We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for doing Business at The O2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Location for doing Business at The O2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great staff all around. Check in was fast and easy. The rooms are large, great wifi access and quiet . Room had a small balcony, large bathroom with tub and separate shower. Tram system is outside the door with access to all downtown and across the street from The O2 music venue.

I would stay at the hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ron C,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the gibson hotel. We can not wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    662
    125
    31
    18
See reviews for
269
1,048
78
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us while staying in the area for a wedding. I must say it had a great location and is a very impressive and imposing hotel. It's new and modern and certainly has a wow factor. Rooms clean and tidy and well specced. A great stay by all our group and would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Stevebobs,

Thank you so very much for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you to your friends also who recommended us to you. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Dublin staying at the Gibson Hotel situated right next to the O2 arena and the terminal of the Luas (tram) which takes you into the heart of Dublin. The hotel is absolutely wonderful, well situated, clean, modern, spacious rooms with an excellent bathroom. Staff are most helpful and welcoming. Whilst breakfast included all the usual items the dinner menus in both the main restaurant and the bar were rather limited. Although what was provided was good quality I would have expected more imaginative dishes, greater variety and choice in a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Richard M,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your constructive feedback which I have taken on-board fully.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Gibson is a great property and had lovely accommodations. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff left a nice welcoming gift in my room upon arrival: a plate of sweets. The exercise room was rather decent too. The location was not bad either - you can take the train right outside the hotel or ask the hotel to call for a cab (hub is not far from the hotel so they come really quickly). The restaurant is decent although expensive, much like most hotel restaurants.

My only complaint was that the staff wasn't always very cheerful or happy. There were a couple of times where I needed to go to the front desk staff and they weren't very pleasant. They didn't smile or seemed a little grumpy. However, the property is a great one and I would recommend staying if you don't mind being further away from downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear irieisle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the gibson hotel with us. I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your constructive feedback which I have taken on-board

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Gibson for an event we had in Dublin. Everything about this hotel was top notch! The reception staff were friendly and helpful with maps and directions. The rooms are spacious, with a nice bathroom and shower. The bed was comfortable and quiet. The room has a great iron, which may seem like a small thing unless you have OCD with ironing, then it's great! The breakfast offered full Irish breakfast choices, cereals, fruit, pastries (the choc. muffin was great!) along with juice, coffee or tea. The hotel is also the last stop on the tram (sits just out the front door of the hotel) so extremely handy for getting around Dublin plus avoids the "noise" of late-night/early morning partiers. My only complaint, and I almost hate to mention it, is that they have signs to leave your towels to be replaced on the floor and the maid replaced all of our towels daily, even the ones we had hanging so defeats the purpose of trying to conserve water, but knowing people, they probably complain to the hotel if their towels are not replaced daily so who knows? Definitely recommend and would stay here again in a heartbeat - you won't be disappointed. Probably one of the best we've ever stayed at. We did receive a special rate for the event so value was excellent, but normally the rate would be much higher

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear eatsleeptour,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide this fantastic feedback of your stay at The gibson Hotel.

I am delighted to know that you were impressed with the hotel from the moment you arrived and found it to be comfortable and charming. We take great pride in our service here at The gibson Hotel and it gives me great pleasure to know that you experienced our excellent treatment. Thank you for choosing The gibson hotel as the only place to stay in Dublin.

I hope to welcome you again to The gibson Hotel.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the best places i've stayed. From the warm and friendly welcome on arrival to check out i really could not fault this hotel. the rooms were large and very comfortable - I had a balcony, not the best view (derlict buildings and train yard) but at least I could have the door open for some fresh air - room was very warm, but cosy.
The LUAS was right outside the hotel and it was a great way to get into the city.
Although i didn't eat in the restaurant - I did have room service and the steak was one of the best i have had.
Would I recommned this hotel - most definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Christine F,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. We take great pride in our TripAdvisor status and are very thankful for anyone that takes the time to let us know what they loved and what we can do better. Your feedback is what makes us continue to grow and serve you better.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your kind words to the team. Please do come back and stay soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I just had the pleasure of spending a few nights at The Gibson Hotel. It was SO clean, spacious, and convenient for all of Dublin's sights. It is located on the Luas (train car) that takes you anywhere in town. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. I would absolutely stay at the Gibson again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear producerloren1,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we patiently await for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.