We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked -alot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Liked -alot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in Gibson for three nights just after Christmas. Located just behind 'The Point' A little bit hard to find if arriving by car but not a major issue. Hotel has very modern feel with the feeling of loads of space. We had good views of city from room which was well equipped. Located last stop on Luas (light rail system) which brings you into city centre in a few minutes. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment but had bar food one night which was lovely. At time of stay there was nothing going on in Point or National Conference Centre (also nearby) and maube the area might have a different less relaxed feel if over busy. Would recommend hotel for short city break

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    673
    128
    36
    21
See reviews for
272
1,075
82
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you're heading to Dublin for a concert at the o2 this is the ultimate place to stay! It's as close as you can get to the venue, it has the tram and taxis right outside and is ultra modern and quite impressive looking really. I have stayed many times now and I'm always impressed with the service. The rooms are very spacious and there is usually plenty of space to work if you're over on business. The rooms have quirky features such as under-bed lighting and in the morning you can switch the TV on and listen to the news while you're having a shower because the TV has speakers in the bathroom.

One downside that I have found when staying there is that if the weather is bad it easy gets quite noisy, and because an entire wall is glass from floor to ceiling (which looks great...) I always experience the rooms to be freezing! The aircon doesn't make things better. Even when you switch it off completely I'm cold in their rooms so always pack extra socks and sweaters when I know I'm staying there.

The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are nice and clean. The restaurant though is only open on weekends during the quieter months which can be annoying because the bar food is not very exciting despite the thai theme. Room service is quite expensive and the menu isn't very varied which is another downside.

I would not recommend this hotel if you're in Dublin for a city centre break. The location isn't exactly ideal for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Gibson is a bit like an office block which was made into a hotel..... However..... The rooms are really modern, fresh and very comfortable.. Incredibly clean and I think that's really important to me.
I have been in hotels.... Namely cassidys in the centre of Dublin.... Which were filthy... Deep down dirty!!!! This was a breath of fresh air.
As I went in January it was overcast but I can imagine that the outdoor areas would be absolutely wonderful in the summer.... If we ever get one again!.
Reception staff could smile a bit more but on the whole the staff were helpful and happy.

I will definitely now use this as my base in Dublin when I return.

One other thing. This is amazingly convenient for the docks. Off a ship ... Straight to the Gibson..
It's right at the end of the Luas line. Couldn't be easier from Dublin and conveniently situated for arriving by boat from Hollyhead.

Cant wait to go back ... Just trying to think of an excuse to get back!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautifully modern. Love it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night break here recently. We found the hotel clean, comfortable and warm with a friendly helpful staff. Rooms are well equipped with a lovely bathroom having a luxurious shower cubicle. Food was tasty and the service was good and the dining area was attractively decorated. The Luas travel system in Dublin has a terminal just a 1 minute walk from the door of the hotel which makes travel in and out of the city centre very easy. The hotel is also right beside a cinema ( 1 minute walk!) and is just opposite the O2 theatre ( used to be the Point theatre. All very convenient for a city break. Some good deals to be had at off peak times. Area around hotel not terribly attractive scenic wise but very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Fine hotel and well located for the city centre and for major events taking place in the city.
Very stylish rooms, clean and comfortable, but just a little cold.
Overall satisfactory, but food is a limited to bar food in the evening, and only an oriental type menu - not really what we expected
Glass small of wine at €7.50 was staggering !
Generally had some difficulty communicating with service staff.
Have used the hotel before, felt in the overall that the service and standards had slipped a bit, and lacked the presence of a manager on duty.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We only had one night at the Gibson as we had to catch an early ferry to Wales but it was very convenient, being only minutes from the ferry terminal (which was good as on departure we had a flat tyre!)
The hotel is based on a Gibson guitar theme with frequent but unobtrusive use of modern musical decorations. The train stops right outside and it's only a short distance to the centre of Dublin. Accommodation was very good and the breakfast was excellent..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at the Gibson Hotel early in January, and we booked this hotel as it is directly accross from the O2 and we were going to see Ed Sheeran. We parked under the hotel for €14 for our stay which was reasonable considering the price of parking for a concert is €10 for a few hours. A lift provided took us up to the vast reception area with very modern design and check in was swift and efficient. Our room was very spacious and clean, no complaints there.
We had a meal in the open plan dining and Bar area. The food and service were very good and prices a little high.
We headed over to the O2 to the concert and then back to the bar afterwords. The bar was full but for a friday night had no entertainment. Drink prices were high and a small basked of fries cost €4. We had a good night sleep with no disturbances. Breakfast was substantial and we had a huge variety to choose from.
We overall had a very positive experience and would definately stay at the Gibson Hotel again, as it was very reasonably priced for B & B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.