We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short business trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Leeson Street, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Short business trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

One night stay for business. I knew some renovation work going on and this was not too disruptive.

Because I had a meeting early in the morning I requested a late check out and was given until 1.00pm. I then decided to check out early in the morning and just store my bag at the hotel. The meeting was concluded quickly and I returned to the hotel. When I requested access to the lounge (which was included with my room rate) I was given a new key to my room as it had not been made up and still allowed to use it until 1.00pm.
All the front desk staff and the concierge were very helpful and friendly and should be congratulated by the management.
I am a regular business traveller and this was my second stay in a Doubletree,I am very pleased with what the chain offers.

Room Tip: Lounge access is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a five star review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services in the hotel whilst with us on Business. Thank you for your very kind words about our front desk team and how they accommodated you during your recent stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Warm Regards,

Jane Igoe

Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    370
    133
    51
    20
See reviews for
94
258
42
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Very convenient location. Hotel undergoing renovation so on-site parking is limited, but there was plenty of (free) parking on the streets around the hotel at the weekend. Lovely room, recently refurbished, and good breakfast. Overall excellent value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great time while visiting us recently and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that our locations was a bonus for you; it is an easy journey to the Hotel from the airport and for exploring Dublin as we are well serviced by most public transport services and only a 15 minute walk to the city centre.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

From the outside this looks more Beirut than Ballsbridge at present. The car parks are being redone and the whole entrance area is getting a makeover. These alterations will be completed soon.

Once inside though, it’s a different story. The exterior gives no hint of the cool contemporary décor once inside. The whole place has had a refit and the guestrooms and public areas are lovely. The bar area is especially attractive, with its clever lighting, central counter and overhead TV monitors.
The space in the dining room makes for an relaxed feel. I liked the cookbooks display on the room divider and the use of mirrors everywhere. The breakfast range was attractively set out and managed.

The guestrooms are better than average with nice little design touches. We liked the concealed multi socket on the desk and the spacious drawer safe, big enough to take a laptop. As a poor sleeper I appreciated the individual reading lights by the bed. The bathroom was immaculate and had that mist resist section on the mirror, which is always a useful feature.

Warm cookies on check in were a welcoming touch, as was the complimentary bottled water in the room.
We really liked this hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great time while visiting us recently and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that our refurbishment and newly installed design features in guest areas and guestrooms impressed you so much.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Visited the hotel in the summer and was very disappointed. I wasn't informed of renovations in hotel when booking my appointment - a week previous to my stay. I was woken up at 6.30 am each morning by drilling which literally felt like it was coming from the room next door even thought we were three floors above the source of the noise. I understand there were renovations going on but firstly we should have been notified when we booked and secondly it should be illegal for any source of Accomadation, premium or not to expose paying guests to such noise before 11am never mind 6.30am. Staff did not make any significant apology for noise after we complained three times apart from "ya sorry about that", which had to be roared over the noise in the reception area.

Food was dull and tasted as if it had been reheated.
Don't expect a lot in terms of views from this hotel - horrible to say the least. Will not be returning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your visit. There have been many improvements made to the Hotel in the six months since your last visit.

Following a recent €16m investment in an extensive refurbishment program, the following areas of the Hotel are now completely refurbished; Lobby Lounge, Sussex Restaurant, Hotel Bar, Executive Lounge, all 18 meeting rooms and all ground floor banqueting areas in the building and 350 bedrooms.
There have also been many changes to the dining options in the Hotel with new menus available at Breakfast, The Lobby Lounge and the Hotels Bar.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are visiting DoubleTree Dublin and I will ensure you are well looked after. My contact email address is jane.igoe@hilton.com

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The room and facilities weree great just as we had expected however the extrernal infrastructure was in " building mode " Parking at the hotel was impossible reaching the door with luggage in the car impossible and nil assistance from any staff to aleviate the problems I wish they had told us when I rang to book that this was the case as I certainly would not have booked it. it made for a VERY frustrating trip

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit, I understand your disappointment regarding the disruption caused by the final refurbishment works taking place at the Hotel and in the Hotel Car Park.

Notice is provided on both our Hotel Website and our direct booking pages. The refurbishment is scheduled to be fully completed in the coming weeks.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are visiting DoubleTree Dublin and I will ensure you are well looked after. My contact email address is jane.igoe@hilton.com

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Despite the name over the door, most Irish people still refer to this hotel as the Burlington!. It the last few years the standards had dropped however it is great to see a big investment being made to bring this hotel back to its former glory. Rooms redecorated, public areas all revamped and a completely new, fully equipped gym. Excellent location for matches in the Aviva or for visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are all delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the refurbished areas of the Hotel during your recent stay. Following a recent €16m investment in an extensive refurbishment program, the following areas of the Hotel are now completely refurbished; Lobby Lounge, Sussex Restaurant, Hotel Bar, Executive Lounge, all 18 meeting rooms and all ground floor banqueting areas in the building and 350 bedrooms.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

David Monks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My partner and I stayed here as part of a 3 night break. As we were booking we were aware hotel is going through refurbishments, please do not let this put you off ad staff try very hard to minimise this. (finishing March 2014).

Pros
Extremely polite & helpful staff
Good sized comfortable rooms
Stunning bar and lobby area
Walkable distance from city center (15mins)
Airport bus drop off right outside hotel
Taxi rank right outside hotel.
Local bus network right outside hotel tskes you to attractions such as Guinness factory etc.
Drinks & beverages within hotel reasonable compared to other Dublin restaurants.

Cons
In quiter area lack of nearby shops/restaurants.
Building work (staff try hard to minimise this but on one occasion building work began at 7.30am.

Overall great hotel and service only reason I haven't awarded 5* is simply because of building work. However even with current building work id would still return and recommend to others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see so many ‘Pros’ listed on your review!

As you have stated the Hotel is within a 15 minute walk from the City Centre and all other major attractions are serviced by public transport services close to the Hotel. Our Concierge Team are always on hand to assist guests with directions or advise on shopping and dining in the city.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future when all refurbishment works are completed for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road

Address: Upper Leeson Street, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an enviable location minutes from Dublin's city center, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road offers luxurious accommodation, modern facilities and a warm welcome in the heart of Dublin's leafy southside. The RDS and the Aviva Stadium, home to international exhibitions and sporting events, are moments away, while other Dublin attractions, including Croke Park and the O2 Arena are just a short drive from this Dublin hotel. Unwind in a stylish guest room with a variety of thoughtful touches and amenities, including a spacious work desk, crisp linens and fluffy white towels. Watch 24-hour sports and news channels on the TV and check emails with complimentary WiFi. As one of Dublin's most popular conference centers, with a dedicated business floor, an impressive 1200 sq. Metre ballroom and a wealth of events facilities, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road is the ideal venue for a spectacular conference. Work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring the very latest equipment and wonderful views over Dublin. Meet with colleagues to enjoy pre-dinner cocktails before savouring contemporary dishes, prepared using locally sourced ingredients in our in the chic B Bar. Highlights •Upscale hotel in Dublin's southside, minutes from the city center •Within walking distance of the RDS and the Aviva Stadium and near many Dublin attractions •Conference Center with 1400 delegate capacity, 18 meeting rooms and a 1200 sq. Metre ballroom •501 elegant guest rooms and suites, all offering complimentary WiFi •Complimentary fitness center onsite What to do around here The cosmopolitan city of Dublin boasts a unique atmosphere, offering the perfect blend of traditional charm and contemporary innovation. From world-class sports stadiums to literary festivals, leafy parks to vibrant nightlife, Ireland's capital city has it all. The hotel is minutes from the Aviva Stadium - tour the stadium or catch a game of rugby while you're in town. Experience Dublin's legendary nightlife and stop for a Guinness in the world famous Temple Bar. Enjoy an international comedy show or concert at The Bord Gais Energy Theatre, admire the show jumpers at The Dublin Horse Show and browse the boutiques and designer stores on Grafton Street. Spend a sunny afternoon exploring the historic landscape of Phoenix Park, home to many varieties of trees, wildlife habitats and Dublin Zoo and pay homage to some of Ireland's literary masters on a Dublin Literary Pub Crawl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.