We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms but not very plush for the price. Awful breakfast service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarence to your Saves list
The Clarence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms but not very plush for the price. Awful breakfast service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Location is great for shopping, sightseeing and night life. Bedrooms were very nice and clean though showing some signs of wear and tear. Reception/lounge area is really sparse - and not in a minimalist kind of way though that may have been what they were aiming for. It just looked cheap so I was pleasantly surprised by the bedroom. Staff at reception (including the porters) were lovely.
Breakfast was a bit of a disaster. Waiting staff were very nice but also very incompetent. We waiting 45 minutes for our breakfast to come from the kitchen and had to follow up to ensure we got it. The buffet style set-up for cereals and juice looked awful with dirty cups etc on the table and a really basic display (actually reminded me of a youth hostel/cheap hotel scenario). We were put sitting at a table with half a place setting each (I got a spoon, my friend got a knife) so we had to steal the place settings from another table. Worst of all the tea and coffee came from a catering style thermus flask thing on the buffet and both were awful and not hot enough. How much work is it to freshly boil some water for tea or at least have a source of hot water available so people can make their own? Someone really needs to manage the breakfast service and not leave it up to the very junior staff who seemed to think their duties began and ended with taking the order. They werent a bit concerned when guests are sitting there with no food.
In a nutshell, good location, nice room, skip breakfast. Its a no frills establishment but charges prices likes its more.

Room Tip: Stay here for location but skip breakfast. A no frills hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    197
    137
    81
    72
See reviews for
83
323
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Noise Noise Noise! We stayed 2 nights.

The good stuff first:
- the room & hotel were very very clean
- nice big bathroom, loved the double sinks and lighting
- the location is great
- the porter, Pablo, couldn't have been nicer
- check-in was quick and courteous
- complimentary newspapers each day delivered to our room
- good water pressure in the overbath shower

Next, the bad stuff:
- our room (2nd floor, at the back of the hotel) looked over the Workman's Club's busy outdoor drinking area (ironically, owned also by U2). The noise was spectacular, especially on Saturday night, even with the double glazing windows fully closed.
- our room also overlooked the hotel's air conditioning vents - ugly and also very very noisy - and faced the rear of a dilapidated redbrick building.
- no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. This for me is a really basic requirement. I rang down to reception, they advised that they could send up coffee for a charge of €7 + €5 tray charge. I asked for a kettle and coffee; reception ended up saying they would just send us up coffee with no tray charge. I rang again later and asked them to provide a kettle etc. We arrived back to our room later to find a kettle, a saucer with some teabags on it, and a jar of sugar lumps. No coffee, no milk! I gave up at this stage and my husband did a run to a nearby coffee shop on Sunday morning. Our final bill included the tray charge for the coffee they delivered to the room, but that charge was removed when we pointed it out.
- small, cheap, badly positioned TV in the room with slightly fuzzy picture
- clock radio in the room that only received a few stations and had very low sound
- no iron in the room
- no ipod dock
- no bathrobes provided - we had to request them
- small bath with chips in the enamel, not inviting or luxurious (and I love my hotel baths!)
- basic toiletries in the bathroom, and the shower gel wasn't replaced even though we had used it all. No cotton wool, facecloths, kits.
- toilet roll wasn't replaced - we ran out on our last morning!

This was supposed to be a Deluxe room. There was nothing deluxe about it! The bedlinen was fresh and smart, the room was clean, but basic.

We didn't eat in the hotel's Cleaver East Restaurant, had our brunches out in nearby restaurants, and never even sat in the lounge area as it was empty and pretty soulless despite having a nice real fire.

Overall, a very disappointing experience. I know a city centre hotel is going to be noisy and that's balanced by its location, but we weren't given any indication of how incredibly noisy our room was even with the double windows closed, or how grim the view was. How guests could sleep in the room during warm summer months is beyond me - there's no air-con, and leaving the windows open means 24 hour noise from the air con vent, and night-time serious decibel noise from the outdoor pub area next door. We turned off the radiator as the room was very warm, and realised that in addition to all the other noise, there was a lot of noise from the radiator too!

On check-out, we weren't asked how our stay was. There were no comment cards in the room.

Despite the noise I slept well, but that was aided by good wine with our meals out each night.
The Clarence should consider providing guests in those back rooms with complimentary wine / earplugs / sedatives. And discount the price.

[Apologies, the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool, but I can't unclick the rating for swimming pool]

Room Tip: Rooms facing over the Liffey might be quieter - avoid rooms to the rear overlooking the air-con vent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A truly enjoyable experience! The are so many wonderful attributes about The Clarence. First, the staff was wonderful. My luggage was lost and the front desk manager followed up with British Airways and made sure my bag was delivered to the hotel. Our room was fabulous. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of room to stretch out and relax. Great location! We wandered down to the Temple Bar neighborhood for dinner.

Regarding the price/value, I'm not sure it delivered. It was a fun splurge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I chose to stay here, Bed & Breakfast, for my boyfriends birthday, and as a special gift to us the "upgraded" our room to riverside view. The staff at reception was very pleasant (probably the best thing about this hotel) but our room was still a little disappointing. The hotel is rather dated with a lot of wood panelling that continues into the room. The room was neat and tidy with decent sized wardrobes and nice bathroom but all in all quite small. On arriving down to breakfast, just after half 10, (we were told breakfast finished at 11) the dining area was empty and staff looked unimpressed. After looking at the time, they agreed to serve us the breakfast I had already paid for, only to refuse a party of 4 minutes later, still before 11. This made me uncomfortable and made us feel rushed.
We then checked out only to realise I was being charged for the breakfast on top of what I had already paid. The man at reception, fixed the error and kindly offered to mind our bags while we had plans. However, I received a statement from the bank and was overcharged. Upon ringing the hotel, the man I spoke with stated it wasnt the breakfast I was being charged for... but a bottle of wine! We dont even drink wine! I would recommend checking all bills and statements if you plan on staying here as this wasnt even on my invoice from the clarence!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived quite early at 8am but we were booked right away into our room. They also upgraded us to a suite which was extremely helpful for our 1 yr old, she had more room to run around. The furnishings are straight forward and simple, bed was extremely comfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the quai so nice views. There's a street below which seems to be a major street but we were never bothered by street noise. We are city dwellers though so maybe we just don't notice. Used their babysitting services as well and had no problems with her.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just stayed there third week of September 2013. Hotel has big build up with little to back it up. Found reception area and Library very cold and unwelcoming. Room small and very hot and stuffy. Booked Deluxe Balcony Room with view of mountains. You have got to be kidding me. The view was of the rooftops of Temple Bar. The balcony was two feet wide with only one weather beaten wooden chair. Furniture in room old. TV only few channels although they state satellite channels are available. Had to leave windows open because of the warm weather and the disgusting smell of frying bacon and onions permeated the room from cafes below constantly. Ugh!! Never want to smell bacon again. Restaurant served tiny portions for which you had to wait an unacceptable length of time. Not any 4 star accommodation. Maybe a 3. It did seem clean. Manager seemed very nice. Head reception man was a bit on the uppity side. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Only stayed in "Deluxe Balcony room with mountain view" and this was very misleading. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were rather put off by the ghastly decor in the reception area - looked rather austere and like the entrance to my daughter's boading school - the ugliest light fittings I have ever seen!!! However up to the Third Floor and Room 303 and although furniture style is minimalist, presented us with a lovely suite overlooking the River LIffey. Well stocked bar fridge, large bathroom (with bidet) and an extremely comfortable king size bed contributed towards a most comfortable one night stay and a drawn out afternoon session at the temple bar. Room service was tempting after the hustle and bustle of the pubs. The the fish chowder was superb, however the fresh Irish soda bread and salmon we ordered did not materialise. Another call to the kitchen, resulted in the rest of our order. Impressed that our car was whisked away on arrival - just park outside the hotel entrance in the demarcated area (yellow lines seemed to be irrelevant !!) and on departure, the car arrived outside for us to drive away. Not terribly impressed with the breakfast. Do ask for a 'hospitality tray' - this was not made available however did not seem to present a problem. Kettle, cups (minus saucers!!!), sugar, tea pot and fresh jug of milk were brought up to our room at no extra charge. Would I stay again? Yes, same room and more chowder for sure. Lack of saucers did not matter.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have good view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Dublin's premier boutique hotel located in the heart of the city, on the banks of the River Liffey just a stone's throw from the famous Ha'penny Bridge. Our hotel is a proud reflection of 21st century Ireland, simple and elegant, a contemporary aesthetic that embodies the very best of Irish hospitality. The Clarence first opened its doors in 1852. The hotel was refurbished in the 1930's and hosted an eclectic clientele, from visiting clergymen to bawdy musicians. The tired two-star stopover was bought by Bono and The Edge in 1992 and transformed into a contemporary boutique hotel, the kind of place that they would choose to stay themselves, if visitors to Dublin city. Their new Clarence Hotel opened in June 1996. Our hotel is located within short walking distance of a myriad of Dublin city experiences to suit all tastes: from Michelin star Irish restaurants to cool indie coffee bars; big brand shopping on Grafton Street to cutting edge Irish designwear around Temple Bar, George's Street and South William Street; theatres such as the world famous Abbey as well as contemporary venues such as the Project Arts Centre and the New Theatre. Catch a huge international band at The Olympia or discover some brand new Irish rock music in The Workman's Club. Dublin's biggest nightclubs are just a stroll away, from the opulent and exclusive Madison Nightclub to the fun filled party vibe of Everleigh Gardens. Cultural Dublin awaits guests at The Clarence: Trinity College, The Guinness Storehouse, The James Joyce Centre, Dublinia, The Natural History Museum and so much more. With 50 bedrooms and suites to choose from, as well as our spectacular Penthouse Suites, The Clarence offers luxurious and stylish accommodation in the heart of it all. Within the hotel complex, guests can enjoy a number of dining and bar areas - The Study and The Octagon Bar in the hotel itself, as well as Cleaver East restaurant on the ground floor and The Liquor Rooms underneath the hotel. We also provide 24 hour room service and many added comforts for our guests to enjoy. The Clarence is the perfect location for a stylish, modern city centre wedding or civil ceremony and our dedicated team will provide every assistance in arranging your beautiful day in one of our many spaces.Our front facing function rooms and suites offer privacy and understated elegance overlooking The Liffey. We have all the facilities needed to host your event, from large conferences to intimate meetings. Our events team will assist from start to finish. From fun weekends to romantic getaways, family gatherings to solo business trips, a warm welcome, a luxurious room and superior service awaits you at The Clarence Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.