We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Collins Day Tours - Glendalough & Kilkenny Day Tour
26 South Frederick St | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
01 6770837
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 171 Tours & Activities in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full Day Tour to Glendalough and Kilkenny including Wicklow Gap. Lakes, Mountains and a Medieval City ! Professional Approved Tour Guide and Coach driver. (exclusive)Tourist Board approved coaches. Walking Tours in Glendalough and Kilkenny included.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Both the driver and the tour guide were superb. They have made my experience to Glendalough and Kilkenny a very enjoyable one. The tour guide has such extensive knowledge on a wide range of subjects in history and on the places that we visited today. We were so happy to have such an informative historian as a guide today and a well-experienced driver. Our driver today made us feel safe and our journey went very smoothly. We had some down time in Kilkenny to explore on our own, but we chose to join the tour guide on a more intimate walking tour through the town. He is extremely personable and you can tell he is very passionate about Irish history. It is apparent that Collins Day Tours has such friendly, well-qualified, and professional employees. Thank you for the great experience and I will recommend Collins Day Tours to all my friends/family who will be visiting Ireland!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    64
    8
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“DO NOT book for groups”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very unsuitable service for group bookings. I had booked a group to go to Kilkenny only to be told the tour was unavailable 2 days before we were supposed to go. Despite booking in advance, it was cancelled last minute. Extremely unhelpful staff and unprofessional service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Day Well-Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the first tour taken by my wife and I on our recent trip to Ireland. The sites were tremendous and the guide, Gerry, was great. He was knowledgeable and delivered the information with a great sense of humor. In addition to making the stops at Glendalough and Kilkenny we also made a quick stop in the Wicklow Gap where we were able to get out and take pictures on one of the only sunny days during our week long trip. Our only regret was that we wished we had a bit more time in Kilkenny to maybe take a tour of the Smithwick's Brewery and the Kilkenny Castle. The logistics of returning to Dublin in the early evening prevented that.

All in all it was a very good experience and I would certainly recommend this tour and and any tour on which Gerry is the tour guide.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome! Jerry was best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had many conducted tour at Ireland - this was the best. Just loved our guide Jerry - such a sense of humour. Driver Jim was too good too. The full journey was a lot enjoyable with complete credit due to this duo. Our guide did not leave a single detail un-touched through out the journey. Tour was conducted in perfect manner of time, and all guided walking tour was full of detailed and updated information, but best and best of it, presented in a great lovely humorous way to make it immensely enjoyable. Will strongly recommend this.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Kilkenny Day Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The tour guide and driver were very professional and capable. I enjoyed the tour very much and would recommend it. The only think could be done better is instead of the 20 minutes walk through the woods have the guide take us through the monastery ruins and give us some history about the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collins Day Tours - Glendalough & Kilkenny Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Collins Day Tours - Glendalough & Kilkenny Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collins Day Tours - Glendalough & Kilkenny Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.