We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had our wedding in the hotel in July. The rooms are roomy and very clean, the food is beautiful and last but not least the staff are all so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be staying at the hotel again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear 1223475468,

We are delighted that you choose the gibson hotel to celebrate your wedding and thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your big day!

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and you will be coming back to us again.

Our best wishes for your future together!.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    731
    138
    41
    25
See reviews for
303
1,178
88
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is super.
Location worked for me , few stops on Luas or short cab robe to city centre. Our room was lovely, has a balcony and seating area inside room .
Definitely gonna stay again next trip to Dublin.

The bar does fab cocktails and Breakfast was adequate

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear robertk,

Many thanks for leaving a review about your recent stay in the gibson and thank you for choosing us to help you celebrate your birthday!

I am so glad you thought your room was lovely and that you enjoyed your balcony.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend away with my husband and some friends. Given that there's not much to do, or even places to eat, around this location after the IFSC offices close around 6, the convenience of having LUAS stop just outside for getting to and from the city centre is great. The hotel is huge, enormous foyers, bar areas etc., so if you're looking for a quiet, intimate hotel, this is probably not for you. The rooms are bright and nicely appointed, though the view from our balcony of an abandoned building site below was a little unfortunate. It woud be perfect for anyone going to a concert in the O2. I'd certainly stay again, if I had reason to be around that part of Dublin, but it's probably a little too far from the centre for a Dublin City Break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the adjacent abandoned building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear nl2220,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in the gibson hotel.

I was glad to read that you found the luas convenient during your visit and that you found your room nicely appointed and that you enjoyed the natural light in your bedroom.

Should we have the chance to welcome you back again, please do not hesitate to request a room with a nicer view and we will strive to accommodate your request.

Thanks again for review and hopefully we will see you soon.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice modern hotel, rooms are big and clean. Food in the restaurant was lovely. Drinks are slightly over priced and the hotel is further out from the city than we would liked but over all really we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear DundalkLovinfood,

I am delighted your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. I have shared your review with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the gibson hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was a little gem outside the hub of tourists. We came directly from the airport telling the taxi driver that is across from the O2 - that was all the direction needed (about 40 euros from airport to hotel). It is well signed that reception is on the third floor and you can take the escalators or elevators. We were promptly greeted and checked in without incident - we were early so not sure a room would be ready. They had three jars of candy at each check in counter - the Lemon BonBons were my favorite. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom area. It was pretty quiet the entire time we were there. Free high quality wifi was a plus! The cost was slightly higher than other places. The tram stop is right outside the door so it is super easy to get to Dublin tourist center - maybe 7 minutes total time unless you go to Guinness than 10ish. Depending on your stay, check out the flex ticket. Very eco friendly and hip. While I don't have her name - a shout out to the woman who checked us in - offered great advice on Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear drsped,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with all the tripadvisor readers.

I am extremely happy to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable and that you found efficiency at check-in and also the lovely Bonbons to your liking. I know all the staff here work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stays and I am delighted you did.

I have shared your fantastic feedback with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night over a busy weekend. Convenient for us as we were going to the O2. Service at reception was excellent for both check in and check out. We went to the bar for lunch and the food was good, with no vegetarian option they happily adapted a dish to be vegetarian, service was excellent also. Room was very comfortable, I loved the big walk in shower. Can't fault this hotel on service and location, especially if you are going to an event at the O2.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear jo611,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay in the gibson hotel.

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the service in the bar and at reception to be excellent, especially during such a busy weekend.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We've stayed over in many Dublin hotels after various shows and concerts but I have to say, the gibson hotel is by FAR the best hotel we've stayed in. Beautiful stylish decor, immaculately maintained, delectable food, great location, cordial staff, and comfy bed. The generous shelf in the large shower was a welcome luxury.

There was no show in The O2 but there was still a lovely buzz around the hotel.

We'll definitely be back !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear SD1304,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay in the gibson.

I was delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable stay and that we have been the best hotel in Dublin for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.