We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Gibson for 4 nights at the end of April and again in early May before leaving Ireland. The hotel is easy to get to via bus from the airport, it drops you off directly across the street from the hotel & the O2 Arena. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and clean. The bathroom has a speaker imbedded into the sink so you can turn on the TV and listen to music while getting ready. The shower is amazing. It's huge! I was unable to use the dining area or bar as I was out most of the day but hope to stay there the next time I'm in town and can check them out. The hotel has a Luas (tram) stop right outside the front door that takes you into the heart of Dublin in just minutes. Dublin is a wonderful city and Ireland is a gorgeous country. I look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear nycatdmt,

Many thanks for posting your review following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was so pleased to read that you and your friend enjoyed all the facilities and service we take the utmost pride in providing during your four nights stay. I have passed on your kind words to all of the rest of The gibson Team.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    673
    128
    36
    21
See reviews for
272
1,075
82
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Gibson is a very modern stylish hotel with friendly helpful staff. The rooms are pretty big and well organised. The food (breakfast and dinner ) was excellent and not too pricey. The Spa area is nice too with two quite cool copper bath tubs on a sort of large balcony. We went for it even though it was October - it was great! (Only problem is it's beside a balcony where people can smoke). Some really nice touches (free fruit or sweets placed around the hotel). It's a bit of a walk to the town centre but doable. However the tram is literally on your doorstep. A no-risk option!

Room Tip: No particular tips - the rooms all look very similar - it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Dnellon,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering our guests. As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to my team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Gibson after a week long tour around Ireland. This was our "rest" after the running around. It was beautiful! First it's directly in front of the first stop of the rail, so you walk out front and jump on and head right into the heart of Dublin. It's no more than 5 minutes to Temple Bar on the train. Finally, the rooms are amazing. Beautiful modern decor. Their is an open spa anyone can use with steam room, sauna, foot baths, make your own natural beauty products station, and best of all, giant bath tubs (fits 2 people) on a balcony outside. Amazing. Best value ever.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Katie D,

I was so happy to read your very kind words following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that we exceeded your expectations especially with the facilities we offer. It is this service that also makes The gibson one of the best hotels and the team we have that deliver it. I have passed on your comments to them already. I hope that you will come and stay with us once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here recently when we were going to concert at the adjacent O2 arena. Fantastic hotel. Clean, quiet and modern. Very quick check-in, choice of newspaper and a great breakfast buffet. The room was well appointed and smelt fab. The bed was very comfy and the shower strong. There is a large complimentary of water in the room which is a nice touch. The Luas stops directly outside the door of the hotel and its about a 10min journey from the city centre. The area around the hotel is quiet but it would be a good base for a stay in Dublin. As I mentioned earlier the hotel is ideal for a visit to the O2. We went to see Depeche Mode and within 10mins of leaving the hotel bar we were seated in the O2. The bar area is nice and the food we ate was delicious. There is a nice selection of beers available and there are great views of the surrounding area. Highly recommended. Will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Waterford-TRIP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the little touches like the complimentary newspaper and water to your satisfaction. I have passed on your very kind words to the team here and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I loved this hotel, It's such a shame I was only there one night.
The rooms were MASSIVE, and very well appointed. the bathroom was vast also, and had an enormous shower cubicle.
There really was nothing I could fault with this hotel, it had a lovely atmosphere, the breakfast was delicious. I really couldn't have asked for anything more....except another night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear SamiKnight,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and couldn't fault the hotel. I have shared your review with all the team here and they look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for a night recently. We were going to concert in O2. It could not be more perfect when going to gig there. This is our second time there. Room lovely, very modern, very clean. Staff very friendly and efficient. Had breakfast which was very good, even though extremely busy. Lounge and bar very trendy. Other hotels could learn a lot from this hotel. In my opinion is good value. Would highly recommend a stay here. Full marks to the gibson. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Ritak754,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your second stay at the gibson hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with us. It really is a delight when guests leave such positive reviews after their stay and I hope it is not long till we are welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stay 5 nights and had no complaints. The staff helped out tremendously with all my questions and requests for places to eat and things to do. The bar and resturant had good food and nice selection of spirits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear CHauser101,

Thank you for choosing the gibson hotel for your recent visit to Dublin and for leaving your valued review of the hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.