We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel - Will Be Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Ballymote, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great New Hotel - Will Be Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here last Saturday night with my wife just for a short break away. We had a bit of difficulty finding our way up to the hotel from the underground car park but eventually got there.
We took the lift to the spacious large third floor reception area which was very impressive.
The girl on reception was exceptionally nice and tremendously helpful.
We were assigned a lovely modern room next to the courtyard. The room itself was lovely with all mod cons you would expect inc flat screen tv and free wifi access. The bathroom was spacious with a walk in shower with two shower heads including one rain shower. On the downside, the mini bar was not stocked and the bed was a bit small. The communal areas are very modern and chic with modern lighting in the hallways.
We ate in the bar (as the restaurant is yet to open). The bar is in a large high ceiling open area over looking the O2. The service was good, the food was good, the drink was good, the prices were, well, this is Dublin!
We had breakfast delivered with a smile to the room the following morning which was excellent.
The hotel is a great place if you know your way around Dublin, with the Luas only outside the door. It is obviously in an ideal location for gigs in the O2 however we found that the price is hiked up when there is a gig on locally but I suppose that is the way, supply/demand etc.
This is a great hotel in a good location. The Point Village is still getting going and when the hotel restaurant is open the hotel itself will be perfect.
We will definitely be staying again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Sligocouple1982,

Thank you for your recent review. It is great to see such positive comments about our facilities and our team here at the Gibson. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your comments all to all concerned. Please feel free to contact me at any stage if you are planning a return visit to Dublin at dminhane@thegibsonhotel.ie and I would be delighted to assist you with your reservation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    673
    130
    36
    21
See reviews for
272
1,075
82
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I stayed at The Gibson for two nights whilst on business in Dublin and chose the hotel on the back of its discounted rates. The hotel has only just opened and although not serious I did encounter a few teething problems but I would suggest that these will be ironed out quickly.
As you would expect the hotel is very modern, spacious and quite contemporary, the rooms are large, very well equipped and very comfortable. Importantly the staff are friendly, willing and attentive, a little too attentive maybe as they are obviously still following a training script, not a bad thing but seems a little forced.
I ate in the bar on both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the duck spring rolls, risotto and thai curry. I would definitely recommend.
Although not central, the location of the hotel is great for the O2 and with a tram stop immediately outside the attractions of Dublin are easily accessible.
My experience was slightly tainted because although the hotel was empty my request for a complementary upgrade was denied. In addition sky sports isn't yet available in the bar and also that nobody appeared to be trained on how to use the projector and tv screen, this meant that the Champions League match on teresstrial tv couldn't be screened either......I'm afraid this is a must for a solo traveller as it helps releive the stress after a long day in the office.
All in all I would recommend but I would give it a few more weeks until the teething problems are ironed out!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Adrian48,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay despite the few issues you encountered. We were delighted to note that you found the staff friendly and attentive and I have passed your comments on to the team. To address the issues you have pointed out- Sky Sports is now available to our guests on both the big screen in the bar and the flatscreen TV in our residents bar. I apologise for the fact that you didn't receive an upgrade as requested. It is hotel policy to try to accomodate upgrade requests wherever possible depending on availablity. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss this further or if you have any other queries do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Dublin is full of locations to sit back and enjoy an afternoon of relaxation and conversation with friends, I can now say that the Gibson is up there with the best of them. The short trip down on the Luas, up to the 3rd floor and then leave the world outside. Good bar food ( try the Seafood Platter or Thai Green Curry) as good as anything served in Bentleys or Dylan. The mood music and open space feel is great. Staff were good...attentive but not intrusive. Friends stayed overnight and were well pleased. Will be back to enjoy the facilities

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Weekender45,

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the chilled out atmosphere in the bar. I have passed your comments on to our team. The Gibson is also a great place for events. Next time you are down in the area you should ask for a showaround and check out our function space and bedrooms. If you would like a showaround of the property at any time do not hesitate to contact me on dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed here on a Saturday night, good atmosphere around the hotel and all staff seemed very pleasant. Rooms were very good and comfortable. The luas is conveniently located at the hotel entrance and is advisable to take this is going into the city centre, otherwise you will have a 20 minute walk ahead.
All in all a nice hotel. Would I stay again? If I was going to a concert at the O2 then yes definitely but I would prefer somewhere more centrally located otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Dear Mr McAi

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your comments to the team. No need to stay somewhere more central next time you are in Dublin, just hop on the Luas, right outside our door, and you will be in Abbey Street right in the middle of the city center in six minutes flat. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If you require any assistance with future reservations do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Just back from an overnight stay in this lovely hotel. Located in the grounds of the o2. in the point village. Right outside is the Luas. On saturday and sunday they have a market of fresh food and great arts and crafts Etc.
Service in the hotel is excellent. as is the food.(a little bit slow but worthed) Menu not to extensive but we were happy. Breakfast was excellent. Very trendy hotel.Also 24 hr parking onsite for 14 Euro.Its an excellent hotel for anyone going to the o2 for gig as its On you doorstep. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
Dear JesterCarlow,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel. We also have our restaurant 'Coda Eatery' opening in mid September which will give us a more extensive food offering. Perhaps you would like to try it next time you are in Dublin. If you are returning to dublin or attending a gig in the O2, please do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie and I would be delighted to look after your reservation.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Gibson is new in Dublin, but do not let that put you off, these guys are putting a new look on customer service. From the moment we entered this hotel, we had a welcome handover to reception by the porter, a full explanation of the hotel facilities from the receptionist standing with us on our side of the counter, a cool bedroom and bathroom (rain showers wow!) with a balcony and automated blinds, complimentary tea and coffee all day, a bar/restaurant with views that you'd forget you are in Dublin looking over Dublin port, and furniture that is different and funky. My wife and I are not fans of the ultra modern hotels, but this has positioned itself cosily between the modern and traditional style hotel.

Yes the staff have still to fine comb the nitty gritty of a new hotel, such as clearing tables, bar counters, maybe adhering a little quicker to customer tables but I promise you, the overall experience of the hotel suppresses these momentarily issues, that you will just love this hotel.

The car can be parked directly under the hotel at 14 euro per day (Hotel Rate), you are the same grounds as the O2 concert venue, city centre is sought from the luas directly outside the door for 1.60 euro, and in 7 mins you are in abbey street, the heart of Dublin city centre. We walked it twice and it was a lovely 15min flat walk. For GAA fans, Croke part is no more than 20 mins walk away (Check google map for the two locations). We had the joy of a fabulous food, knick knacks and clothes market in front of the O2 concert hall on Saturday and Sunday.

It's great, trust me. Location is perfect, away from hussle and bustle of Dublin, yet near enough to be there in 7 mins. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Dear Kcotter,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it is great to see such positve comments about the hotel, I have passed them on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel has something. I have now stayed 3 times in the hotel and i really like it.
I'm not sure why i like it?

What i do like about the hotel: The rooms, the view from the Bar, the staff, the food, the location.
What i don't like about the hotel: The $5 room service tray charge is not on menu, the daily $14 carpark fee cannot be paid at reception, the bar menu needs work.

Apart from the little problems at the Gibson, i feel the management are going to sort things out to make the Gibson a real landmark hotel in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Dear Endurance,

Thank you for your comments, it is great to see such positive comments and I have passed them on to the team. Thank you for highlighting the fact that the room service charge is not on the menu, this is an oversight on our part and we will be sure to rectify it. Car-parking can be paid at the Front Desk or added to your bill, I am not sure why this wasn't the case during your stay but I will follow up with our Front Desk Manager. Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson in the future. If you would like any assistance with future reservations or I if I can be of any further help, do not hesitate to contact me personally at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.