We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lovely, but terrible noise from nightclub/street cleaners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarence to your Saves list
The Clarence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hotel lovely, but terrible noise from nightclub/street cleaners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I find it very difficult to rate this hotel; everything was excellent until we tried to sleep (we stayed at the hotel for one night, in a room at the back on a Saturday night). The hotel is apparently well located for walking access to central sites; the public areas and rooms are quirky and well appointed; the staff are very helpful, the bar is atmospheric and dinner in the Tea Room restaurant was excellent. The problem arose when we tried to sleep as there is a nightclub below with people spilling out onto the street - that was tolerable, but was followed by a stream of refuse and street cleaning vehicles which made so much noise. The problem may only arise on Saturday nights, but best to ask for a river-side room, which should be quieter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    198
    137
    81
    72
See reviews for
83
324
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The rooms and hotel decor are excellent, staff were very friendly and It's a ideal location to the Temple Bar as it right in the heart of it. Overall it's a great hotel with a good location and I had a lovely stay and I will we back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a regular traveller to Dublin, I found this hotel to be something of a disappointment. Although the address is Wellington Quay, please note this hotel is in Temple Bar. Be prepared for music well into the early hours most nights. This was certainly the case when I stayed there on a Friday night.

The Octogan Bar was very depressing. No windows and no atmosphere.

The staff were excellent, but there were not many guests.

I would suggest that Mr Hewson and Mr Evans spend some of their net worth on this place, and brighten this joint up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at The Clarence a few times and have always really enjoyed the experience. We were particuarly fond of the Tea Room and it's exciting and unusual menu. We booked there to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday in 2009. Due to the wonderful experience we experienced then, my husband booked The Clarence two weeks ago for my 40th birthday. Unfortunately we were extremely disappointed and I am sad to say we will not be returning to The Clarence. There were no special touches other than an upgrade to a balcony room overlooking the noisy and unattractive Temple Bar area (we had previously been treated to a suite overlooking the Liffey). That was the sum total of it despite the fact that this had been booked in August and my husband had emphasised that this was a special occasion. In the end I wished I had stayed at home with my children (the staff did not even acknowledge that this was a special occasion). To top it all we had a very poor meal in the Tea Room (which seems to have turned into a very average bistro). My husband has emailed a complaint and is yet to receive a reply. My advice is, particuarly if this is a special occasion, avoid The Clarence at all costs and spend a little extra money and stay at The Merrion. I had a real 5* experience last weekend and couldn't recommend it highly enough - it was wonderful.

Room Tip: try and book the river side rather than Temple Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having stayed at the closeby Morrison on recent business trips I thought I would book the Clarence for a mini break. I thought the room was claustrophobic in its design and would have been nice to have a kettle and a couple of cups. The Clarence only scored over the Morrison with free wifi in the room otherwise it did not compare that favourably. Did not try the restaurant. Looked nice but with so many other options we explored. Could do with a new bath. The one we had was very badly scratched. Also cheap quality bed.

Because of wifi I might return when on business but to use as a touring base. Definitely a no.

Great location though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing stay we had. The staff was friendly and very efficient - nothing was too much trouble. Even finding parking was as easy as pulling up at the hotel. The hotel is in a perfect spot and don't forget a trip or 2 or 3 to the Octagon Bar!! Well worth the stay - I will go back again and again!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The write-up for this hotel are amazing, even warrants a send up in the Ryanair In Cabin Experience Magazine (should that have rung some alarm bells)? Visit this hotel with a understanding that no money whatsoever has been spent for some time on its overall upkeep - and you will not be disappointed.

Directly outside the lift on the fourth floor was a two foot rip in the carpet, which I would imagine a Health & Safety Officer would have a field day in pointing out to Management - (The glamourous Housekeeping Inspector ignored & elegantly stepped over it). Room 405 was exceptionally clean, albeit drab/tired in its decor, sad threadbare carpet & wooden floor that was so badly fitted that it bounced & peaked as you walked over it - must say though bed & bedding were exceptionally comfortable. Bathroom again exceptionally clean but enamel missing from bottom of bath & a really grim, old plastic bath mat.

Zilch on the complimentary front i.e no Tea/Coffee making facilities or bottled water - which given that we had booked this on the understanding that this was a 4 star hotel, really gave an impression of a 2 star/hostel.

Staff were lovely & must be commended on how they clean with such care - given that what they are doing is trying to make a silk purse out of a sows ear.

Experienced fair bit of noise, however if you do check where this hotel is situated (which is right in the heart of everything) you cannot moan about that.

All the locals,seem to know why this place has had no money spent on it as they say the owners are waiting to extend to both sides & refurbishment will take place when that transpires, if this is the case - owners hurry up & sort it - cause until you do - there aint gonna be any repeat business from us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Dublin's premier boutique hotel located in the heart of the city, on the banks of the River Liffey just a stone's throw from the famous Ha'penny Bridge. Our hotel is a proud reflection of 21st century Ireland, simple and elegant, a contemporary aesthetic that embodies the very best of Irish hospitality. The Clarence first opened its doors in 1852. The hotel was refurbished in the 1930's and hosted an eclectic clientele, from visiting clergymen to bawdy musicians. The tired two-star stopover was bought by Bono and The Edge in 1992 and transformed into a contemporary boutique hotel, the kind of place that they would choose to stay themselves, if visitors to Dublin city. Their new Clarence Hotel opened in June 1996. Our hotel is located within short walking distance of a myriad of Dublin city experiences to suit all tastes: from Michelin star Irish restaurants to cool indie coffee bars; big brand shopping on Grafton Street to cutting edge Irish designwear around Temple Bar, George's Street and South William Street; theatres such as the world famous Abbey as well as contemporary venues such as the Project Arts Centre and the New Theatre. Catch a huge international band at The Olympia or discover some brand new Irish rock music in The Workman's Club. Dublin's biggest nightclubs are just a stroll away, from the opulent and exclusive Madison Nightclub to the fun filled party vibe of Everleigh Gardens. Cultural Dublin awaits guests at The Clarence: Trinity College, The Guinness Storehouse, The James Joyce Centre, Dublinia, The Natural History Museum and so much more. With 50 bedrooms and suites to choose from, as well as our spectacular Penthouse Suites, The Clarence offers luxurious and stylish accommodation in the heart of it all. Within the hotel complex, guests can enjoy a number of dining and bar areas - The Study and The Octagon Bar in the hotel itself, as well as Cleaver East restaurant on the ground floor and The Liquor Rooms underneath the hotel. We also provide 24 hour room service and many added comforts for our guests to enjoy. The Clarence is the perfect location for a stylish, modern city centre wedding or civil ceremony and our dedicated team will provide every assistance in arranging your beautiful day in one of our many spaces.Our front facing function rooms and suites offer privacy and understated elegance overlooking The Liffey. We have all the facilities needed to host your event, from large conferences to intimate meetings. Our events team will assist from start to finish. From fun weekends to romantic getaways, family gatherings to solo business trips, a warm welcome, a luxurious room and superior service awaits you at The Clarence Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.