We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a quick break and to see a different side of Dublin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for a quick break and to see a different side of Dublin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at The Gibson with our two young children and it was the first time we hadn't stayed in the city centre, and I must say we will definitely be returning (in fact my husband and I have already been with a crowd of friends). It is a great location whether driving down or getting the train the Luas drops you at the door. We ate in the restaurant with the kids for which they had a seperate menu and I'm always instantly more relaxed when the waitress brings colouring in paraphernalia. We went to a show in Bord Gas and walked from there to grafton street (with a 7and 4year old)-granted it was a lovely day! Although they don't have a pool we managed to keep the kids entertained and the advice of the staff was spot on. jumping on the Luas literally outside the door was novelty enough but we disembarked in town and went to the Leprauchan museum rounded off a perfect trip. Food staff and service were all 10/10.

Room Tip: Family rooms for four were perfect size,overlooking the roof garden is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Catherine M,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,324
    588
    108
    28
    15
See reviews for
221
927
61
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Friendly welcome at reception and staff efficient and answered queries with no problem. Room clean, bright and I agree with Cherryville - one of the best ever showers. Beds were comfortable. Restaurant opened at 6pm which is late for those on a theatre break and with only eight people in it the service was abysmally slow. We had not time to complete the meal. Food when it arrived was good. The staff displayed no urgency. Breakfast was quite good but food coolish. Situation ideal for TheO2 and is on a Luas stop. Will use again and hope the restaurant staff have ironed out their inefficiency..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Glenn2512,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your constructive feedback which I have taken onboard fully.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be a truly memorable one

Kinds Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Gibson is new and freshly designed. The rooms are large and comfortable. We slept well every night and we stayed here for six nights. The service was excellent, especially at the front desk (Lenka at reception was very personable and welcoming). Parking is secure but it is an extra expense. The Luas (tram) is right outside the door and will take you quickly to central Dublin. The hotel has a few different amenities, including a "relaxation room" and gym. It was outside of the bustle of Temple Bar and very easy access for a car from outside Dublin, from the airport and to some of the places around Dublin (Howth and New Grange).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear CalgaryBuffalo,

It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I loved the welcome at reception and the rooms were just great. Great big airy rooms withs lots of natural light, best shower in hotel ever.
Only negative was bar and restaurant service. Bar very slow (quiet night) and breakfast quality not good. Eggs hard as rocks, temperature problems.
I hope the next time I return it will be better. Such a pity.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome on arrival & very efficient check in. The receptionist (Shalane i think) was able to inform me on everything i would need for my stay and the hotel facilities. Stayed here in June and upgraded to an Executive Suite, Great desicion. Large room with seated area and balcony overlooking The O2, Dublin city, the river Liffey & Dublin port. Luas tram line is situated on the doorstep of the hotel which will bring you directly into the centre of Dublin city or a taxi will cost approx €8. Hotel is also located beide the Dublin Port Tunnel which means Dublin Airport is only 13 mins away, so it is also ideal for Guests travelling. Looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear RegularTraveller88 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the spacious room with balcony overlooking the 02 arena as well as the welcome you received from the reception team.

We can not wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the very start,booking over the phone, the staff could not have being more helpful,our stay was amazing,the room with its balcony was fantastic! It got the sun nearly all day and even when it rained at night ,it was lovely to sit out as you were still covered.We had dinner out on the balcony in the evening and breakfast in the morning and the food was some of the best I have ever had ,it was worth the money for the suite (room no.581) for all of these reasons I really felt we got the most out of our stay and our room.Highly recommend this hotel for a business trip or a romantic getaway .
P.S the views are amazing also .
I can't rate the swimming pool and spa as I didn't get to use them , but I'm sure they are fab !

Well done to all the team at the Gibson ,thanks for a great 3 days

Room Tip: Suites are AMAZING , try to get a corner suite with a balcony sooooo worth it ( room 581 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear corkfox

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we patiently await for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a night and it was great. From the warmth of the staff at reception to the staff in the bar and lounge. The rooms were great and well appointed and very clean. Easy access into Dublin for shopping and I will certainly visit again. Only one minor moan and that was breakfast. The maitre d didn't explain the format and while she sat us down we had to ask one of the waiters what to do. The continental breakfast was fab with a great selection. The hot or I might say luke warm buffet breakfast was just ok. Sean in the bar is an asset to the hotel

Room Tip: 6th floor is fab and views great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Derds22,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.