learned the lesson of the land line telephones (multiplying standard rates). If it's a utility, build it into the price. I probably won't go elsewhere for €20 on the room rate, but I will cavill at seeing €60 extra stuck on to my bill over three days. In fact I couldn't bear to do it more than once.

Same for breakfast - the buffet is €29 per head. To put that into context, Bewleys, the iconic landmark coffee house around the corner charges €9.85 for the full Irish including coffee or tea (with refills) and freshly squeezed orange juice, all freshly cooked and served to your table. It is at least the equal of the Shelbourne Buffet experience and in many respects better. So we just walked out and ate round the corner every day.

Now don't think I am some penny-pinching innocent abroad, who doesn't get the five star experience (or what it costs to provide). You'll see from my reviews that I travel a lot, stay in high end places and don't begrude paying top dollar when you get value for it. But whether it's my money or the company's there's a basic line in the sand of what's value for money and what's not. I'd happily pay €18 and eat in for breakfast. But not €29. Many will, because hunting out an alternative first thing is not very convenient - and the Shelbourne know it. But it rather sticks in the craw.

Shame really, and actually the Shelbourne lost out. We all walked out for breakfast every day, logged onto the wifi just once, but had the whole grand ccentral hotel experience for a very good rack rate (through Expedia).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience of The Shelbourne Hotel during your visit to Dublin. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel in addition to the room and service meeting your expectations.

It is with regret to hear of your view with regards to our breakfast and internet pricing. We are delighted to offer competitive bed and breakfast rates directly through the hotel and on our website in addition to an a la carte menu in our restaurant and lighter breakfast options in our lounge. We thank you for your feedback with regards to charging for Internet and can assure you that this is being reviewed by our Senior Management Team in the near future. We do hope to welcome you back to The Shelbourne in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you be planning a trip back to Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    429
    201
    73
    37
See reviews for
365
871
68
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great hotel, efficient staff and a wonderful bar. Am torn between staying here or The Merrion when in Dublin!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoy our staff service, bar and overall hotel style and history when staying in Dublin. I do hope to be welcoming you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning a future visit.

Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

great stay over st Patricks day.

Breakfast pretty good and the hotel is spcious and has good bars

only thing was we seemed to keep getting a cot put in the room, but saw the funny side of it all the time. Would def. stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Shelbourne Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that beyond our excellent location you have as well enjoyed the services of our hotel. Please apologize for any inconvenience with the cot, we have investigated this issue further and a occurred due to a miscommunication. We are always so delighted to hear when our guests plan on returning. We await your return and look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This may be the first time I gush about a hotel, but this is the closest to a perfect hotel experience that I have ever had. I booked the room for a Saturday night, March 3, 2012. I had reserved the hotel online, trying to get a nice hotel at a reasonable price. Sometimes, when you show up at a four or five star hotel with an online reservation, you are treated like some other hotel's leftovers, given a small room near the ice machine or worse. This was absolutely NOT the case with the Shelbourne. As we left our cab a bellman was at our side taking our bags. We entered one of the most beautiful lobbies I have seen in awhile. There were at least two fireplaces, marble and amazing chandeliers. I am American and many of our four and five star hotels have the same sterile business look in their lobbies. Not so here. There were two seating areas, a tea room (with a dress code to complement its antique furniture), a bar facing the street (No. 27 with a full menu and music on Friday and Saturday nights and was open every time we saw it), and a second more intimate bar open in the evenings. They also have a spectacular restaurant, the Saddle Room. Oh yes, I almost forgot...it has a small museum as well, as it is one of Dublin's landmark hotels. All of this is on the first floor. A dramatic staircase leads to a large conference room for catered events such as weddings.

The Bellman escorted to the check-in desk where the manager was both cordial and professional. He explained that our room had been upgraded for the evening so it was a bit bigger than was stated on our reservation. (This is another thing I like about this hotel is that it actually tells you in advance the size of the room prior to arrival--no surprises.) A bigger room, no problem! The hotel, considered the number one hotel in Dublin, has eight floors, 243 rooms, and 19 suites (these have a private elevator). It has a work-out room and promises a spa this summer. Additionally, you can hire a genealogy butler for one hour who will help you trace your Irish ancestors for a mere 100 pounds. That seemed intriguing to me.

The room, on the fifth floor, was as advertised meaning it actually looked like the photos on the hotel's website. The view wasn't so great, but we didn't really care and we didn't lack for anything. The room was quiet at all times with no extraneous hallway or neighboring TVs noise entering our room. The king size bed had a firm mattress with fabulous pillows from Germany. I don't know what they were stuffed with, but they were neither to hard nor too soft/thin. A down comforter covered the bed. We were given four pillows and allowed more if needed. The lighting consisted of several well placed lamps by the bed and TV so you could adjust it as needed. The TV was a bit small, about 36-inch diameter, but we didn't watch much TV. Channel selection should please most from the US or Europe. We were given a hair dryer, robes with slippers, and even an umbrella lest we forgot ours (after all it is Ireland!). The bathroom was a light marble with a full bathtub and shower. The shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion were well chosen. Don't be fooled by the soap advertising it will give you "zest"...it is not Zest soap from the US which dries my skin out quickly. No it is a wonderful moisture soap without any harsh ingredients.
The next morning we decided to have breakfast at the hotel. My only regret was that I had not included breakfast in my room rate as Sunday breakfast is expensive (28 pounds per person for the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen). You can order items separately (pancakes, juice, coffee, omelet, Eggs Benedict) as well. But, since everything is charged ala carte, you are better served going with the buffet. Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, puddings, cheese, omelets made-to-order, cereals of all kinds, granola, juice, and bacon are just some of the items I remember. If you look at the pictures of the restaurant, we sat in the booth with the gold upholstery. It was clean and comfortable.

The Shelbourne's is located next to St. Stephens park, which puts you within walking distance of just about everything there is to do in Dublin. This includes Grafton Street, the park itself, Trinity University, and Temple Bar Area. You should know, however, that the city locks the gates of the park about 6 pm in the evening. What a concept! Not sure how I feel about it. For those places a bit too far to walk such as the Guiness or Jameson tours, a cab stand is right outside the hotel.

When it came time to leave, check-out was effortless. You can view charges in your room and everyone at the desk took time to explain bills to patrons. The desk clerks even seemed to know several of the guests by name. We hated to leave. The last thing I considered as we left the hotel was how well trained and friendly the staff was. This hotel should be used as the benchmark of what a hotel should be.

Room Tip: Take into account the room size provided when you are selecting your room. The rooms are all nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments and for sharing in detail your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is with great pleasure to hear that your stay was so memorable and your room was comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin for 1 night in Feb 2012. We were in Dublin to watch the Ireland v Italy 6 Nations Rugby with my Wife and 3 primary school age children. We were a bit apprehensive of staying in Dublin over such a busy weekend based on previous experiences at other 5* hotels in recent years. However this was probably one of the best hotel stays that we have ever experienced (& I spend over 50 nights per year in hotels).

On arrival we were met by the doorman and valet parking who sorted out our luggage and car. The doorman was very friendly and explained that the Irish Rugby team was staying at the hotel & we could meet them in 30 minutes (this was a real suprise). Checkin was very efficient and friendly with complentary cookies to please the kids, as a Marriott Gold cardholder we also got complementary drinks vouchers and free full Irish Breakfast.

Our room was a larger park view with 2 double beds and a massive marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. After checking out the room we made our way back to the foyer which at this stage was getting quite crowded with Irish Rugby supporters. The hotel staff were very plesant and made sure that residents were in the best position to meet the team frist before allowing members of the public in. We met the Irish Rugby team and walked the 25 mins to the Aviva stadium while my wife and Daughter walked 2 minutes to Grafton Street for some retail therapy.

After he game we all met up and had dinner in 'Fire' restraunt around the corner on Dawson Street. We had a great nights sleep in the room and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. There was no wait for a table (even though the hotel was fully booked), the food was hot and tasty and the waiter was very friendly and helpful. We got a late checkout to 4pm and stayed for afternoon tea which is very relaxing.

In general the staff at this hotel are probably the most attentive & friendly team that I have encountered in my many hotel stays and by far better than ANY other hotel in Dublin (or Ireland for that matter). I would like to thank the hotel staff for making a special weekend even more special and memorable.

Room Tip: Get a larger room on a high floor with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience at our hotel. We are delighted that your stay was so memorable and you enjoyed the vibrant atmosphere throughout the hotel during the Rugby Weekend. We await your return and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for rugby weekend.. Ireland v Scotland.

Staff cannot do enough for you very friendly and accommodating.

Overall experience was brilliant i cannt find anything to complain about.

Breakfast selection was perfect with a wide range if foods for everybody.

Will definitely return on my next stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for sharing your impression with all of us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our ideal location during the Rugby Weekend. We are thrilled to hear that you will be returning to us during your next stay in Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Decided to stay over in Dublin for the night after going to see a show in the Gaiety Theatre, so as a treat we booked into The Shelbourne, which is well known for being a splendorous hotel. When we arrived we were warmly wellcomed and shown every courtesy, but without being harassed by a concierge or bellboy. Check-in was very quick and we were seen straight away, but we were fairly late arriving.

The room itself was small, but very comfortable and well finished, the bed was probably one of the most comfortable i've encountered in my travels. The room was air conditioned and was easy to set to suit your preference. Once again, hotel with cork screw in room (excellent!).

Later on, had drinks in the members bar which was very comfortable and good service. The next morning we went to breakfast, which was not restricted to rediculous hours. Breakfast was a buffet of hot or cold breakfast, which were fresh and pretty good. No complaints there.

All told it was a great stay and it realy felt like a treat.

Only complaints I have is that it was fairly expensive, but not rediculous; and hotel parking was too expensive to be use, and there is much cheaper parking at St. Stephen Green.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for sharing your impression with all of us. We are delighted that you enjoyed a perfect weekend getaway at our hotel. We thank you once again for your feedback with regards to our car parking charges. We currently offer overnight Valet Service for car parking, which allows the guests the flexibility of retrieving their car throughout their stay and also leaving the car in the car park for longer on departure day should they wish to store their luggage and depart later in the afternoon. In addition to paying separately for car parking, we also currently offer a Park and Play Package (depending upon availability), which includes bed and breakfast and car parking at one fixed price. We do hope to be welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the near future and thank you once again for your comments.
Kind Regards,
Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.