We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just back from a fantastic 3 night stay at The Gibson hotel. Seriously, if you are going to Dublin, stay here, it will be the best decision you'll ever make!

The Gibson Hotel is located in The Point Village which is a lovely quiet area beside the O2. The Luas tram stops right outside the doors of the hotel, jumping on this tram you are an 8-10min scenic tram ride in to the city centre (Jervis Street), walking that would probably be about a 20 min walk. It's in the financial district of Dublin and about two Luas stops up from the hotel is a nice area (Mayor Square) with lots of little cafes serving lovely fresh food and coffee, we took a nice stroll on the Sunday and had breakfast here. There is also a handy Marks and Spencers food shop here too. Breakfast in the hotel is 10 euro if you book the night before and includes a big fry up buffet, continental breakfast buffet, cereals, fresh fruits, fruits juices, unlimited tea, coffee and toast. Great value.

The hotel itself is a fantastic new modern building, very light and airy with a great terrace to sit out on and have a drink, we did this a few times during our stay! We also ate in the restaurant which serves a Thai menu, I got the Pad Thai and my friend got the Thai beef salad, both were delicious. Our hotel room was spotless, with all the amenities you'd expect from a great hotel, including, to my delight, a full size Tresemme hairdryer instead of your usual small useless hotel hairdryer, happy days!!! Brilliant print in the bathroom too which I wanted to take home with me. It was quite hot when we stayed and the AC in the room was a complete blessing :) Had 3 great nights sleep in this hotel, we stayed in a lovely quiet courtyard room.

We had our car with us, the hotel car park is underneath the hotel, you get a ticket as you go in, park, get the lift up to the hotel and inform them that you are parking there, overnight rate for hotel guests is 14 euro.

The service was amazing, staff all very friendly, happy to see you, polite and going out of their way to help you. As we were checking out I was helping myself to a sweet from their sweetie jars at the counter and the girl behind the desk gave me a paper bag and told me to take a few sweets with me for my journey home. it's the little things that count! Room service was prompt, quickly bringing us ice when we called for it.

We paid 240 euro for our 3 night stay in the height of Summer on a busy weekend in Dublin, to me this is outstanding value. I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family and anyone else who will listen to me!

We are already planning our return to stay here in November :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 526 which was a courtyard room, very peaceful and quiet, slept like a log!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear MissyMurphy,

Many thanks for the fantastic review following your recent stay and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    675
    130
    36
    21
See reviews for
274
1,077
82
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Offaly
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here on a Monday night in June, first time ever. Was met with a really courteous manager who directed me to the check in area, and the really friendly lady at check in upgraded me free of charge - what a treat.

The room on the 6th floor overlooked port and the O2 and was fantastic. Bar area was superbly run by staff who were very attentive and friendly - also really nice touch of bowl of popcorn while you had your drinks. Next morning, breakfast was seriously busy but staff were again well organised and got on with keeping everyone happy. Food was great and set us up for the day.

Sometimes you just need to tell people when they do something well - so well done to all from check in to check out was a real treat !

Room Tip: sixth floor view of O2 and port - very spacious with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear OffalyPk1973,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip advisor, following your recent stay at the hotel.

I have shared your comments with the entire team here at The gibson Hotel and they are extremely proud to have made your stay such a memorable one.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Gibson for two nights shortly after we got married (october 2011). i had contacted the hotel in advance to let them know we were getting married and asked them if there was anything they could do to make our stay that bit more special. shortly after we booked in to our room we received a knock at the door and were presented with a beautiful dessert congratulating us on our recent marriage. the hotel itself is stunning, service is great and the food is beautiful. the luas tram stops just outside the hotel so getting to it is cheap and easy. i could not recommend the Gibson highly enough. we had hoped to go back to the Gibson to celebrate our first anniversary but we were expecting the our first baby at the time! we hope to spend our second anniversary in the Gibson though so we'll be booking soon!

Room Tip: buy a multi trip ticket for the luas tram as it's much cheaper and easier to travel in and out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear darren c,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review.

Congratulations from all the team here on the new arrival. Hopefully we will get to meet you all on your second anniversary.

Kind Regards
Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was unusually hot in Dublin while we were visiting and the AC at the hotel wasn't prepared for such. However... They were extremely accommodating, moved our group to different rooms, showed us options before we were moved and were extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable, I would stay here again and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear nanatana4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly, happy that the air-condition issue was resolved during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent, stylish Dublin hotel. Located a pleasant 20 minute walk from the City centre, with the Luas stop right outside. Large modern rooms, very pleasant staff. The surrounding area was virtually deserted when the O2 arena was closed but this was not of concern to us. Our only complaint was that the price was rather high for a room only stay; had breakfast been included the price would have felt more acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear PWDW106,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your constructive feedback which I have taken on-board fully.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was a little concerned when I booked the Gibson as its a little out of Dublin, but hadn't realised that the Luas Line (tram) terminates outside the front door of the hotel, so for 3 euro you can get right into O'Connell St in 10 mins - brilliant.
The hotel is beautifully designed and the staff were helpful and friendly, so will definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mark K,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you most recent stay at the gibson hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next concert or leisure stay.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Got to the hotel and was checked in by Brid, on reception. fabulous greeting and top class service, even after checked in, made sure everything was ok and even passed on details on places to visit etc, and a map with bits on.
Nothing too much trouble for the staff whether its the bar/restaurant staff or housekeeping staff.

Room - well if you can afford to upgrade to one of the suite, DO IT, large rooms, clean, bright, and comfortable. and a treat... The balcony, well, large area to sit out and watch the evening sun with that bottle of wine....
BOOK this hotel is you can...... its great !!!

Room Tip: Try and book a top floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Ian R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a trip advisor review, reviews such as yours are important to our continuous development as they highlight areas where we are performing well, and more importantly, areas which may require some improvement.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.