We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea Delights!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

A few of my friends and I recently had the most amazing champagne afternoon tea in the shelbourne. It was an absolute treat for my girls day out before our wedding... not a typically boozed up crowd. We were treated very well and we had the most gorgeous sophisticated girly afternoon. It was just perfect. the hotel were very welcoming and even brought out an extra plate of bite sized treats after our tea and fizz for the special occasion.
Thank you to all the staff at the shelbourne!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful comments. Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our Champagne Afternoon Tea.

We are so thankful you chose The Shelbourne Hotel to celebrate your “girls day” and the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future.

Best of luck for your forthcoming wedding.

Warmest Regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    429
    198
    71
    38
See reviews for
363
868
68
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

All the details of luxury in the reviews are accurate. For me its all about service and this place is outstanding. 1st class all the way, conceirge is great - got us pointed in the right direction on our first day in Dublin. On checkout day, they stored our bags well into the evening while we toured the city before our 8PM train. Great place, perfect location - we were able to walk virtually everything. Well worth extra $ to stay at this hotel - and you can redeem Marriott points as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valued feedback about your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the service provided and the centralized location of the hotel.

As a Renaissance Hotel, we are delighted to extend our usual warm welcome to Marriott loyalty members.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again sometime soon.

With best regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Cannot fault it

Sumptuous room, comfiest bed ever, luxury linens

Close to tourist attractions

Old fashioned charm and sophistication

Highly recommended

Stayed Nov 2008

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us.

We really value guest feedback here at the Shelbourne Hotel so it is always so nice to hear such positive remarks. We are so thrilled you enjoyed the comfort of your room.

The ultimate compliment is a recommendation to others; thank you!

We look forward to having you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our trip to Ireland. We took an overnight flight from the US that landed us in Ireland at 5am the following morning. The Shelbourne was more than accommodating, and had a room ready for us by 9am (despite check-in being at 3pm). The room was spacious and clean, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was absolutely insane. So much food! We picked at the items offered in the continental buffet, and each ordered a cheese omelette. It was probably the best omelette I've ever had. The location of the hotel was perfect for going out an exploring Dublin. St. Stephen's Green makes for a peaceful walk to begin/end the day, Temple Bar is a short walk away, and Trinity College is right up the road. The only downside is that the "gym" is tiny. (Although most folks probably don't worry about working out while on vacation!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent stay in Dublin and providing us with your feedback. We are thrilled that beyond our excellent location you have as well enjoyed the services of our hotel and employees.

Regarding our comment on our current fitness rooms, I am delighted to inform you that a new Spa opening in the late spring of 2012 will include a modern fitness facilities and a swimming pool.

We look forward to having you back again soon in the near future!

With warm regards from the team,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobh, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed for a weekend in September. The foyer, bar, restaurant, breakfast and staff were all top class. The room itself however, meh! A small 3-star room in a 5-star hotel. No tea/coffee facility, no bath. Nothing remarkable at all about the room. Pity, as everything else was top class.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and our staff. We truly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

In relation to your comment about the lack of tea and coffee facilities in the room, please be advised that we have gladly taken our guest reviews into consideration and all our rooms are now equipped with complimentary tea and coffee facilities.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

As soon as I arrived at The Shelbourne I knew it was going to be perfect for our visit to Dublin. The welcome from the moment we arrived at the front steps was the best I've experienced. The staff are so friendly, the rooms are so clean, spacious and comfortable, it really is a 5 Star hotel that lives up to its 5Star designation.

As for the location, I don't think there could possibly be a better located hotel within any city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words! It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so.


It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back shortly!

Warmest Regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

As soon as I walked into The Shelbourne I felt I was in a classy hotel. It is a five star hotel and feels like it too, my room was as you'd expect spacious and clean with all the facilities you require, I even had an umbrella in the room to use in case the weather wasn't too good.

The hotel is only a couple of minutes stroll away from the shops on Grafton Street, and there is also the St Stephen's Green Shopping Centre if you prefer to shop in an arcade.
The weather was good whilst I was in Dublin so it was handy to be able to cross the road and enjoy a walk on St Stephen's Green which is just across the road from The Shebourne.

I've stayed in Dublin on many occasions and although this was probably the most i've ever spent on a hotel, the saying you only get what you pay for has never been more true, although I skipped the full Irish breakfast of EUR32 and found a decent pub for a quarter of the price!

Room Tip: Try for an executive room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of your room and our excellent location.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again sometime soon.

With best regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.