We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely looking hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Leeson Street, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #51 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely looking hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for three nights on a business trip. Very imposing building in a nice area of Dublin - easy to find - €6 in a taxi from Connolly Station on a Tuesday afternoon.

Very cool, modern lobby area with a chic bar and a small snack stand. The lifts were being serviced during my visit so there was a bit of a wait sometimes as the hotel was very full, but the buzz was exciting and entertaining. On my first night I had been given a room on the car park side of the building. The room was very modern, clean with a clean, functional bathroom if a bit soulless. The WiFi was great and the TV very impressive. There was no a/c though and the windows opened only a fraction, I found it quite uncomfortable - but it was an unusually warm week and I thought I'd just get on with it.

I left the window open and went to bed. I eventually got off to sleep only to be awakened at 0425 by at least 2 locals using their outside voices to full, colourful effect and apparently loading bowling balls into a lorry filled with corrugated tin sheets! After 25 minutes they were just wrapping up when another lorry arrived and sat idling while loading large aluminium catering boxes. I pressed the 24hrs help button on the phone and registered my desire to change room in the morning.

My room was changed with no hassle whatsoever the next day, and apologies from very helpful reception staff. Same level, other side of the hotel - exact same room but looking into the centre of the complex over a rather ugly industrial roof, but quiet! Same heat, same very restricted window opening but clean and handy for the lift. One other gripe might be that the bedroom doors all close with a bang that echoes in the corridor.

The breakfast was wonderful and endlessly restocked with everything you could ask for, the health suite was great and easily accessible from the lift. The staff were all very helpful, polite and professional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park. Bring a small fan! Don't be shy about approaching the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    370
    133
    52
    20
See reviews for
94
259
42
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helen, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a very nice comfortable stay after five days of touring Ireland by car and staying at B&Bs. Large rooms, big beds, big TV. We had fairly nice view towards City Center, but nothing spectacular. All remodeling other complained about seems to be done and the hotel was very busy, but not noisy. It was an easy walk into City Center… about six blocks or a half a mile. If you are looking for a real taste of Dublin, this is not really the place, but it was very comfortable and up to date and we were ready for that after being on the road. We did not eat at the restaurant, but walked to near by pubs. This was the most expensive place we stayed during our trip but it was the last two nights before our flight and there was lots of room to pack our bags and get ready for the return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing City Center get full sun in the afternoons, so the rooms do get warm. This was the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Recently refurb rooms and lobby area are very nice and everything is of a high quality-beds are very comfortable too. Cool bar area with lots of power points for working. Staff are very friendly in general. Last 2 stays have had some issues though. First time, the a/c in the room on 7th floor was unbearably noisy, resulting in a room change-good to get the room change but it's a nuisance after a long flight and the issue must have been flagged before. Second visit the room didn't have a/c and the weather was v warm. Room changed again to one with a/c but again a nuisance. Recently switched from Starwood for Dublin stays due to location of the Doubletree but 2 moves in last 2 stays is making me rethink.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel looks fantastic inside, you can really tell a lot of work has taken place since the takeover. The bar is brilliant and has a really good atmosphere, although we never ate in it, the food looked lovely. The only downside to the hotel is the room had no aircon and we had to leave the window open all night. Thus being the case, the exit barrier at the hotel front made a bleeping noise when in use and this went on through the night which woke my partner and I up a few times. Apart from this incident, the Burlington is a really good hotel in a beautiful part of Dublin and the walk from the hotel to St Stephens green is amazing!! Especially in a warm summers day!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of spending 2 days in Dublin on a business trip and was very pleasantly surprised to arrive at this Doubletree by Hilton property.
A big and posh lobby. A huge bar with lots of TV screens (world cup was on) and Guiness beer on draft.
Nice, typical Hilton bedrooms.
But I was there during one of those very rare occasions that it's actually warm in Dublin. My room was facing west and had the sun shining on the big window in late afternoon. The room was really hot. The airconditioning did the job, but was extremely noisy. I mean, noisy like the noise level of a thunderstorm. Very disturbing at night.
Probably many rooms don't have this problem. But mine had and it cost me lots of sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We were very disappointed to hear that your guestroom air-conditioning disturbed your sleep. I would be most grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay so that our engineering team may investigate this matter.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is very busy....if you like people watching then this is the place to be. I stayed overnight recently on business and as a Hilton Honours customer got a very nice room on the 5th floor with water included.

Breakfast really let the hotel down as it wasn't appetising and seems to comprise cheaply sourced ingredients. I hardly ate as nothing tempted me which is unusual.

The bar was nice for a drink in the evening if a little loud.

All in all I had a good stay and probably will be back as the location is ideal for walking into town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We couldn’t agree with you more the Hotel Lobby Lounge is an excellent place for people watching or event to enjoy a book from our library over a coffee.

We were very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with our Hotel Breakfast as this is very often a highlight for other guests. We are eager to review the items which you sampled and I would be most grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week. Our room had no air conditioning. We could only find three restaurants near this hotel, all of which we're full. We resorted to bringing a pizza back to the room. Sorry we didn't stay in a more central location. On a positive note the breakfast was good. I think this hotel is geared more for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and photos of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We were disappointed to hear that you did not find the Hotel to be a convenient location for evening dinning. There are approximately five restaurants within 2-5 minute walk of the Hotel, it was unfortunate that all the restaurant directly beside the Hotel were fully booked at the time Alternatively, the Hotels B Bar offers a full menu served until 10.00pm daily. There are also a number of restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the Hotel in the Baggot Street area.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road

Address: Upper Leeson Street, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#41 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an enviable location minutes from Dublin's city center, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road offers luxurious accommodation, modern facilities and a warm welcome in the heart of Dublin's leafy southside. The RDS and the Aviva Stadium, home to international exhibitions and sporting events, are moments away, while other Dublin attractions, including Croke Park and the O2 Arena are just a short drive from this Dublin hotel. Unwind in a stylish guest room with a variety of thoughtful touches and amenities, including a spacious work desk, crisp linens and fluffy white towels. Watch 24-hour sports and news channels on the TV and check emails with complimentary WiFi. As one of Dublin's most popular conference centers, with a dedicated business floor, an impressive 1200 sq. Metre ballroom and a wealth of events facilities, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road is the ideal venue for a spectacular conference. Work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring the very latest equipment and wonderful views over Dublin. Meet with colleagues to enjoy pre-dinner cocktails before savouring contemporary dishes, prepared using locally sourced ingredients in our in the chic B Bar. Highlights •Upscale hotel in Dublin's southside, minutes from the city center •Within walking distance of the RDS and the Aviva Stadium and near many Dublin attractions •Conference Center with 1400 delegate capacity, 18 meeting rooms and a 1200 sq. Metre ballroom •501 elegant guest rooms and suites, all offering complimentary WiFi •Complimentary fitness center onsite What to do around here The cosmopolitan city of Dublin boasts a unique atmosphere, offering the perfect blend of traditional charm and contemporary innovation. From world-class sports stadiums to literary festivals, leafy parks to vibrant nightlife, Ireland's capital city has it all. The hotel is minutes from the Aviva Stadium - tour the stadium or catch a game of rugby while you're in town. Experience Dublin's legendary nightlife and stop for a Guinness in the world famous Temple Bar. Enjoy an international comedy show or concert at The Bord Gais Energy Theatre, admire the show jumpers at The Dublin Horse Show and browse the boutiques and designer stores on Grafton Street. Spend a sunny afternoon exploring the historic landscape of Phoenix Park, home to many varieties of trees, wildlife habitats and Dublin Zoo and pay homage to some of Ireland's literary masters on a Dublin Literary Pub Crawl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.