We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda Restaurant

Ananda Restaurant
Dundrum Town Centre, Dublin 14, Ireland
01 296 0099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,833 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: Indian, Asian fusion, Pakistani, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ananda is Ireland’s premier fine dining restaurant. Ananda’s impeccable pedigree, enviable location and stunning interior design made it Dublin’s most anticipated restaurant opening of 2008. A series of superlative restaurant reviews quickly cemented its reputation as one of Ireland’s finest dining experiences.
Dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and I visited Ananda yesterday and were just in time for the early bird menu. Very well-priced at €22 each. I had the fish cakes and guineafowl, partner had potato cakes and tilapia fish.

The restaurant was modern, airy and comfortable and the waiting staff were calm, friendly and attentive.

We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    47
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is by far one of the best restaurant's myself and my wife like to visit. The entire experience is so enjoyable. Not matter how busy they are the service is top class, unobtrusive and effortless. The food matches the service and every single dish I have tried has been truely delicious. Would recommend anyone to try this restaurant. We will defo be regular customers. :):):)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice Indian food in Dublin. The attendants were helpful in getting the food according to taste. Nice ambience and location. Ample parking

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good but not great....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have heard a lot about the Ananda Restaurant and its superb quality. Reading the different reviews and seeing the Michelin ratings at the door raised my expectations.

I went there for dinner with a friend. The location is quite modern and very clean. The food was really excellent!!! We enjoyed all the food we ordered.

What holds me back to give it the fifth star is the service. We had to wait for the waiter a number of times and one of them seemed quite cool, if not to say a little rude. Maybe it was just that it was a bad day. I think if the friendliness is improved and the waiters are a little more attentative, the rating would be at 6 stars even.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal at Ananda. We are concerned and our sincere apologies for the careless attitude of the waiter who served you. I have taken your point at the staff briefing & can assure you that this will not happen again. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the restaurant even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be Michelin Star if they tried a little harder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

That's not to say they didn't try. With only a small handful of Michelin Star restaurants in Ireland, I actually don't see the point of them pushing for the next level.

We recently ate in a Michelin Star restaurant (€240 for two with wine) and went to Ananada a week laters to try their tasting menu (for the third time) (€120 for two with wine). So given this comparison I think Ananda wins HANDS DOWN.

Some of the presentation was a little awkward, with well stacked and food arrangement toppling over as the waiter plonked the plate down. That's as about as much complaining I can do :)

€50 a head tasting menu is a must for any Indian Food lover.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benny j, Manager at Ananda Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience at Ananda. It is such feedback that keeps us striving to make the product even better.

We look forward to hosting you at Ananda in the very near future.

Regards,
Team Ananda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Ananda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.