We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarence to your Saves list
The Clarence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

Just returned from Dublin and had a great stay at The Clarence. Conceirge was great and extremely helpful. They were child friendly as they left a donkey for her on her bed. Beds and pillows were comfortable, as we have found that this isn't always the case when traveling Europe! Room was adequate size, however bathtub could have been a bit cleaner. This is an old hotel and has been maintained. Great stay, would stay again.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    199
    138
    81
    72
See reviews for
83
324
41
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

Pleasant stay. Rooms absolutely tiny but lovely decor and nice little extras. Breakfast gorgeous if a bit OTT on the service - bit formal for me. Staff were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to help. We went into the bar at lunchtime and found it to be lacking in atmosphere. Location is very central.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

Boyfriend booked a surprise weekend in Dublin. We arrived v early, room wasn't ready so we had a hearty Irish breakfast at the Tea Room (hotel restaurant). Bedroom is contemporary, with huge comfy bed, a small balcony and a slightly tired-looking bathroom (cracked tiles on floor), but good Contemporel amenities and purple slippers. The only glitch during our stay was they had a problem with the boiler round 6pm Saturday so no hot water (apparently due to high demand all at the same time). However the hot water resumed shortly after (and the Front Desk again apologized about this upon our checked out).

Whad already booked the The Tea Room for dinner (which is well known for the food in its own right) but wanted an alternative. The concierge (Renaud?) was efficient and helpful with suggestions & booking (and patient to our indecisiveness!). We ended up dining at the hotel as it was cold & windy outside. Great decision, the food was outstanding, novelty home-made bread, original menu using the freshest ingredients, and great service.

We had the best night sleep in ages and woke up late in time for brunch. Again the concierge was right on the ball and recommended Gallagher's (5 mins walk from hotel) for traditional Irish food. Our flight was 9pm so the Concerige suggested doing the city bus tour & the Guiness factory (a must! Especially the Gravity bar on top floor which has a 360 degrees view of Dublin). After a day of sightseeing, we went back to the Clarence for tea before our flight, and had delicious bar snacks (amazing chicken wings and Clarence chips at the Octagon Bar. Then they called us a cab to the airport.

We had drinks on Sat at the Morrisons- very cool & trendy hotel, and looks newer than the Clarence however we were very happy with our stay at the Clarence and can't recommend the restaurant highly enough!

  • Liked — Top concierge service, outstanding restaurant, the very comfortable bed!
  • Disliked — Cracked tile in bathroom, boiler breakdown
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

A few days away from home, mid july 2006...very friendly staff.
The exceptional service and the delicious food. Classy Oxagone bar, that has some surprisingly very tasty cocktails.

Very discrete personel. Excellent restaurant. Expensive indeed but worth every eurocent. Nice rooms too.

Bumped into Antony Kiedis (Red Hot Chili Peppers'singer and quite a cheeky littke guy ! ) and had breakfast with Ben Harper.

Too bad the weather was a bit of a downer (raining most of the time..), but Dublin was a great experience.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

I don't get why all the complaints! Surely all city breaks will have some traffic noise and Dublin is no exception. Our room had a beautiful view over the Liffey and for that we had to put up with traffic noise but it was worth it.

The staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant, felt a little uncomfortable in communal areas due to the high profile guest staying in the penthouse suite, the place was crawling with bodyguards. Nothing worse than having some Steven Segal type staring at you whilst you are tucking into your Afternoon Tea - which I must add is highly recommended!

The Octagon bar was great too - nice atmosphere and generally a classy clientel except for the wierdo who left his backpak unattended in there and sent the Steven Segal types into full protection mode, talking into their sleeves and about to evacuate the room. Same wierdo later smashed the big beautiful mirror in the bar with a glass tea light holder - toooo much guinness perhaps.

Loved this hotel - it was priceless!!!!!

  • Liked — The interactive music on the TV - excellent choice and location on Temple Bar
  • Disliked — Housekeeping not especially attentive
  • Tips/Secrets — Fab little American Cafe a few doors down (at the back) does pancakes, syrup and bacon for breakfast for under €5
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

We stayed here the first weekend in December and had a very lovely time. The room was simple yet luxurious and the bathroom was fantastic. One point to grumble about is that we emailed the hotel asking for a room on a high floor to avoid the Temple Bar noise, and also asking if the room could face the Liffey. We got a quick reply saying they had acknowledged the request and added it to our details. On arrival though, there was no recollection of this request and we ended up in a room on the lowest floor and overlooking the noisy temple bar street below! It was not a massive problem to us as we were so tired the first night we slept right through the street noise, and the second night we were out amongst it until 2am in the morning!! The Temple Bar pub is a must for a good night out.

Another minor grumble was we had emailed the hotel to ask if there were any of their special 2 night packages left that included an evenings dining in the Tea Room restaurant as we wanted to dine there on one of our nights. They replied to say that they had no packages available but did not suggest we book the table prior to arrival. When we did arrive, the restaurant was fully booked, and had been for weeks. We found ourselves wandering around Temple Bar from restaurant to restaurant looking for a nice restaurant to eat in, all of them were fully booked, weeks in advance. We ended up back at the Clarence at 9.30pm and called in to the Tea Room on the off chance of there being a cancellation, which there miraculously was! We had the finest meal anyone could imagine with complementary pink champagne as we were guests.

A point of recommendation, book the table in advance and take something smart to wear as I felt a little underdressed in my smart Jeans and blouse. This might have been simply because it was Christmas party season.

Aside from the minor grumbles, the location of the hotel is great and the staff were very friendly. I am not sure we would return to the Clarence as there are so many hotels in Dublin to choose from and we feel we could get more for our money, e.g. at least get tea making facilities in the rooms for the price we paid!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No tea/coffee facilities in the rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2006

Perfect location. Friendly staff, took care of all our little quirky requests. Food is fantastic and the Octagon bar ( onsite) is just perfect for a drink to finish off the day. LOVE the bright purple drapes and beds / white walls/ simple moldings- very refreshing when travelling. Well-appointed bathrooms too.

  • Liked — refreshing
  • Disliked — smallish rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Dublin's premier boutique hotel located in the heart of the city, on the banks of the River Liffey just a stone's throw from the famous Ha'penny Bridge. Our hotel is a proud reflection of 21st century Ireland, simple and elegant, a contemporary aesthetic that embodies the very best of Irish hospitality. The Clarence first opened its doors in 1852. The hotel was refurbished in the 1930's and hosted an eclectic clientele, from visiting clergymen to bawdy musicians. The tired two-star stopover was bought by Bono and The Edge in 1992 and transformed into a contemporary boutique hotel, the kind of place that they would choose to stay themselves, if visitors to Dublin city. Their new Clarence Hotel opened in June 1996. Our hotel is located within short walking distance of a myriad of Dublin city experiences to suit all tastes: from Michelin star Irish restaurants to cool indie coffee bars; big brand shopping on Grafton Street to cutting edge Irish designwear around Temple Bar, George's Street and South William Street; theatres such as the world famous Abbey as well as contemporary venues such as the Project Arts Centre and the New Theatre. Catch a huge international band at The Olympia or discover some brand new Irish rock music in The Workman's Club. Dublin's biggest nightclubs are just a stroll away, from the opulent and exclusive Madison Nightclub to the fun filled party vibe of Everleigh Gardens. Cultural Dublin awaits guests at The Clarence: Trinity College, The Guinness Storehouse, The James Joyce Centre, Dublinia, The Natural History Museum and so much more. With 50 bedrooms and suites to choose from, as well as our spectacular Penthouse Suites, The Clarence offers luxurious and stylish accommodation in the heart of it all. Within the hotel complex, guests can enjoy a number of dining and bar areas - The Study and The Octagon Bar in the hotel itself, as well as Cleaver East restaurant on the ground floor and The Liquor Rooms underneath the hotel. We also provide 24 hour room service and many added comforts for our guests to enjoy. The Clarence is the perfect location for a stylish, modern city centre wedding or civil ceremony and our dedicated team will provide every assistance in arranging your beautiful day in one of our many spaces.Our front facing function rooms and suites offer privacy and understated elegance overlooking The Liffey. We have all the facilities needed to host your event, from large conferences to intimate meetings. Our events team will assist from start to finish. From fun weekends to romantic getaways, family gatherings to solo business trips, a warm welcome, a luxurious room and superior service awaits you at The Clarence Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.