We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great corporate night-out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin

The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin
Anne's Lane, South Anne Street | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 7030 600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 217 Attractions in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPENING HOURS:Sun-Thurs 12nn - 6amFri-Sat 12nn - 8amThe Sporting Emporium is Ireland's leading private members’ Casino and Card Club, catering to all types of players, from complete beginners to those who like to play for higher stakes. Located over three floors just off Dublin’s Grafton Street, it is a recent winner of the prestigious 'Best Casino Club' award, and includes over 30 tables offering Poker, Blackjack, Roulette, Brag, Punto Banco, plus 300 online casino games. Our friendly, welcoming Card Room is a warm favourite of Poker enthusiasts, who enjoy a wide range of Texas Hold'em and other poker games. It also plays host to a variety of regular Poker tournaments, leagues and festivals. For high rollers who prefer large stakes we also offer an elegant Salon Privé. The Arena at The Sporting Emporium is a beautifully appointed and comfortable sports lounge which offers the widest choice of gaming and betting in Dublin. You can watch live sporting events such as horseracing, football, rugby, GAA and many others on multiple plasma screens – and place your bet on the latest touch-screen technology.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great corporate night-out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to the Emporium casino for a company night-out and organised a poker tournament for 25 people there. My director and I were delighted with the evening. Everything was very well organised, the dealers really nice and patient and we all had a great night. Maureen who was the person looking after us was very professional and understanding. This is a pleasure to work with people who do well their job like they do.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle L, Marketing Executive at The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We're very happy that your company night out in our establishment was a success. Maureen is very efficient in everything that she does especially concerning our members. We cater to almost any type of private events, from hen/stag parties, birthdays, etc. so we hope that sometime in the future, we see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great hen party night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a great venue for a hen party with a difference. Many thanks to Maureen and her great customer service, organizing our whole evening including the champagne on arrival, the roulette & blackjack lessons & to Alex who minded us from our arrival and to Gary on the blackjack table who answered all our questions no matter how silly! Everyone had a great evening in the lovely and very friendly surroundings. The hen went home with winnings & we'll definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle L, Marketing Executive at The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review. We're delighted that you ladies had a great hen night! We do our best to provide exceptional customer service to our members. Maureen sends her regards as she was more than happy to organize your night out. Alex, Gary and the rest of our staff are here to accommodate our members and we would be thrilled if you came to visit us again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have been here many times... and have had a ball each time. I'm not sure what time it closes, as I have never been there until the end, but it's open VERY late, and the complimentary drinks eventually take their toll! (Of course, you could always opt for one of the coffees which come in a cup the size of a bowl). Suitable if you are a serious card player or just want to go for a bit of 'craic' and fun, as the croupiers always show you the ropes and help you along with advice (usually in the guise of a knowing wink or nod). Albert the manager is one of the friendliest guys you could meet and always seems to remember everyone's names, even if they only visit once a year and haven't been there in 12 months (I'd hate to play poker against someone like that... who has a memory like that!). All in all, a great way to end a night out on the town, or a great place just to spend the night. In a nice part of town, too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle L, Marketing Executive at The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. From Sundays to Thursdays, we're open from 6pm to 6am. The Arena on the lobby is open from 12nn/7 days a week. We just recently extended our hours on Friday and Saturday from 6pm to 8am. :) It is with great pleasure that Albert and our croupiers cater to our members. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray
1 review
“21st Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was great yeah, everyone had a good time, some learned the ropes of gambling finally and the experienced people admired the layout and decor.

The last of them left at 5:30a.m. Was a great night thanks very much I'll be singing the Sporting Emporium praises.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle L, Marketing Executive at The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very much delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. You can find us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with ongoing events and promotions. We look forward to seeing you on your next night out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regular Visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I always like the layout and decor of the Sporting Emporium. Door staff always give you a welcome and bar staff are also very friendly. Their regular taxi drivers are also very friendly.

Drink and tea/coffee are free which is a great attraction but selection available has declined considerably over the last two years. A great pity that the food service was done away - I always enjoyed the food and the associated free chips were a great attraction.

However, when your luck is out, your money can disappear really quickly so would love to see a 50 cent roulette table.

Never get any texts/emails re special offers/freebies encouraging me to drop in. They have my Date of Birth - why not send me a free chip when it falls - great way to encourage good feeling. They could learn on how to communicate from the Penthouse Casino in Swords who also have a better range of drink and have food available.

My main gripe is that a lot of the Croupiers are grumpy and do not make you feel welcome unless you are spending very big. However, I still like to visit on a regular basis.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle L, Marketing Executive at The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit to the Club.

We strive to provide a warm, friendly and courteous service to all our members regardless of their level of play. We are disappointed and very much regret that your experience fell short of this standard and would welcome an opportunity to speak with you directly about this. If you could kindly send your details to info@thesportingemporium.com our Membership Director will contact you to follow this up.

There is a 50 cent roulette option available through our touchbet live roulette platform. We appreciate that not all members may be aware of this facility and would be more than happy to guide you through this when you are next in.

Our restaurant service on the gaming floor was discontinued last year as there was very little demand from members. However food is still available to players in our card room and a range of finger food options can be provided for parties and functions by making arrangements in advance.

We continue to provide Free Chips through different promotions which are on offer from time to time. Our Chinese New Year Festival promotion that we ran from 8th of February just ended last Saturday, the 16th of February where everyone who visited the Club won a free bet and one lucky member won a €2013 cash prize. Other promotions and events during the year will be posted on Twitter, Facebook and our website. With developments in social media in recent years, we have found that members are moving away from direct SMS to this form of communication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin also viewed

 

Been to The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sporting Emporium Casino, Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.