We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but good location and it's cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Save Saved
You added Paramount Hotel Temple Bar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not perfect but good location and it's cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spend three nights here. Good things first: Great location at the corner of Temple Bar area. Service is good, very helpful staff. Rooms are clean. The beds were hard but I like that. Breakfast is ok. Easy to be in.

Bad things: the hotel has a bar and a nightclub downstairs and the noise is very loud. Our room in the second floor felt like huge bass amplifier on the last night. Also the party people on the street can be very noisy. The bed covers are more like rough blankets with a simple sheet. I like hotels with good covers in bed. The shower is bolted on the wall and if you are over 170cm long, you feel you need to crouch under it to wash your head properly. That felt a little dumb. The tapestry has been fixed with tape from here and there so the rooms will need a renovation sometime near.

Overall it's a two or three star hotel. Nothing fancy but great location and decent prices. I think I could stay there again, but this time ask for a room higher than second floor.

Room Tip: Get a room from third floor or higher if you are staying over a weekend. The noises from clubs downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    293
    127
    48
    34
See reviews for
34
257
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of the worst hotel that I ve ever been. The rooms are so old and dirty . I have allergy so i couldnt stop sneeze. It was difficult to sleep because of the noisy neighborhood. The location is good . The best thing in the hotel were a brazilian recepcionist ( i dont remember her name) that change our room so i could be better because of my allergy - she really tried everything she could but the fact is that the hotel didnt have better rooms. They are all terrible. The breakfast was a joke! You just have a few options and all of the dishes were dirty. I asked warm milk and they said it wasnt possible. I dont EVER recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at the Paramount Hotel 1 Feb great location just off Temple Bar lovely and clean, huge bed didn't have breakfast at hotel, got a great deal through hotels.com was noisy at night but I would think most hotels in that area would be too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I am staying in this hotel and just about to go to sleep but finding it hard as the window next to the bed does not close properly! I'm so cold and the fact you don't actually have a quilt or duvet just a sheet makes it impossible to sleep!
The staff and Turks bar are amazing and make it worth the stay but the fact am freezing and huddled up in a sheet is horrendous. Also most the tv channels don't work. Best advise, get a shot of r into you before bed to warm your self up other wise you will be shivering all night! And if you find your window dosnt shut properly ask for a room change as a towel on front of the window dosnt stop the whistling cold Wind coming through.
Night all!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a B&B basis for a surprise 40th weekend for a friend. After an early morning flight we were delighted to find that our rooms were ready and that we could check in 5 hours earlier than expected. That allowed us to sort ourselves out and then get on with the planned partying.
Good central location, clean with comfortable, large room at a very reasonable rate.
Was a bit noisy on the Saturday evening but didn't really disturb us as we had availed ourselves of the Temple Bar pubs and nothing short of a hurricane would have kept us awake. No issues with noise on the Sunday night.
Cooked breakfast was great but would have been disappointed if we had gone with the continental option as there was very little choice.
Once we had checked out the hotel was happy to hold onto our bags for us during the day until our evening flight.
Would definitely stay here again if we could get at similar rates. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Only issue we had was with the safe in our room but, although we couldn't get it to lock, our valuables were safe enough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great place - towards the end of Temple Bar so there are hundreds of bars and restaurants within a few hundred metres. Everything you need is within a short walk so that's great but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

The room (2nd floor - facing the street) was very dark and in need of a lot of TLC. Fixtures that had fallen off the wall were just screwed back in a different place. The bathroom didn't look entirely clean and the shower wasn't very powerful.

The biggest problem is the noise. Now I know most people don't go to Dublin to relax, myself included, but I didn't feel too great on one of the nights (Saturday) and wanted a good nights' sleep. Impossible. The thudding and music was so loud, it was impossible. If you did drop off, screaming and taxis honking their horns until almost 4am woke you up regularly. Sunday night wasn't too bad as not many clubs were open late.

In summary, I wouldn't stay again. Great location but I'd book a Jury's or a major chain round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I can't fault this hotel.

The staff were lovely and helpful. The reception area was cosy and nice just to sit and relax in and the rooms were clean.

The Paramount is in a perfect location for Temple Bar/The Olympia Theatre and comes at a great price.

We've already booked to come back and will recommend The Paramount to family and friends.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the back and didn't hear a sound all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Hotel Temple Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.