We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lip smacking food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda Restaurant

Ananda Restaurant
Dundrum Town Centre, Dublin 14, Ireland
01 296 0099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Asian fusion, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ananda is Ireland’s premier fine dining restaurant. Ananda’s impeccable pedigree, enviable location and stunning interior design made it Dublin’s most anticipated restaurant opening of 2008. A series of superlative restaurant reviews quickly cemented its reputation as one of Ireland’s finest dining experiences.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lip smacking food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I had the vegetarian thali in this restaurant. My husband had the lamb biryani. The food was delicious. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    39
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Simply Doesn't Justify its Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife an I had been very much looking forward to trying out Ananda. We both love Indian food, western restaurant style and also authentic street-food; we've also eaten in places associated with Atul Kochar in the UK. Unfortunately, our starters were just okay and our mains were actually quite poor; the spicings were a bit bland and the combinations seemed confused. Also, the decor is a bit off-putting; it feels like a nightclub designed forfortysomethings! The service was efficient enough and we had a decent bottle of wine but the bottom line is that the food itself simply doesn't justify the very high prices. We eat out a lot and we don't mind spending for a quality meal but this wasn't that. Very disappointed, won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We take all our feedback quite seriously.
At Ananda we endeavour to give everyone a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience.
Our Meats fish & general produce and all our ingredients are sourced from highly reputable Irish producers. However we are disappointed that you did not like the food on the day.
I have personally spoken to the chefs who are as concerned. If I may please request you to let us know what dishes you ordered on the day, as it will help us immensely to re-view the dishes.
Please give us another chance to change your opinion about the restaurant.

Kind regards,

Benny Jacob
Manager
Ananda Restaurant
benny@anandarestaurant.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good value early bird menu. excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Ananda has been a restaurant we have been looking forward to visiting for some time. We weren't disappointed, excellent Asian food with a twist. Highly recommended. Our only problem was the lack of guidance when ordering wine but the food was the hero.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better. We will look into the Staff training on wines/ suggestions with the meal.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Beautiful Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Ate from the early bird menu here last week (2 courses €23.99). The food was delicious and there was a good amount of choice on the menu. As others have said the service is very good. The decor of the restaurant is lovely but the view over the adjoining car park isn't great. I have eaten in most of the Jaipur restaurants in Dublin and I would say that they are equally as good as Ananda. I would probably choose Jaipur in Georges Street over Ananda in future as it is in a more central location for me.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The food is always amazing and the service is 5star. Great lunch menu at the weekend which has to be the best value going. Would recommend this restaurant to everyone - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Ananda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.