We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Gibson Hotel is unique, modern, new and very clean. We had venue in Residents bar. The service we received was as good as 5* service. Food was delicious, we had choice of fish or beef the presentation of which was extraordinary. The taste was unforgetable, the spice, the texture. .. we also had presentation set up in meeting room. The set up was great.
Will definitely return there again for a very special event. It worth it!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Alina292014,

I am delighted to read that you chose the residents bar for your event, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food, I have shared your lovely comments with Chris our executive chef and all the team here and we hope you will come back and visit us soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    731
    138
    41
    25
See reviews for
303
1,177
88
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed in The Gibson for a night in March after seen a gig in The 02. The reception is located on the 3rd floor of the Hotel so when you arrive at the ground floor you wonder oh where is the reception and you then take the escalator up to it. Check in was quick and easy, the staff were extremely welcoming and quick to check us in. The room was very modern a great size, with a comfy bed and huge shower that could fit around 4 people in. The room also had ironing board and iron so didnt have to worry about clothes been creased. The Hotel is directly across from Dublin Port and The 02 and if you want to Venture into town The Luas tram stops outside the front of the Hotel. The bar in the Hotel was very busy and lively so we didnt head into Dublin City centre after the gig and just stayed in the Hotel bar. Definitely a great spot for a stay if you are going to a gig in the 02 and if you want to venture into the centre you can just jump on the Luas. There is also a bus stop outside the hotel which goes direct to Dublin Airport. I would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Glenn D,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind words following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service that we offer. I have shared your feedback with the team.

Please do come back and see us soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Nothing much to complain about with this hotel, located right at the docks end of the city, next to the O2 (and also a tram which takes you all the way to O'Connell St). My room was huge, very nicely styled, lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. Bar staff friendly and helpful. Would have given it excellent rating but...front desk staff can be unfriendly. The young woman who checked me in is in the wrong business, as she clearly finds dealing with people a challenge. And...the hotel has a ridiculous policy of only accepting credit cards for incidentals. I tried to use my business debit card, and was turned down and told, in a not so friendly way, that I'd have to pay as I went. A deal-breaker for me - so I won't return until they change that policy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Richard G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel on your recent trip to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us however I am disappointed that our welcome to you at check-in wasn't of the high standards we are known for so please accept our sincere apologies.

I am disappointed also that our incidentals policy was not to your satisfaction, we can take a preauthorisation on debit cards however for our guests banks to release the money back to their accounts can take up to 20 working days which is not ideal that is why we only take preauthorisation with credit cards. Perhaps the reception team should have explained this to you during your stay and I will be sharing your feedback with the front desk team.

I do hope you will visit us again if you were back in Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Wow, this place rocks and not just because its located beside the O2 Arena but down to everything from the staff to the rooms, the location, let alone the general style & funkiness! From the moment we checked in the staff were so friendly and warm and really made us feel welcome. The grand entrance and beautiful glass atrium that awaits you is gorgeous and leaves a lot of other hotels in their shadow. The rooms are so clean & trendy yet very practical and have everything you could possible need from a solid 4* deluxe hotel. The beds are really comfy and it was hard to pull ourselves out of them in the morning! The Hemi bar is open plan, which just suits the style & quirkiness of the hotel. With staff always buzzing around, you only have to lift your finger and the drink is poured - Loved it. They have large outdoor terraces with seating areas perfect for the summer. You can eat in the bar area or you can dine the yummy Asian inspired CODA restaurant, which we did, although either location the food is yum and good value we all thought. The location is perfect, you can literally park up for the weekend in the hotels secure car park and not have to think of the car for the duration of your stay ,why? ... the Luas stop is on your door step! We could be in the heart of Dublin surrounded by all the sights, shopping and entertainment in less then 10 mins- hassle free.. Friends that were staying also attended the new Bord Gais Theatre for a show and were there in a quick 5 mins taxi.
Would we stay again? In a heartbeat and we cant wait to return as its our new go to hotel in Dublin. We cant recommend the hotel enough and personally l think it suits everyone from Couples to families and ideal for a girlie weekend of shopping/cocktails. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.. Thanks Gibson, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear CSHDublin,

Wow ... your feedback is such a pleasure to read so thank you. It will be my great pleasure to share this with the entire team here at the hotel. They work really hard to ensure all our guests stays are comfortable throughout. their dedication along with our location makes it a truly pleasurable place to work.

I look forward to welcoming you back on any future stay at the Gibson hotel!

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here overnight while on business in the city and was very happy with this hotel. Its a beautiful hotel. I have to say the staff here were lovely from start to finish. The rooms were comfortable (bed especially, slept like a baby) and spacious. The bar is lovely too if you want a quite drink to unwind from the day ;). The breakfast was also of great standard. Very happy with this hotel, would certainly return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Alice P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the gibson hotel on your business trip and for taking the time share your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found all the staff to be lovely from the moment you stepped in the doors.

I am happy also that you found the bed to be comfortable and that you slept like a baby. I have shared your kind words with all the team here and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay if you are in Dublin for a weekend or for some time. Clean rooms, helpful service and only 10 min walk or 5 min with the train raight outside the hotel. Its great breakfast and nice big rooms. Enjoy.

Room Tip: 5 og 6 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear AnitaMikalsen,

Thank you so much for your recent feedback and your positive words to the team. I know this will make them proud as they really like to see that they have done the best for your stay. It is such a pleasure working with the team here and seeing what a positive impact they have to every guest stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the gibson on your next visit to Dublin!

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in many hotels over the years, by far The Gibson is my favourite. Have stayed many times and have never had a bad experience. Beds comfy, staff very friendly, one huge plus I love is that there is a huge window you can open for fresh air.



Downsides; parking expensive, during summer months room rates get very expensive

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Car K,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to know that your stays with us have always been excellent, I will make sure that all of the team get to see your great feedback. I Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.