We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous evening, fantastic service and beautiful food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabor Brazil

Sabor Brazil
50 Pleasants Street - Off Camden Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
+353 1 475 0304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Brazil is the largest and most populous country in South America. Almost as if to complement its exciting geographical contrasts, from wetlands to tropical forest to beaches, it also boasts an incredible multi-ethnic mix, which is mirrored in its cuisine.The indigenous Tupi Indians had already mastered the art of preserving meats through smoking and drying by the time the Portuguese colonised Brazil in 1533. They had developed the use and processing of Corn (in particular Corn Porridge) as well as the use of many root vegetables such as sweet potato and manioc (also known as yucca or cassava ).Not only did the Portuguese bring with them their own culinary customs (heavily influenced by 300 years of Moorish occupation) but they also imported slaves from West Africa with their cooking traditions. The use of coconut milk, peppers and dende (palm oil) are amongst the many ideas introduced by the slaves, all of which are prevalent in Brazilian cooking.Many more immigrants followed later, including Western Europeans, peoples from the Middle East and Asia, but unlike the Portuguese and African traditions, their culinary contributions were absorbed rather than evolved.As with many other large countries, Brazilian cuisine has its regional differences, although staple ingredients throughout Brazil today include beans, rice and manioc meal. To the North (includes Amazonas, Rondônia and Pará), the diet is mainly fish, root vegetables and fruit as opposed to the Southeast where the use of corn, pork and beans is traditional. Our restaurant is based in a small baroque city of Ouro Preto (from Portuguese, Black Gold) is a city in the state of Minas Gerais, Brazil, a former colonial mining town located in the Serra do Espinhaço mountains and designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO because of its outstanding Baroque architecture. A different and enjoyable option for a FINE DINING Brazilian Restaurant. A cozy atmosphere for pleasant moments with friends and partners. Excellent food and proud to show our diverse culinary dishes to europeans.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening, fantastic service and beautiful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

4 and a half hour sitting for our 7 course meal, fabulous service, great food, beautifully relaxed atmosphere.
Tom was a fantastic host, everything about this place was fabulous. Not one criticism.
Thank You guys

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    29
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I will have to thank TA for me finding this restaurant, I was looking at places to eat in Dublin and can easily see why it is rated so highly! From the moment we walked in the door to be greeted by first names until we left with a gift from Tom we had a magnificent evening. The food was superb and well spaced between courses. The decor was intimate and warm and I would look forward for a chance to return. It was a birthday treat that my partner will never forget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife treated me to a great birthday present with dinner in Sabor. It was our second visit to this totally unique and special place. Tom made us feel like close intimate friends. The food and ambience as usual was supreme. I couldn't have wine as I was driving. However, Tom to my utter surprise, presented me with a bottle of Chablis as we left. We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first visit to Sabor Brazil and certainly will not be our last. If you are simply looking for a quick bite to eat go elsewhere, however if you are looking for very special night out this is the place to be. The menu was quite varied, and unusual in the best possible way. Each course was served by Tom (a thorough professional and a gentleman into the bargain) at a relaxed pace (by choice) and an interesting story or detailed description accompanied every course. Tom also served up some amazing white & red wine that was a perfect compliment to the meal. I admit to having reservations about a "taster menu" but I need not have worried at all. The only hic-up was my decision to take the car as, sadly, I only got to literally taste the wine and my wife confirmed it's worth....Thanks Tom, (and thanks for the red wine also).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Simply the best - and getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our second visit to the charming Sabor Brazil and even better than the first time, which we had rated our most enjoyable ever dining experience. This was simply our best night out ever!

Tom is the personification of a warm Irish welcome - even though we had only visited once before some six months ago, it was like meeting up with an old friend again - and he spends the evening spoiling you relentlessly. The attention to detail is remarkable and the service provided is beyond brilliant.

Marco's Brazilian dishes are exquisite - from their presentation to their flavour. The sumptuous seven course tasting menu exceeded even our loftiest of expectations, with every dish a delight (we got second helpings of a couple because they were so delicious!). Lots of added extras are included in the price, while the recommended white and red wines were both delicious.

What makes Sabor Brazil so special - the relaxed feeling, the intimacy (just four tables), the ambience (so warm), the food (exceptional), the drink (plentiful!) and most of all the two very special people (Tom and Marco) for whom this is clearly a labour of love.

An amazing four hours and the best possible venue for celebrating a special occasion or if you want to experience a unique and wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor Brazil also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Sabor Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabor Brazil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.