We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

I liked it! The double room is big with big and has very comfortable and large bed too! Its a modern hotel the decoration of the room is simple but elegant. Bathroom was clean too you can listen to the TV as well while you there..;)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tengericsillag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
Dear Tengericsillag,

We are delighted to see you enjoyed staying with us on your recent visit to Ireland. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Please do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie if you are planning a return trip, I would be delighted to assist you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed here for the meat loaf concert in the o2, what a hotel, everything was excellent, from the rooms to the meals, i have stayed in many hotels around europe but this has to be the best, would highly reccomend to anyone, the 02 is right outside the front door as well as the luas tram service that can have you in the city center in 5 minutes, the meals and the service was of the highest of quality

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
Dear Mick073,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to the team. If you are making a return visit to Dublin please do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie if I can be of any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The Gibson hotel is without doubt one of the best European City hotels I have stayed in. The rooms were so Large, Clean and Modern that it was like home from home. The walkin shower was a welcome event after a long journey, and the Super kingsize bed was just scrummy. It is situated right next door to the O2 and I thought this might be a bit of a problem with noise, but with the double glazed windows never heard a thing. Very easy to get to the centre of Dublin by Tram situated next to the Hotel, just 10 Mins Away.

The food in the resturant is fantastic, and in the Summer it must be nice to just sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the day go by.

I always look for something not right with a hotel, but in this case couldn't find a thing. Even the price of £340 for a 4 night stay was a bargin.

Overall top class hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear GaryEngland,

It was great to read such a positive review and I have passed your comments on to all the team. You're right about the balcony, we can't wait for the summer when our guests will be able sit on the terrace or in one of our courtyards, sipping a cocktail and enjoying the views of Dublin. Unfortunately our outdoor spaces haven't been getting much use lately with all the cold weather. You'll have to revisit us in a few months to experience the Gibson in the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel. Once again thank you for your feedback, please feel free to contact me with anytime at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Pros:
The Gibson is perfect for concerts in the O2. and Luas at your door.
Lovely reception staff, couldn't have done enough for us.
Nice rooms with everything you need
Good food (not breakfast)
Good value
Cons:
Breakfast is very over priced for what you get.
Bar staff need more training - new hotel so this will get better with time.
Window in room that you can see into the bathroom - maybe some frosted glass would be better.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meluia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear Meluia,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. We are currently reviewing our Breakfast offering in terms of selection and price, while we do get complemented on our breakfast buffet we listen to our all our guest's feedback and take it on board. We hope to welcome you back to the Gibson in the future. Please feel free to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie at any time if you are returning to Dublin & I would be delighted to assist you.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Nice location, clean rooms with good service. Parking is not cheap but it is safe and secure. My main crib was the Wi-Fi which I had several attempts at getting on and eventually gave up. Overall a good stay despite minor inconveniences above.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul29163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear Paul29163,

We were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback on the parking and Wi-fi. As the Gibson does not have its own car-park we have a negotiated rate with the car-park in the Point Village which is directly below the hotel. Their normal overnight rate is €30.00 but we offer our guests a rate of €14.00 for 24 hours. We endeavour to inform all of our guests of this charge at reservation stage. Apologies for the fact that you had some trouble with your wi-fi connection. Being a new building, we do have excellent connectivity with fibre optic cabling throughout, and can boast of the highest broadband speeds of any hotel in the country, my apologies again, however, that this was not the case during your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Right on the river Liffe trams start outside the hotel, 50 yards from the Pand O port entereance, opposite the O2 center. Classy hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerramjet365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear Rogerramjet365,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Gibson. We pride ourselves on giving a classy product at affordable prices. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me directly at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie if I can be of any assistance to you. Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lreland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We loved this hotel. Firstly the location, the Luas right outside the front door means you can be in city centre in minutes. For anyone attending a concert in the O2 it has to be the only choice of hotel, about.......... 30 seconds walk away!
On arrival our check in was hassle free and the problem mentioned by other reviewers with the debit card payments has been sorted. The reception area feels a bit like an airport so if you like cosy alcoves and open fires this is not the hotel for you. Its funky, airy and very contemperary.
The rooms are great. The ensuite is stocked with lovely Voya products which are fab. Mood lighting under the bed added a lovely atmosphere. The room had a balcony which Im sure is great on a nice day (it never got above freezing the weekend we were there, though the hotel was lovely and warm.)
Breakfast and lunch was brilliant. We didnt have dinner in the hotel. Service was a little slow at times. Everyone seemed to have their own job to do, while the waitress was busy, the bar man left our drinks on the bar when he could have easily brought them over. I got them myself which put the waitress under pressure.

All in all one of the best hotel experiences we`ve had. Really hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanaLreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear ShanaLrelans,

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back. We love when people notice the little things we put so much thought into, like the Voya products in the bathroom. These were made especially for the Gibson by an Irish company based in Strandhill and they are 100% organic, it makes a nice change from the normal hotel bathroom amenities. Sorry to see you experienced slow service in the bar, I have passed your comments on to our bar manager who will ensure to follow up with the team. Once again, thank you for your feedback. When you do come back, please make sure to drop me a line if I can be of any help to you- dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,185 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#4 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 171 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#8 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing